I need some advice here fellas

Paullct

I need some advice here fellas

Postby Paullct » January 23rd, 2012, 11:33 am

I'm very much interested in pursuing an engineering degree. Now I have studied business since high school and have all my O Level passes etc but no Science subjects, and no A Levels. What can i do from here?

What is the best way for me to turn this around? Where should i start? I'm willing to start from scratch and work my way up. Do universities offer pre-courses for these things? I don't mind doing a full 3-year pre-course or what have you just to get into the degree course.

Any help or relevant information will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again guys.

Re: I need some advice here fellas

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2012, 11:36 am

guess u could start wid O-level maths / phys and work up form there

Postby Habit7 » January 23rd, 2012, 11:52 am

It depends on what engineering you want to do. If I was you I would seek to do SAT (probably more than once) get a good score, get a partial scholarship and try your luck in the States.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » January 23rd, 2012, 11:59 am

^^lol anyways u cud write cxc phys maths chem and wen u pass (it easy doh wry) u cud do N1 or pre eng programme in uwi....oh an do add maths....

Paullct

Postby Paullct » January 23rd, 2012, 12:13 pm

thanks for the feedback guys...sounds good so far. i'm actually going abroad soon to work so i was wondering what would be my options there. guess i would have to find out from that side

Postby RBphoto » January 23rd, 2012, 12:29 pm

Engineering is overrated. So do you want to do it locally or abroad? Locally, if you don't want to do A levels... do MEET or equivalent. Then apply to UWI and make sure you get your course exemptions. Typically, those with work experience as techs ace UWI and get first class honors, while the A'level crowd are usually disenchanted after the second semester.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 23rd, 2012, 12:30 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:^^lol anyways u cud write cxc phys maths chem and wen u pass (it easy doh wry) u cud do N1 or pre eng programme in uwi....oh an do add maths....

N1 is irrelevant to doing Eng in the long run, it does not prepare you at all.

Acquire passes in Physics & Chemistry at O'Levels, and proceed to do CAPE privately (Math, Physics and either Applied Math/Chemistry depending on which Engineering major. If unsuccessful after application, don't fear, try you luck at Pre-Engineering offered by UWI: Open Campus (http://www.open.uwi.edu/trinidad_tobago/pre-engineering) upon completion once you make the grades and get into the Faculty, you'll already have done a majority of Year 1 courses (gained from exemptions) and have a good foundation.

Hope it helps, and goodluck!

Postby RBphoto » January 23rd, 2012, 12:31 pm

vrampersad14, yuh is ah Engineer oar?

Postby Trini Hookah » January 23rd, 2012, 12:40 pm

"Trying" to be.

Gimme a few years to get de title.

Postby RBphoto » January 23rd, 2012, 12:42 pm

Sell doubbles... you will make more money... :|

Paullct

Postby Paullct » January 23rd, 2012, 12:48 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
jeevdude199 wrote:^^lol anyways u cud write cxc phys maths chem and wen u pass (it easy doh wry) u cud do N1 or pre eng programme in uwi....oh an do add maths....

Acquire passes in Physics & Chemistry at O'Levels, and proceed to do CAPE privately (Math, Physics and either Applied Math/Chemistry depending on which Engineering major. If unsuccessful after application, don't fear, try you luck at Pre-Engineering offered by UWI: Open Campus (http://www.open.uwi.edu/trinidad_tobago/pre-engineering) upon completion once you make the grades and get into the Faculty, you'll already have done a majority of Year 1 courses (gained from exemptions) and have a good foundation.

Thanks bro. This helps a lot.

crossdrilled wrote:Sell doubbles... you will make more money... :|

it's actually not about the money for me, i do well already IMO. it's more about personal achievement and wanting to do it for myself

Postby nervewrecker » January 23rd, 2012, 12:54 pm

I am sure it have a few chimps that could write o-level physics and pass, anybody who fail that should be shot.

Postby foss » January 23rd, 2012, 12:59 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:"Trying" to be.

Gimme a few years to get de title.

should we expect your own engineering marvels on ---- Trust Me I'm An "Engineer" ? :|

Postby RBphoto » January 23rd, 2012, 2:11 pm

Paullct wrote:it's actually not about the money for me, i do well already IMO. it's more about personal achievement and wanting to do it for myself

Newsflash, it is a big commitment (as any profession), and if it not making you more money... don't do it. Also, if you enjoy working with your hands, be aware that Engineering is a conduit to management. I currently won't get any subtantial increase in pay unless I make the jump to management, which I hate. Engineering is not a status symbol.. do law, accounting, or medicine for instant respect (fack, primary school teachers are more respected than Engineers)

Hoping one day to do my photography businesss full time, open a fast food place and plant a few acres and get back to the land. Not trying to discourage you... just think through what you will use an Eng degree for before you waste time doing it.

