TCL Strike - justified or not justified

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 13th, 2012, 7:03 pm

A labourer in TCL getting 13,000.00 per month, what de hell them striking for ?

The public has to suffer because of their greed.

Xplode

Re: TCL Strike - justified or not justified

Postby Xplode » March 13th, 2012, 7:11 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 13th, 2012, 7:12 pm

I'm not in their shoes so I won't judge

Postby bushwakka » March 13th, 2012, 7:14 pm

13,000? hmmm....dat seems like a bit....wa quals u need to work there? common entrance pass? cxc?

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » March 13th, 2012, 7:48 pm

ent it have a strike ched already?

Postby Team Loco » March 13th, 2012, 8:12 pm

I say unjustified. It goes along with the poor attitude of our society. Also, monkey see monkey do. Everybody want a piece of the pie now since petrotrin. Trust me, the set of hard headed managers in tcl will not back down. The company has the upper hand. If strikers use to do their job properly in the first place, well maybe they could ask for an increase. Roget just aspiring to be a prime minister

Postby brams112 » March 13th, 2012, 8:56 pm

tcl workers dont work for the money they are paid,,most of these men does hide from their duties,and this is not what i hear is what i see everytime i do a site visit,,,go figure,,,,ever hear about men in toilet for hours?ur can't find them,,,men posing on forklift for an hour while the casual do all the work,or men don't know the propane tanks empty,,,all of them at once,,,,,,,,,,

Postby sliderz1 » March 13th, 2012, 9:12 pm

Roget refused 7%......wth he want then?

Postby Team Loco » March 13th, 2012, 9:22 pm

brams112 wrote:tcl workers dont work for the money they are paid,,most of these men does hide from their duties,and this is not what i hear is what i see everytime i do a site visit,,,go figure,,,,ever hear about men in toilet for hours?ur can't find them,,,men posing on forklift for an hour while the casual do all the work,or men don't know the propane tanks empty,,,all of them at once,,,,,,,,,,

last mth, one of our workers (on contract) lost a finger due to the negligence of TCL workers.

Postby Rooki3 » March 13th, 2012, 9:38 pm

brams112 wrote:tcl workers dont work for the money they are paid,,most of these men does hide from their duties,and this is not what i hear is what i see everytime i do a site visit,,,go figure,,,,ever hear about men in toilet for hours?ur can't find them,,,men posing on forklift for an hour while the casual do all the work,or men don't know the propane tanks empty,,,all of them at once,,,,,,,,,,

lolz

Postby Greypatch » March 14th, 2012, 8:42 am

NOT JUSTIFIED...BUT alluh strike fellas..

run TCL into the ground T&T needs a new entity and an open market for cement..

those managers CANNOT run ah parlour.

Postby Damien » March 14th, 2012, 10:32 am

Team loco your welding machine did not have a jack down/up mechanism to properly connect it to a van or forklift for towing, your workers had to lift the front of the machine to hook it up when it slip so dont blame tcl for your sheit

Postby Damien » March 14th, 2012, 10:38 am

And for clarification a laborer not getting $13000/mth a laborer getting $10600 per mth before tax that figure is when they add in gain sharing and projected profit sharing to your salary

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 14th, 2012, 11:10 am

Hmmm files bussin in here.

Anyways I suspected TCL management would do the same as Petrotrin's and supply false info to the press pertaining to salaries.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 14th, 2012, 11:40 am

Damien wrote:And for clarification a laborer not getting $13000/mth a laborer getting $10600 per mth before tax that figure is when they add in gain sharing and projected profit sharing to your salary

We can clearly see that it's justified now.

And adding profit sharing to your salary figure..whats up with that?

Postby Damien » March 14th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Well you tell how much should a labourer get, someone who works in cement dust everyday, I've been to a lot of different companies in trinidad and tcl has the most hazardous environment If you see what the people have to do for that money then you might change your outlook on things

Postby Rooki3 » March 14th, 2012, 2:08 pm

Damien wrote:Team loco your welding machine did not have a jack down/up mechanism to properly connect it to a van or forklift for towing, your workers had to lift the front of the machine to hook it up when it slip so dont blame tcl for your sheit

Postby SR » March 14th, 2012, 5:06 pm

Damien wrote:And for clarification a laborer not getting $13000/mth a laborer getting $10600 per mth before tax that figure is when they add in gain sharing and projected profit sharing to your salary

whats the actual job description for this position

can you make a list of the daily duties to justify the present salary

what are the qualifications required for this job?

