Internet Black out 18th Jan

wana-B-racer

Internet Black out 18th Jan

Postby wana-B-racer » January 17th, 2012, 9:33 am

Opponents of controversial federal anti-piracy legislation known as SOPA seem to be picking up steam. Supporters of the legislation in both houses of Congress appear have backed off, the Obama administration has expressed concerns with the legislation, and an Internet blackout slated for Wednesday is picking up supporters.

A House subcommittee was slated to prepare the Stop Online Piracy Act, or SOPA, for a vote later this month; the Senate had planned a vote on the companion bill, PIPA (The Protect IP Act,) even sooner. Now, it appears both votes will be delayed.

SOPA opponents are rallying around an effort to call attention to the legislation by convincing Web sites to "go dark" on Jan. 18, and display only a simple message of protest on a black background. On Monday, Wikipedia co-founder Jimmy Wales announced that his website will go dark for 24 hours starting at midnight ET Tuesday, following the lead of other high-profile promised blackouts. Reddit.com will go black from 8 a.m.- 8 p.m. on Wednesday. The hacker group Anonymous also encouraged others to join in the 12-hour blackout, and garnered a lot of attention with its Twitter post using the hashtag #BlackoutSOPA.

Re: Internet Black out 18th Jan

Postby Team Loco » January 17th, 2012, 9:38 am

should have done that on black friday

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2012, 9:41 am

that's racist

Postby AllTrac » January 17th, 2012, 9:43 am

if twitter and bbm take part, mass suicide to follow.

Postby K74T » January 17th, 2012, 9:45 am

AllTrac wrote:if twitter and bbm take part, mass suicide to follow.

R.I.P. Stephon. :(

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 17th, 2012, 9:46 am

source?

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2012, 9:50 am

Postby Habit7 » January 17th, 2012, 10:07 am

Who say Trinituner too !?!

Postby rfari » January 17th, 2012, 10:17 am

English Wikipedia anti-SOPA blackout
To: English Wikipedia Readers and Community
From: Sue Gardner, Wikimedia Foundation Executive Director
Date: January 16, 2012

