Re: Sharp Aquos TV problems

Postby cinco » August 12th, 2014, 12:59 pm

ctc still in operation?

fouljuice

Re: Sharp Aquos TV problems

Postby fouljuice » August 12th, 2014, 7:21 pm

meem kno, but I see the website still up and advertising 80" Sharp TV.

http://www.ctcelectronics.com/index.html

Re: Sharp Aquos LCD TV

Postby The_Honourable » August 5th, 2022, 6:16 pm

Aquos going 12 years but the screen is peeling and getting worse. New tv it is but just asking, anybody have a 40 inch screen for these models that still working?

Postby Dave » August 5th, 2022, 6:37 pm

Good service.
Have a 32" absolutely perfect. The original stand broke and bought a universal table stand for it.

Postby maj. tom » August 5th, 2022, 7:14 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Aquos going 12 years but the screen is peeling and getting worse. New tv it is but just asking, anybody have a 40 inch screen for these models that still working?

You don't need an entire screen. Which is where 90% of the tv's value is. Just replace the peeling polarizing film. Hair dryer on slow heat to lift the peeling layer from the glue. Lots of patience. Clean with IPA. Very clean. Stick the new one with no bubbles, like one would with a phone screen protector.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/224182536806

I don't know if these kind of repairs are worth it for most people, but just showing that most electronics actually can be fixed simply, but not necessarily easily.

Postby The_Honourable » August 5th, 2022, 9:16 pm

maj. tom wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Aquos going 12 years but the screen is peeling and getting worse. New tv it is but just asking, anybody have a 40 inch screen for these models that still working?

You don't need an entire screen. Which is where 90% of the tv's value is. Just replace the peeling polarizing film. Hair dryer on slow heat to lift the peeling layer from the glue. Lots of patience. Clean with IPA. Very clean. Stick the new one with no bubbles, like one would with a phone screen protector.

I don't know if these kind of repairs are worth it for most people, but just showing that most electronics actually can be fixed simply, but not necessarily easily.

And you know what? I'm going to buy it. You are the real MVP on tuner.

I'll post before and after pics.

Postby aaron17 » August 6th, 2022, 8:54 am

Bought a sharp aquos 42 inch 1080p for my ps3 fat model and general tv for family around 2006...tv lasted 20 years.It died during covid pademic. I guess i was lucky.
I bought it off the showroom too.

Postby The_Honourable » October 12th, 2022, 11:53 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

And you know what? I'm going to buy it. You are the real MVP on tuner.

I'll post before and after pics.

A new polarizing film is all I needed. Cost was about $300TTD total to buy online and import.

Longest part was to take off the old film and removing the old glue, patience for real.

maj.tom... thank you very much. Should get a few more years from this tv.

A good example of the process: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTxPgaL3Z4s

How my tv looks now with new film.
Sharp.jpg

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2022, 6:36 am

yuh owe tom a caseof beers