Banned Films

Syberfraggle

Banned Films

Postby Syberfraggle » January 12th, 2012, 8:43 pm

These are/were movies banned in Trinidad & Tobago. Took this list from Wikipedia. Who decides what goes on the list and on what grounds?

Trinidad and Tobago
1956: The King & I
1980: The Gods Must Be Crazy[
1983: Scarface
1999: Anna and the King
2008: Zack & Miri Make a Porno
2009: Bruno
2009: Saw VI
Last edited by Syberfraggle on January 13th, 2012, 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

flower95

Re: Banned Flims

Postby flower95 » January 12th, 2012, 9:05 pm

cannibal holocaust ftw , the best banned movie ive ever seen.

Postby wagonrunner » January 12th, 2012, 9:14 pm

yuh sure?
banned from where

"1983: Scarface
1999: Anna and the King"
i watched those on TTT, and saw bruno in either MT or globe.

a link to the banned list might help. no i not doing your homework.

Postby eliteauto » January 12th, 2012, 9:14 pm

Syberfraggle wrote:These are/were movies banned in Trinidad & Tobago. Took this list from Wikipedia. Who decides what goes on the list and on what grounds?

Trinidad and Tobago
1956: The King & I
1980: The Gods Must Be Crazy[
1983: Scarface
1999: Anna and the King
2009: Bruno
2009: Saw VI

we have a Board of Censors

Postby Trini Hookah » January 12th, 2012, 9:19 pm

wagonrunner wrote:yuh sure?
banned from where

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ba ... and_Tobago

Postby Bizzare » January 12th, 2012, 9:22 pm

wagonrunner wrote:"1983: Scarface

Scarface could have never showed on TTT. I'ma tel you why, but I not doing your homework.

Postby wagonrunner » January 12th, 2012, 9:26 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
wagonrunner wrote:yuh sure?
banned from where

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ba ... and_Tobago

long MC sigh. allyuh understand what the part boxed in red means?

Bizzare,
your not witnessing it since you took your first breath of air, doesn't mean it didn't happen.
Last edited by wagonrunner on January 12th, 2012, 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby K74T » January 12th, 2012, 9:27 pm

iirc, Scarface was shown on tv6 a few years ago

Postby Trini Hookah » January 12th, 2012, 9:29 pm

long MC sigh. allyuh understand what the part boxed in red means?

I jes referencing bigman, I know I saw Scarface on cable already...well about half of it :|

Postby sliderz1 » January 12th, 2012, 9:31 pm

do not watch
Epic sheit alert!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2012, 9:42 pm

scarface....big big big movie

Postby eliteauto » January 12th, 2012, 10:00 pm

Scarface was shown on TV6 just last year

Postby Dizzy28 » January 12th, 2012, 10:03 pm

^ With heavy edit no doubt.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 12th, 2012, 10:11 pm

2010: Avatar? this list fail

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 12th, 2012, 10:23 pm

uncle sam wrote:2010: Avatar? this list fail

exactly, I lol at the idiots who quote wikipedia religiously for projects

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 12th, 2012, 10:48 pm

errmmmm as the official on everything SAW related.... i could safely say that SAW was not on the ban list. I saw every release of SAW on the release day worldwide right here in our Cinemas...and SAW6...twice in MTowne.

Postby black start » January 12th, 2012, 10:52 pm

i get ban from watching tv.....dat count?

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » January 12th, 2012, 11:03 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

You know, some people believe Wikipedia is the gospel truth because it says so. That list is quite inaccurate. The last film that was banned was 1994's (and Quentin Tarantino's) Pulp Fiction. I'll get more info on an accurate list of banned films prior to that last one.

Richard Gobin
Board of Film Censors
Office of the Prime Minister
13-15 St Clair Avenue, St Clair
Tel: 868-627-2664

Postby black start » January 12th, 2012, 11:14 pm

richardg1976 wrote:

You know, some people believe Wikipedia is the gospel truth because it says so. That list is quite inaccurate. The last film that was banned was 1994's (and Quentin Tarantino's) Pulp Fiction. I'll get more info on an accurate list of banned films prior to that last one.