Today, the Wikipedia community announced its decision to black out the English-language Wikipedia for 24 hours, worldwide, beginning at 05:00 UTC on Wednesday, January 18 (you can read the statement from the Wikimedia Foundation here). The blackout is a protest against proposed legislation in the United States—the Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA) in the U.S. House of Representatives, and the PROTECT IP Act (PIPA) in the U.S. Senate—that, if passed, would seriously damage the free and open Internet, including Wikipedia.
This will be the first time the English Wikipedia has ever staged a public protest of this nature, and it’s a decision that wasn’t lightly made. Here’s how it’s been described by the three Wikipedia administrators who formally facilitated the community’s discussion. From the public statement, signed by User:NuclearWarfare, User:Risker and User:Billinghurst:
It is the opinion of the English Wikipedia community that both of these bills, if passed, would be devastating to the free and open web.
Over the course of the past 72 hours, over 1800 Wikipedians have joined together to discuss proposed actions that the community might wish to take against SOPA and PIPA. This is by far the largest level of participation in a community discussion ever seen on Wikipedia, which illustrates the level of concern that Wikipedians feel about this proposed legislation. The overwhelming majority of participants support community action to encourage greater public action in response to these two bills. Of the proposals considered by Wikipedians, those that would result in a “blackout” of the English Wikipedia, in concert with similar blackouts on other websites opposed to SOPA and PIPA, received the strongest support.
On careful review of this discussion, the closing administrators note the broad-based support for action from Wikipedians around the world, not just from within the United States. The primary objection to a global blackout came from those who preferred that the blackout be limited to readers from the United States, with the rest of the world seeing a simple banner notice instead. We also noted that roughly 55% of those supporting a blackout preferred that it be a global one, with many pointing to concerns about similar legislation in other nations.
In making this decision, Wikipedians will be criticized for seeming to abandon neutrality to take a political position. That’s a real, legitimate issue. We want people to trust Wikipedia, not worry that it is trying to propagandize them.
But although Wikipedia’s articles are neutral, its existence is not. As Wikimedia Foundation board member Kat Walsh wrote on one of our mailing lists recently,
We depend on a legal infrastructure that makes it possible for us to operate. And we depend on a legal infrastructure that also allows other sites to host user-contributed material, both information and expression. For the most part, Wikimedia projects are organizing and summarizing and collecting the world’s knowledge. We’re putting it in context, and showing people how to make to sense of it.
But that knowledge has to be published somewhere for anyone to find and use it. Where it can be censored without due process, it hurts the speaker, the public, and Wikimedia. Where you can only speak if you have sufficient resources to fight legal challenges, or, if your views are pre-approved by someone who does, the same narrow set of ideas already popular will continue to be all anyone has meaningful access to.
The decision to shut down the English Wikipedia wasn’t made by me; it was made by editors, through a consensus decision-making process. But I support it.
Like Kat and the rest of the Wikimedia Foundation Board, I have increasingly begun to think of Wikipedia’s public voice, and the goodwill people have for Wikipedia, as a resource that wants to be used for the benefit of the public. Readers trust Wikipedia because they know that despite its faults, Wikipedia’s heart is in the right place. It’s not aiming to monetize their eyeballs or make them believe some particular thing, or sell them a product. Wikipedia has no hidden agenda: it just wants to be helpful.
That’s less true of other sites. Most are commercially motivated: their purpose is to make money. That doesn’t mean they don’t have a desire to make the world a better place—many do!—but it does mean that their positions and actions need to be understood in the context of conflicting interests.
My hope is that when Wikipedia shuts down on January 18, people will understand that we’re doing it for our readers. We support everyone’s right to freedom of thought and freedom of expression. We think everyone should have access to educational material on a wide range of subjects, even if they can’t pay for it. We believe in a free and open Internet where information can be shared without impediment. We believe that new proposed laws like SOPA—and PIPA, and other similar laws under discussion inside and outside the United States—don’t advance the interests of the general public. You can read a very good list of reasons to oppose SOPA and PIPA here, from the Electronic Frontier Foundation.
Why is this a global action, rather than US-only? And why now, if some American legislators appear to be in tactical retreat on SOPA?
The reality is that we don’t think SOPA is going away, and PIPA is still quite active. Moreover, SOPA and PIPA are just indicators of a much broader problem. All around the world, we're seeing the development of legislation intended to fight online piracy, and regulate the Internet in other ways, that hurt online freedoms. Our concern extends beyond SOPA and PIPA: they are just part of the problem. We want the Internet to remain free and open, everywhere, for everyone.
Make your voice heard!

On January 18, we hope you’ll agree with us, and will do what you can to make your own voice heard.
Sue Gardner,
Executive Director, Wikimedia Foundation

http://wikimediafoundation.org/wiki/Eng ... A_blackout

Postby Hook » January 17th, 2012, 10:21 am

if allyuh only know the long-term ramifications of this thing is a stand isn't made now eh...bye-bye to all your free music, videos, torrents, youtube, vimeo, car video background music...allyuh go ahead and laugh it up...laugh man, laugh

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » January 17th, 2012, 10:21 am

Habit7 wrote:Who say Trinituner too !?!

But where else would some of we Trinis get to talk about the blackout (during de blackout) and how we need to get serious like dem 1st world country people and put we foot down?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 17th, 2012, 10:37 am

Hook wrote:if allyuh only know the long-term ramifications of this thing is a stand isn't made now eh...bye-bye to all your free music, videos, torrents, youtube, vimeo, car video background music...allyuh go ahead and laugh it up...laugh man, laugh

Boy 2 things will happen:

-people will use the internet less and will cause it's own long term shutdown

-people will aready find loopholes and create software to deal with this...

