Seafoam Injector/Carb Cleaner

ru$$ell

Seafoam Injector/Carb Cleaner

Postby ru$$ell » March 21st, 2012, 9:22 am

anyone ever came across this locally and could point me in the right direction as to where i could get a bottle?

Re: Seafoam Injector/Carb Cleaner

Postby Dave » March 21st, 2012, 9:31 am

russie, ppl always looking but no one has ever come across it locally

there are many good intake cleaners and gas additives available so don't hurt yourself looking for sea foam

Postby equipped2ripp » March 21st, 2012, 12:29 pm

check Budget Marine... this product is overrated IMO.

Postby AllTrac » March 21st, 2012, 12:39 pm

made a thread on this years ago, couldnt find it locally and I was making a trip around that time so i returned with a couple cans. U really had to of neglected your engine over a long period of time (oil changes, leaking gaskets, over fueling etc) to really feel a difference. I poured one in my mr2, half in the gas tank, other half via a vac port on the intake mani. revved it out, drove it around a couple times for a day, then changed oil, no difference felt, bearing in mind I changed oil on my mr2 every 3-4 months and it was not my daily driver. I gave a can to my cousin who used it on his work horse l200, he said it felt like a brand new van after, he uses the van to go on job sites, he is a contractor, that van took a beating for years, changed oil every 8 months, that is if he remembers. The moral of this cool as fcuk story is, dont go out of of your way to get it, its not the holy grail of engine cleaners, there are alot of stuff locally that can do the same job.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 21st, 2012, 12:59 pm

put up some name of the other good cleaners...

Postby Dave » March 21st, 2012, 1:00 pm

for intakes i like wynn's and amsoil and even bars

the foamy ones for fuel injected systems works good

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 21st, 2012, 1:01 pm

peaks might have it?...call them

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » March 21st, 2012, 1:30 pm

roopnarine hardware in chaguanas has a whole case on their shelves.went last week and bought one.

Postby dougla_boy » March 21st, 2012, 1:36 pm

what about for carb engines? i put some gumsol in my carb and i didnt feel any difference......

Upcfordcruiser

Postby Upcfordcruiser » March 21st, 2012, 1:38 pm

Used it on a few used vehicles I've bought that had issues, stuff does work wonders in cleaning ports and injectors. A very similar product is Berryman's B12 if it's available.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » March 21st, 2012, 1:44 pm

dougla_boy wrote:what about for carb engines? i put some gumsol in my carb and i didnt feel any difference......

this works on carbs as well,thanks for all the info guys.

shady23

Postby shady23 » March 21st, 2012, 1:54 pm

Mexican, if you get any let me know where :x

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » March 21st, 2012, 3:48 pm

dok_tec wrote:roopnarine hardware in chaguanas has a whole case on their shelves.went last week and bought one.

thanks for the info,picked up 2 bottles,1 for my xr650L supermoto and R6,the other for car.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » March 21st, 2012, 4:00 pm

Chase Village Auto has this for carbs.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 21st, 2012, 10:04 pm

what price you got the SeaFoam for?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » March 22nd, 2012, 5:50 am

$85.35

Postby Hook » March 22nd, 2012, 8:35 am

didn't get Seafoam, but I see Amsoil Powerfoam at assorted parts places up east

Postby Dave » March 22nd, 2012, 8:50 am

^^ and works very good bro

when using these things, make sure and do an oil change a few km's after

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » March 22nd, 2012, 9:15 am

Hook wrote:didn't get Seafoam, but I see Amsoil Powerfoam at assorted parts places up east

is that a spray like bars or a liquid treatment?

Postby Hook » March 22nd, 2012, 9:28 am

a spray...I prefer it, just like the Bars, for carburetors and ITB's simply because of the greasy residue that helps lubricate the butterfly shaft...a dry shaft isn't always a good thing ;)

Postby 3stagevtec » March 22nd, 2012, 10:07 am

The Liqui Moly cleaners work really great also, my engine has 286,000kms on it and I almost always feel a difference when I add the liqui moly injector / valve cleaner..

For comparison, I don't feel any difference when I use Prestone products in my vehicle..

reni27

Postby reni27 » March 22nd, 2012, 3:07 pm

good choice buddy, liqui moly is called the medicine by some technicians

Postby cinco » September 10th, 2012, 1:06 pm

bump lookin fer a can of this anyone?

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » September 10th, 2012, 5:33 pm

yea me too

Postby AllTrac » September 11th, 2012, 10:09 am

cinco wrote:bump lookin fer a can of this anyone?

aye check Roopnarines on CSR, someone told me they stock it.

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2012, 10:10 am

thanks baita!
bring a can fuh meh when yuh comin sweat nah :lol:

Postby AllTrac » September 11th, 2012, 10:30 am

you can count on it!

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2012, 10:40 am

AllTrac wrote:you can count on it!

ah mighta hadda drink it if u ever show up to sweat :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby DVSTT » September 11th, 2012, 7:30 pm

Usually use Amsoil Diesel additive when filling up. Works great on an L200, helps it run smooth and helps with the smog that normally spews out the exhaust when you floor it in normal diesel vehicles. Doesn't smoke at all now. Maybe you could give it a try and see if you like it, usually get it at Unipet on Union Rd Marabella, not sure about price though

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 11th, 2012, 8:32 pm

DVSTT wrote:Usually use Amsoil Diesel additive when filling up. Works great on an L200, helps it run smooth and helps with the smog that normally spews out the exhaust when you floor it in normal diesel vehicles. Doesn't smoke at all now. Maybe you could give it a try and see if you like it, usually get it at Unipet on Union Rd Marabella, not sure about price though

:| You are recommending a diesel fuel additive when he would need something for a gasoline engine?

Amsoil P.I. is for gasoline engines. It costs around $90 in the Unipet Service Stations, but you get at least two uses out of the bottle. Redline fuel system cleaner is also available in the Unipet Service Stations for around $57, but that is a one time use.