Richard Gobin
Board of Film Censors

something fall in yuh yard bai :|

Postby sliderz1 » January 12th, 2012, 11:19 pm

richardg1976 wrote:

Richard Gobin
Board of Film Censors

allyuh need workers there awah?

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » January 12th, 2012, 11:21 pm

aye! bruno was besssss

Postby rfari » January 12th, 2012, 11:31 pm

Pulp fiction. A+++ never ketch so much jones in a badman film
Scarface A++
Two very bad movies

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 12th, 2012, 11:50 pm

I remembered seeing kama sutra in globe.. how that didn't get banned?

richardg1976 wrote:The last film that was banned was 1994's (and Quentin Tarantino's) Pulp Fiction. I'll get more info on an accurate list of banned films prior to that last one.

Richard Gobin
Board of Film Censors

so this man aint do no work since 1994??? I shoulda never leave government :x

richardg1976

Postby richardg1976 » January 13th, 2012, 12:01 am

sliderz1 wrote:
richardg1976 wrote:

Richard Gobin
Board of Film Censors

allyuh need workers there awah?

Actually, this is a state board and as such positions are not advertised to the public. Potential board members are screened and appointed by Cabinet every two years. After the Reshmi Ramnarine fiasco of last year, I'm sure they're taking their time to review resumes in detail. I was only appointed in July 2011 and so far, the job is really nice.

The only issue I personally have is the name of the board itself because we're not there to "censor" films. Censoring by definition is the suppression of speech or any communication which may be deemed objectionable to a group of people. Wikipedia puts it best: Censorship is the suppression of speech or other public communication which may be considered objectionable, harmful, sensitive, or inconvenient to the general body of people as determined by a government, media outlet, or other controlling body.

In the old days, censoring of local films meant that certain objectionable scenes were ordered to be cut out during the exhibition of the movies in the theatres. If the film was considered too extreme in nature, then it was banned. That is not done anymore. Instead, our job is to apply or classify movies into an age-range category so that parents can be informed of the content of the movies so they can decide if they want their children to see them.

We don't have our own local ratings system yet (a bill is being sent to Parliament shortly) so we borrow from the American MPAA and the British BBFC systems. With respect to the word "censor", it was only in 2006 that the British Board of Film Censors was changed to the British Board of Film Classification. It's just a matter of time for the local board's name to be amended to reflect its true mandate.

For anyone who's curious, this state board oversees the entire film industry in T&T which includes all movies that are released to the theatres as well as special exhibitions such as the T&T Film Festival and the European Film Festival which are held every year. Very soon, this year tentatively, this board will also review home DVDs and video games to apply the appropriate age ratings.

rfari wrote:Pulp fiction. A+++ never ketch so much jones in a badman film
Scarface A++
Two very bad movies

Yes, Pulp Fiction was excellent. I remember, as a kid in high school, seeing this film and being amazed at what the director was able to do. I was blown away. Great film!

bt50

Postby bt50 » January 13th, 2012, 7:23 am

The last temptation of Christ - I believe 1989 - Banned by Robinson

Postby bushwakka » January 13th, 2012, 7:52 am

zack and miri.....awesome!

Postby TRAE » January 13th, 2012, 9:33 am

OP what is a flim?

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » January 13th, 2012, 12:09 pm

The Gods Must be Crazy - i believe banned because they could not determine origin at the time, i.e., could have been from South Africa during apartheid days. Saw it on VHS of course.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 13th, 2012, 12:20 pm

with $5 burnt dvds including blues being sold side d road all about & nobody in authority doing anything about that makes u wonder if any movie is really banned .... :|

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 13th, 2012, 12:51 pm

they shoulda ban Sherlock Holmes 2 and save me a few (dozen) bux