(l)bass

Postby (l)bass » January 17th, 2012, 10:43 am

x2 lol

Postby RASC » January 17th, 2012, 10:47 am

What's amazing to me is the complete lack of coverage by the mass media on this. Hell don't even expect a local media house to carry this. Even tho most of their content is stolen...re: background music and clips for promotional purposes.

Let's see what becomes of this.

Postby stev » January 17th, 2012, 11:32 am

ent it have a SOPA thread? i remember posting some videos from "Anonymous". they wanted to fack up Sony again and ah set ah other people.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=413428

Postby TRAE » January 17th, 2012, 11:39 am

if trinituner do that--- mass hysteria

Postby tr1ad » January 17th, 2012, 11:41 am

careful what you wish for

Postby black start » January 17th, 2012, 11:46 am

i wonder if they will charge the group for involuntary manslaughter?

Postby wagonrunner » January 17th, 2012, 12:13 pm

Hook wrote:if allyuh only know the long-term ramifications of this thing is a stand isn't made now eh...bye-bye to all your free music, videos, torrents, youtube, vimeo, car video background music...allyuh go ahead and laugh it up...laugh man, laugh

Brayers gotta bray
MISHI wrote:Boy 2 things will happen:

What they propose to do is kill the DNS access to the sites, only software that can help their is your own dns cache or server.

And becuase they propose to do it anytime the line is potentially crossed, hope you have enough space to cache the world. Ideally google and OPen could play a big part in this, but not when they're pressured by law.

Postby bushwakka » January 17th, 2012, 1:10 pm

u mad brah?

Postby AllTrac » January 17th, 2012, 1:48 pm

MUHOHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :lol: :lol:

i can laugh because I know its impossible to stop, as long as there is a server out there, there are gonna be lots of seeds and its gonna happen. The internet cannot be owned.

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2012, 4:36 pm

wow. this is serious stuff.

K74T wrote:

R.I.P. Stephon. :(

^ that was uncalled for

Postby Sky » January 17th, 2012, 5:07 pm

MISHI wrote:

Boy 2 things will happen:

The point isn't using anything to stop it. The point is making it a crime. Every little clip of music or video. So anyone can use the pirate bay etc, big up. But watch yo back. I'm glad to see the SOPA supporters backing off though. Men fraid anonymous yes :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 17th, 2012, 6:47 pm

Brayers gotta bray
MISHI wrote:Boy 2 things will happen:

What they propose to do is kill the DNS access to the sites, only software that can help their is your own dns cache or server.

And becuase they propose to do it anytime the line is potentially crossed, hope you have enough space to cache the world. Ideally google and OPen could play a big part in this, but not when they're pressured by law.

I'd better save up on all the porn I can then...

Postby X_Factor » January 17th, 2012, 6:58 pm

this is some serious stuff and most ppl are clueless....
you could probably say bye bye to most of youtube, and porn streaming sites,
take a read
http://news.cnet.com/8301-31921_3-57329 ... t-you-faq/

Postby X2 » January 17th, 2012, 7:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:this is some serious stuff and most ppl are clueless....
you could probably say bye bye to most of youtube, and porn streaming sites,
take a read
http://news.cnet.com/8301-31921_3-57329 ... t-you-faq/

Something like that.

How come the re-post nancies aren't all over this ? This story has been big news for months :roll:

It goes well beyond you tube... it will affect many smaller websites and stunt growth of quite a few internet businesses. Good thing many of the big net players are against it. Cross ur fingers.

Postby Sky » January 17th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Hmm...
I wonder if there's any security available for proxy servers.
Like a user and pass to use it.
I should start a proxy server service. That'll make money.

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2012, 8:01 pm

a lot of websites are joining in the strike..

http://www.sopastrike.com

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 17th, 2012, 8:39 pm

If SOPA passes, bye bye trinituner

true story...

99% of the posts on this site have copyrighted photos, copy etc..
I just asked duane if he is taking part in the protest, he must be checking his bank account to make sure he have grocery money for the week before he decides..

Rx

Postby Rx » January 17th, 2012, 9:22 pm

hmmm.... madness...