Need Advice / Help......WTK about Chevrlote Cruze.....THANKS

terry101

Need Advice / Help......WTK about Chevrlote Cruze.....THANKS

Postby terry101 » March 26th, 2012, 7:17 pm

Hey Tuners,

My sister-in-law wants to buy a Chevrolet Cruze.........I'm kinda advising her against it (not that I have anything against the car.......it looks good)...I told her that there isn't a proper track record or history to learn or research on in Trinidad......(of course there's the internet) parts only comes from the firm and its expensive.........what about performance.......durability and handling........and it dosent have much of a resale value.

At the end of the day its her money and decision but I told her I will seek the advice of professionals on the forum, guys......and girls who've been around vehicle and knows a lot more.

Thanks a lot people for the advice, correction and comments............much love and appreciation.

terry101

Re: Need Advice / Help......WTK about Chevrlote Cruze.....TH

Postby terry101 » March 26th, 2012, 8:19 pm

Bump!

lyndondz

Postby lyndondz » March 27th, 2012, 12:05 am

terry101 wrote:Hey Tuners,

My sister-in-law wants to buy a Chevrolet Cruze.........I'm kinda advising her against it (not that I have anything against the car.......it looks good)...I told her that there isn't a proper track record or history to learn or research on in Trinidad......(of course there's the internet) parts only comes from the firm and its expensive.........what about performance.......durability and handling........and it dosent have much of a resale value.

At the end of the day its her money and decision but I told her I will seek the advice of professionals on the forum, guys......and girls who've been around vehicle and knows a lot more.

Thanks a lot people for the advice, correction and comments............much love and appreciation.

You hit the nail on the head Bro..... the firm will promise you the world in terms of after sales support... and 5 years down the road you can't get parts for it...... BUY JAPANESE. Thats my humble opinion.

Postby sliderz1 » March 27th, 2012, 3:26 am

5 years or 100k kms warranty
what's the cost OP?

tsr2223

Postby tsr2223 » March 27th, 2012, 8:07 am

I wouldn't advise anyone to buy this car..My company has 1 and its pretty much the worse thing I have ever driven.As I speak it down in lifestyle service fixing something.It uncomfortable,still can't find a button to open the truck except the one on the remote (I mean if the car running you have to turn it off pull the key out of the ignition and press that button to open the trunk then start back)..When the radio loose reception the lights on the instrument panel and thing does cut off too..It just doesn't drive like its a 1.8 and heard there are a lot of complaints about this vehicle.People who car is like 1 week old shutting down just so..even heard a man have one and the sun roof does open and close for itself.The car full of glitches its better she go by Massy and buy a Bluebird Sylphy or buy a Corolla for around the same price.Huge waste of money.

Postby Team Loco » March 27th, 2012, 8:11 am

sounds like an uncomfortable experience. on the flipside, i know someone who upgraded from a mazda 3 to this cruze, and they love it. its definitely not as peppy as the japanese rival, the take off is like a typical euro big car, kinda slow. it definitley looks good. i guess if you are not sure op, better your sis-in-law buy a corolla

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » March 27th, 2012, 8:27 am

owned a captiva for a while and no problems really. replacement parts from the firm wasnt that expensive when compared, however the price of the service/labor was really high imho. only downside i had with that vehicle was the gas consumption as i did alot of driving, it was not very efficient.

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 8:46 am

tsr2223 the button to open the trunk is on the driver side door if I remember correctly :lol:
Wow I was actually considering getting one of these, eek!

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 8:50 am

ruff neck chicken wrote:owned a captiva for a while and no problems really. replacement parts from the firm wasnt that expensive when compared, however the price of the service/labor was really high imho. only downside i had with that vehicle was the gas consumption as i did alot of driving, it was not very efficient.

Well the thing with the cruze now is that you get free service for the next 2 years, which I guess would be worth it in the end if they actually do what they say they do.

I dunno how a week old car could be shutting down, and if the sunroof opens and closes for itself then the company should fix it for free. I'd rather not go through that though.

OP what car are you recommending her to get?

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 8:55 am

sliderz1 wrote:5 years or 100k kms warranty
what's the cost OP?

1.8 LS fabric - 189750
1.8 LT leather - 219750

Only difference apart from the material of the interior is the leather comes with auto headlights and a sunroof.

tsr2223

Postby tsr2223 » March 27th, 2012, 10:14 am

Stephon. wrote:tsr2223 the button to open the trunk is on the driver side door if I remember correctly :lol:
Wow I was actually considering getting one of these, eek!

Lol yea that was the 1st place I checked because I used to drive an optra for a few months and that button is on the door also..but ours doesn't have one... :shock:

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2012, 10:56 am

tsr2223 wrote:I wouldn't advise anyone to buy this car..My company has 1 and its pretty much the worse thing I have ever driven.As I speak it down in lifestyle service fixing something.It uncomfortable,still can't find a button to open the truck except the one on the remote (I mean if the car running you have to turn it off pull the key out of the ignition and press that button to open the trunk then start back)..When the radio loose reception the lights on the instrument panel and thing does cut off too..It just doesn't drive like its a 1.8 and heard there are a lot of complaints about this vehicle.People who car is like 1 week old shutting down just so..even heard a man have one and the sun roof does open and close for itself.The car full of glitches its better she go by Massy and buy a Bluebird Sylphy or buy a Corolla for around the same price.Huge waste of money.

did u read the owners manual?

