WTK: wifi directional antennas POS

powered by ?

Postby powered by ? » March 8th, 2012, 6:57 pm

Presently looking at this solution for our WAN in POS and environs but was wondering if we need to acquire a special license to use this frequency (5Ghz) on the spectrum, contacted TATT and waiting on a feedback . Any info would be appreciated.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 8th, 2012, 7:06 pm

If you going to transmitting long range using high power levels over a watt plus in a urban area then yeah.... you got to pay.

I used to transmit for miles down chaguramas using 2.4ghz and 5ghz amplified over 2 watts but i never informed the authorities an they never bothered me.
Last edited by xtech on March 9th, 2012, 7:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

deens-von

Re: WTK: wifi directional antennas POS

Postby deens-von » March 8th, 2012, 11:32 pm

yups..u got to pay.. its a yearly fee but im not sure of the cost..

second option would be to go through flow's fibre network. they have tons of redundancy but they would of course require some space in your server room..

or contact digicel business and ask about their ICT services..

hope this helps

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 9th, 2012, 9:43 am

xtech wrote:If you going to transmitting long range using high power levels over a watt plus in a urban area then yeah.... you got to pay.

I used to transmit for miles down chaguramas using 2.4ghz and 5ghz amplified over 2 watts but i never informed the authorities an they never bothered me.
it's not illegal if you can get away with it right? :|

Postby crazybalhead » March 9th, 2012, 9:46 am

I once pointed out a spelling error on XTECH's web page, his response, "Once dey could find de place den is ok ent??"

Normelll business procedures meng.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 9th, 2012, 10:25 am

crazybalhead wrote:I once pointed out a spelling error on XTECH's web page, his response, "Once dey could find de place den is ok ent??"

Normelll business procedures meng.

true true......lol

Postby crazybalhead » March 9th, 2012, 10:28 am

HAHAHAHAHAA!!

xtech

Postby xtech » March 9th, 2012, 10:29 am

xtech wrote:If you going to transmitting long range using high power levels over a watt plus in a urban area then yeah.... you got to pay.

CG an Army right there an all eh......

plus does TATT actually get out of the office an scan the frequencies "to enforce the law"

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 9th, 2012, 11:08 am

2.4 & 5.8 GHz are on the ISM band and are for public use. However, there is a power limit (EIRP max) you can output. Otherwise, you can bring down everyone else by your selfish desires.

Anyway, I believe 5.0GHz is licensed spectrum 5.725 GHz to 5.875 GHz is free to use (within the power restrictions).

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 9th, 2012, 11:17 am

xtech wrote:

CG an Army right there an all eh......

plus does TATT actually get out of the office an scan the frequencies "to enforce the law"
so your thinking is that the police more wrong for not enforcing the law than the criminal is for breaking it? :lol:

xtech

Postby xtech » March 9th, 2012, 12:12 pm

Yeah

Something like the "bounce meh nah attitude" an why people now taking dem car to inspect.

who really wrong?

An lets try to remember i never said he should cancel his request for license but merely stated my experience before an after the law was made "since I built my network before the law came to be".

Besides down there is plenty bush covered mountains an open water so nobody to bothered, but don't try what I did in a major city.