Postby Greypatch » March 14th, 2012, 5:51 pm

time to close down TCL...

they do NOT have the interest of the public at heart.

they serve NO purpose to the public..

we are better off with an OPEN market for the product.

Postby toyolink » March 14th, 2012, 7:19 pm

The last occasion when TCL was involved in very protracted industrial dispute the gov't issued licenses to private dealers to import resulting eventually in a lot of supplies in the market and a fall off in price.
The preferred position TCL enjoys today is extremely brittle and gov't over the decades has reduced it's financial involvement bit by bit everytime the company shows itself to be a place to stay far from.
What defies logic is shareholders are in possesion of shares worth today less than $2.00 per unit whilst the information coming out is that personnel employed by the company can conservatively be said to be earning quite handsome pay packets and are leveraging for increases which far out strip the returns enjoyed by investors.
Clearly,TCL continues to represent a protracted case study in how to exist as a going concern whilst avoiding the need to adhere to sound business principles.

Postby pete » March 14th, 2012, 7:21 pm

I kinda see where the workers are coming from. If the company can afford to give managers hundreds of thousands in bonuses, getting to fly for free on CA and you suckin dust all the time and being represented by a union, why not strike?

What they have to realise is how fragile the situation is and they have to hope that the company doesn't shut down cuz then they'll be out of job where the salary cannot be matched ANYWHERE else with the limited qualifications they have.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 14th, 2012, 8:02 pm

then they'll be out of job where the salary cannot be matched ANYWHERE else with the limited qualifications they have.

...and that's the bottom line.

YEah, they can strike, but if they lose their job.....besides...Petrotrin....which other company gonna pay that kinda money for a labourer?

Postby toyolink » March 14th, 2012, 8:08 pm

History seems to be repeating itself in this land and the last time things lined up the same way there was real sadness,a downward adjustment in expectations and then a truly remarkable recovery.
Many may not remember this but we saw ourselves as a caribbean KUWAIT our roads were loaded with luxury cars and people only drank scotch and other more expensive stuff.Then came the mayhem-WINSURE ,WORKERS BANK,ITL, etc,etc, all bust..
Hmmmmm.......

heads

Postby heads » March 14th, 2012, 8:16 pm

Not justified d union never comment on d salary printed on d news papers wednesday after d strike started workers need to understand labourer salary and managers salary cannot be compared with one or d other my personal view they should sell TCL and let us see waht d union will do then

Postby Rooki3 » March 14th, 2012, 8:32 pm

SR wrote:

whats the actual job description for this position

can you make a list of the daily duties to justify the present salary

what are the qualifications required for this job?

ahmm dude, you see the conditions these guys have to work under? the amount of dust? i find that isnt enough, these guys probably would have huge medical bills late down in life

Postby Damien » March 14th, 2012, 8:43 pm

I cannot justify what a laborer is getting nor do i know exactly what there job specs are, however i dont think we have any permanent laborers at tcl most of that type of work contractors are used, their is also a difference of about $5 per hr between a electrician/mech tech and a laborer, they workers are paid a little more because of the conditions of employment breathing in cement day in day out is not a nice thing first thing i do in the morning is spit out a junk of cold laced with cement,according to some of your views its okay to pay a manager $35k a mth for doing nothing than to pay a laborer 10k a mth to do something??? why do we pay deep sea divers all that money and what about people who work on riggs are there salary justified?

Postby SR » March 14th, 2012, 8:53 pm

are you a labourer?

are you willing to disclose your present job at tcl and its jd,salary and what you actualy do each day?

agreed the work conditions are different with the dust but do you presently wear protective gear while working around the plant?? if not why not and why isnt that in your workers agreement for the company to provide proper saftey equipment for the work conditions

heads

Postby heads » March 14th, 2012, 8:58 pm

What it is work conditions or diffrence in salary dey strike 4 ?? and if most of d work is done by contractors what dey protesting about

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 14th, 2012, 9:02 pm

^^ as simple as that...all they see is $$ boy SR..

and with respect to the salary of labourers vs managers...if a manager only getting 3 times as much as a labourer then TCL managers getting too little yes..

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 14th, 2012, 9:16 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:^^ as simple as that...all they see is $$ boy SR..

and with respect to the salary of labourers vs managers...if a manager only getting 3 times as much as a labourer then TCL managers getting too little yes..

LOL...I waste my time studying in school yes...