W.T.K.Vehicular Accident *ADVICE*

mrcannabis

W.T.K.Vehicular Accident *ADVICE*

Postby mrcannabis » January 17th, 2012, 10:11 am

so a padna of mine got into a accident, both airbags deployed, and windscreen cracked (Front Collision). I want to know if the insurance chooses to write off the vehicle, what really happens???

(1) Do they give u a sum on money and the vehicle where u have the option to fix it yourself???
(2) What is the average cost to get both airbags replaced?? and does only the firm can do this??
(3) Vehicle is a Ranger and Fully comprehensive
(4) Not sure how much vehicle is/was evaluated for. insured TATIL.

Thanks alot for your information...... 8-) 8-)

Re: W.T.K.Vehicular Accident *ADVICE*

Postby r3iXmann » January 17th, 2012, 10:27 am

Head Office,
11a Maraval Road
Port of Spain

TEL.: (868) 62-TATIL. 628-2845 / 628-1200/ 622-5351-8
FAX: (868) 628-0035 / 6545

:?

Postby crazybalhead » January 17th, 2012, 10:36 am

That is all. Just call the people nah.

Postby RBphoto » January 17th, 2012, 10:40 am

Whatever the police or insurance investigator ask him...

ShaggyFeatRikRokItWasntMe.mp3

Nasrallah

Postby Nasrallah » January 17th, 2012, 10:59 am

Would the OP be able to ask the insurance company for details on the OP's "padna of mine" dealings with said company? :lol:

mrcannabis

Postby mrcannabis » January 17th, 2012, 11:07 am

ah jus trying to help out the man, he injured, so just need info like past experiences or sumtin so ppl must prolly had, jus so he can have an idea. thanks

DTAC

Postby DTAC » January 17th, 2012, 12:26 pm

mrcannabis wrote:ah jus trying to help out the man, he injured....

Head hit the windscreen?

[shouldbe]Wasn't wearing a seatbelt? No payout for you!! Come back one year.[/shouldbe]

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2012, 12:40 pm

crazybalhead wrote:That is all. Just call the people nah.

and run the risk of runaround, BS, etc?
I can understand the OP's request....not everyone has the same experience in similar situations, and not everyone knows all their rights and options.....
I was told the MINI would be written off, I was told no insurance would cover parts for a vehicle like that, I was told by the other guy's insurance that I choose to drive an 'expensive' car so don't expect much
In the end what I got was enough money to buy ALL the replacement brand new, and cover shipping and tax to bring everything from Miami
Sometimes advice is more useful than calling the insurance company
I'm jus sayin'

Postby cinco » January 17th, 2012, 12:48 pm

most important is the age of the vehicle and the sum insured and if he owes the bank
both airbags almost always = write off

Postby RBphoto » January 17th, 2012, 1:09 pm

I was told that my Tiida would be written off, but because I had other anciliary waivers on my insurance, they had no choice but to fix, at 75% of the car's cost. One word of advice. The dealer is not always the best place to send your car to bring it back, but makes dealing with your insurance less painful.

Postby brams112 » January 17th, 2012, 7:03 pm

man say full comprehensive,,,,,suppose to be a snap,,,,,if ur padnah right eh,,,what he crash into,ur did not say if he was right or wrong,,,details boi details of said incident,,,,

Postby bushwakka » January 17th, 2012, 11:57 pm

brams112 wrote:man say full comprehensive,,,,,suppose to be a snap,,,,,if ur padnah right eh,,,what he crash into,ur did not say if he was right or wrong,,,details boi details of said incident,,,,

wrong wrong wrong.....dem ting far from straightfwd......accident an insurance claims...major headache

Postby Team Loco » January 18th, 2012, 7:13 am

Once the airbags are out, they will write it off. I checked a pcu corolla for sale from the insurance. Written off because the owner hit the cradle and both airbags deployed.
He better off getting the vehicle written off, collect his settlement, keep the wreck and fix, import airbags from south africa and reinstall (airbag ecu can be reprogrammed), get the tensioners in the seatbelt locally repaired (check the express classifieds- guy repairs them) and then sell the van or keep

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » January 18th, 2012, 7:37 am

Insurance is the worlds oldest Form of FRAUD, how many other countries in the world base What typeof Car they wish to insure based upon what vehicle in question and not the age and driving experience of the indivudual in question?

Hope its not

EVO (any of the models)
SUBARU (sti or wrx)
Celica
Porsche
GTR

insurance companies in trinidad are full of sh1t and should NOT be allowed to continue operating in such a disgusting and obviously Biased manner

Postby cinco » January 18th, 2012, 7:44 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Insurance is the worlds oldest Form of FRAUD, how many other countries in the world base What typeof Car they wish to insure based upon what vehicle in question and not the age and driving experience of the indivudual in question?

Hope its not

EVO (any of the models)
SUBARU (sti or wrx)
Celica
Porsche
GTR

insurance companies in trinidad are full of sh1t and should NOT be allowed to continue operating in such a disgusting and obviously Biased manner

every single company u eediat
the wrx/evo is one of the most expensive vehicles to insure in the US with a perfect record it is still very hard to get reasonably priced insurance

mrcannabis

Postby mrcannabis » January 18th, 2012, 8:17 am

Felllas thanks a mill, MG Man Team Loco your advice will be heeded BTW Team Loco u know the guy he used to work at ur co. sum years ago, and we recently did an inspection by u....LOL small world eh. Info appreciated much......

Postby Hook » January 18th, 2012, 2:57 pm

MG Man wrote:...I was told the MINI would be written off, I was told no insurance would cover parts for a vehicle like that, I was told by the other guy's insurance that I choose to drive an 'expensive' car so don't expect much

So TWO insurance companies, including your own, basically told you "betta yuh did buy ah lil' ol' cheap car dat easy to fix so we eh guh gee yuh no horrors fuh mornee", right?

WhaleOilBeefHooked! :|

Postby equipped2ripp » January 18th, 2012, 4:26 pm

mrcannabis wrote:so a padna of mine got into a accident, both airbags deployed, and windscreen cracked (Front Collision). I want to know if the insurance chooses to write off the vehicle, what really happens???

(1) Do they give u a sum on money and the vehicle where u have the option to fix it yourself???
(2) What is the average cost to get both airbags replaced?? and does only the firm can do this??
(3) Vehicle is a Ranger and Fully comprehensive
(4) Not sure how much vehicle is/was evaluated for. insured TATIL.

Thanks alot for your information...... 8-) 8-)

They offer you 2 options - they keep the wreck and pay you off the difference minus excess and VAT, or they give you the wreck and pay you the difference minus excess and VAT.
Keep the vehicle and get the airbags replaced and reprogrammed, as TL said. Do it outside of the firm if you can, only go to them as a last resort.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » January 18th, 2012, 6:11 pm

as the guys said u can get the airbags to buy and parts as well...

quite a few who can reprogram the ecu ...