Postby wagon r » March 27th, 2012, 11:02 am

^ cars is come with one of those....?????

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 27th, 2012, 11:03 am

tsr2223 wrote:I wouldn't advise anyone to buy this car..My company has 1 and its pretty much the worse thing I have ever driven.As I speak it down in lifestyle service fixing something.It uncomfortable,still can't find a button to open the truck except the one on the remote (I mean if the car running you have to turn it off pull the key out of the ignition and press that button to open the trunk then start back)..When the radio loose reception the lights on the instrument panel and thing does cut off too..It just doesn't drive like its a 1.8 and heard there are a lot of complaints about this vehicle.People who car is like 1 week old shutting down just so..even heard a man have one and the sun roof does open and close for itself.The car full of glitches its better she go by Massy and buy a Bluebird Sylphy or buy a Corolla for around the same price.Huge waste of money.

he bought a car and trying to open a truck :lol:

Postby Team Loco » March 27th, 2012, 11:34 am

i feel thats his problem. he feel its one of those chevy that transforms into a truck. he just cant find the damn button to activate it

tsr2223

Postby tsr2223 » March 27th, 2012, 11:52 am

Haha..oh shucks..I ent know what happen there nah.

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2012, 12:04 pm

wagon r wrote:^ cars is come with one of those....?????

sigh
after yuh spend ah half hour answerin questions re airbag safety, seat belts, pretensioners, etc, yuh does wonder if it make sense tellin them the first 40 pages of the owners manual covers all you just said........

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2012, 8:08 pm

If you gonna spend that kinda money on a vehicle like that, you might aswell put a lil extra and buy a German Made one. Or even a Japanese.

You can get excellent foreign used German vehicles for less or same price than what you will pay for a brand new chevy. If money is an issue for parts in the long run then buy Japanese. Either way you will come out better.

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 8:13 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:If you gonna spend that kinda money on a vehicle like that, you might aswell put a lil extra and buy a German Made one. Or even a Japanese.

You can get excellent foreign used German vehicles for less or same price than what you will pay for a brand new chevy. If money is an issue for parts in the long run then buy Japanese. Either way you will come out better.

What? A German vehicle cheaper than 190 grand? :?

Postby K74T » March 27th, 2012, 8:17 pm

Stephon. wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:If you gonna spend that kinda money on a vehicle like that, you might aswell put a lil extra and buy a German Made one. Or even a Japanese.

VW Polo :|

Postby Stephon. » March 27th, 2012, 8:25 pm

K74T wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Apples VS Grapes?

You can't compare a 1.4 small car to a 1.8 compact, unless there's another polo being sold in Trinidad that I don't know about with a bigger engine. If everyone compared cars like this then everyone would be driving a Kia Rio.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » March 27th, 2012, 9:07 pm

Skoda Octavia
talk done.
New-Octavia1.jpg
New-Octavia1.jpg (22.8 KiB) Viewed 4305 times

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 27th, 2012, 9:39 pm

Stephon. wrote:

Yes Absolutely!!!!

YOu getting good foreign used Mercedes Benz and VW for less than $190k even RORO BMW for about that same price.

They will outlast that new chevy.

Price for the parts on them things on the other hand is a totally different issue.

terry101

Postby terry101 » March 27th, 2012, 9:49 pm

People..............Thanks a million......you'll are the best........EVEN THE PERSON WHO COULDNT OPEN THE TRUNK.............LOL!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Dizzy28 » March 28th, 2012, 8:44 am

Stephon. wrote:
K74T wrote:
Stephon. wrote:

Apples VS Grapes?

You can't compare a 1.4 small car to a 1.8 compact, unless there's another polo being sold in Trinidad that I don't know about with a bigger engine. If everyone compared cars like this then everyone would be driving a Kia Rio.

ROFL!!!

Postby Dave » March 28th, 2012, 9:32 am

don't knock that new rio, very attractive looking car and the gas is excellent

Postby Stephon. » March 28th, 2012, 9:48 am

Dave wrote:don't knock that new rio, very attractive looking car and the gas is excellent

Lol nah I don't think anything is wrong with it, I was just using it as an example ;)

Postby Dave » March 28th, 2012, 10:03 am

oh ho, lol

I am really impressed with the korean line up

it begs the question, if space is not an issue, how many ppl actually use all the features in a car

why not a rio for everyones commute?

Postby Habit7 » March 28th, 2012, 10:10 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Skoda Octavia
talk done.

One the most reliable euros you can get at that price

Postby Stephon. » March 28th, 2012, 10:45 am

Dave wrote:oh ho, lol

I am really impressed with the korean line up

it begs the question, if space is not an issue, how many ppl actually use all the features in a car

why not a rio for everyones commute?

I dunno, I personally won't get one but I have to admit even my jaw dropped when I saw the new design/features.