Postby sliderz1 » January 23rd, 2012, 2:17 pm

Postby Bizzare » January 23rd, 2012, 2:19 pm

crossdrilled, I use to say the same, but money isn't always all nor is status. I do what I'm doing in school for the achievement although it is not necessary in my life ahead or at least that's what I think.

I feel deep down you wanted to do engineering and couldn't get around to doing it so you speak that way, lol :lol :lol:
If he is already financially stable and wants to do that for PERSONAL achievement, then I think he'd be miserable in any other field.

Oh and nervewrecker, we know you did physics :roll:

Postby Bizzare » January 23rd, 2012, 2:22 pm

Oh yea OP, meh padnas them get in UWI without A-levels. I eh know how but some over 21 and working for more than 3 years so maybe that's how. As we on the topic, can I do a 3 year bachelors programme in UWI within 3 semesters if I choose too. I know some institutions allow this even if some courses require prerequisite course.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » January 23rd, 2012, 2:24 pm

crossdrilled wrote:(fack, primary school teachers are more respected than Engineers)

This is because engineers are a dime a dozen in this country, UWI spitting them out like nothing. Now when it comes to GOOD engineers.....they are hard to find.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 23rd, 2012, 2:35 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Sell doubbles... you will make more money... :|

Not in it for money or status, I know what I want to achieve and it means more to me that monetary value.

And as you mentioned that part about Management, it is Management I hope to get into in the long run.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » January 23rd, 2012, 2:43 pm

good stuff guys. and yeah honestly, i really don;t HAVE to do it. its more a matter of wanting to do it. i guess its just a personal thing. like a challenge.

Postby 1UZFE » January 23rd, 2012, 3:18 pm

What kinda engineering u wanna do???

Postby SMc » January 23rd, 2012, 3:57 pm

Paullct wrote:thanks for the feedback guys...sounds good so far. i'm actually going abroad soon to work so i was wondering what would be my options there. guess i would have to find out from that side

Where you moving to? (not trying to mako just get an idea)

Reason is my girlfriend had a moment not unsimilar to yours about 2 years ago. She is currently a senior CAD technician but thought if she would be happy doing this until her retirement..another 30+ years away.

She started an OU degree in the UK to get a degree in natural sciences..and to be honest I wish I could do the same. 2 hours a night extra work ( I pick up the slack on cooking etc). She was and still is sheet at maths, but has managed to come out with really good grades all the time due to just doing until she is dead.

Anyway, may as well do eet.

Postby RBphoto » January 23rd, 2012, 4:13 pm

Well I honestly thought I would be physically working on complex systems, doing inovatve McGyver shite, and working with my hands. I am more of an information worker who can source technology solutions, evaluate the best economic and technical solutions to engineering design problems, and build stuff to international/ national codes. Innovation is usually quickly quashed by a client who likes to do something one way only just because stupid operators would not want to learn something new. It ain't a glamourous lifestyle. Many Engineers I know are a-holes, who use their narrow experience to create a design than research something new, then get on like idiots to defend their technically unsound position.

Fix your mix brother... but just have an idea of what it is like.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » January 23rd, 2012, 5:57 pm

u cud do gce a levels

Postby bushwakka » January 23rd, 2012, 6:09 pm

stick wit de biz.....engring sux

Postby brams112 » January 23rd, 2012, 7:49 pm

lots of people have degree's in engineering and they are teaching or doing other things that they either don't like or did not think they wouldhave ended up doing,,stick to one field or employers will think you are not sure what you would like to be

Postby rfari » January 23rd, 2012, 8:27 pm

OP, why engineering dan?

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » January 23rd, 2012, 8:49 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:

Yup, this is a good approach!

Postby S_2NR » January 23rd, 2012, 10:20 pm

rfari wrote:OP, why engineering dan?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » January 24th, 2012, 12:11 am

SMc wrote:
Paullct wrote:thanks for the feedback guys...sounds good so far. i'm actually going abroad soon to work so i was wondering what would be my options there. guess i would have to find out from that side

Where you moving to? (not trying to mako just get an idea)

Reason is my girlfriend had a moment not unsimilar to yours about 2 years ago. She is currently a senior CAD technician but thought if she would be happy doing this until her retirement..another 30+ years away.

She started an OU degree in the UK to get a degree in natural sciences..and to be honest I wish I could do the same. 2 hours a night extra work ( I pick up the slack on cooking etc). She was and still is sheet at maths, but has managed to come out with really good grades all the time due to just doing until she is dead.

Anyway, may as well do eet.

Thanks a lot bro. It just happens to be the UK I'm moving to as well. Spoke to some people today at the company and they said they will actually guide me and put me through it as an employee development scheme. I really appreciate the feedback guys.