Trinidad Blackout (16 Feb 2022)

Re: Anyone experiencing electricity issues/outages?

Postby Bizzare » December 30th, 2011, 1:35 pm

Lights were flickering for about 1 minute in Arima
Edit: aye the wind EXTREMELY strong for the past two days now huh

Postby Chimera » December 30th, 2011, 1:48 pm

no current from siparia to gulf city to mon repos about 2-3 hours ago...intersections a real mess with no working traffic lights

just reach back central tho, i have current :D

ivar

Postby ivar » December 30th, 2011, 1:51 pm

current now come back in palmyra junction abt 2 mins ago

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 30th, 2011, 1:54 pm

dip in Mausica south

Postby SR » December 30th, 2011, 2:01 pm

ismithx wrote:valsyn, yesterday afternoon... :|

hopefully it will go on palm rd for the rest of the year

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 30th, 2011, 2:02 pm

Trinidad Guardian: TTEC says they experienced a fault on a 132000V transmission system which interconnects Central & South to the power grid. This resulted in the widespread power outages

Postby tr1ad » December 30th, 2011, 2:12 pm

power restored to san fernando

Postby S_2NR » December 30th, 2011, 3:50 pm

got a 1sec dip by me.
caused my hdtv to restart, nearly give me a heart attack yes. thought my tv was giving trouble.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 30th, 2011, 4:09 pm

been dipping/ surging in Tobago since yesterday but this evening seems steady.

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » December 30th, 2011, 4:10 pm

went in St. James as well for a couple of hours...

Postby nervewrecker » December 30th, 2011, 4:11 pm

this must happen more often, I halfway through making a spoiler for my car cuz of sparetime.

TriP

Postby TriP » December 30th, 2011, 6:27 pm

that electricity outages today..cos the Play Whe players to grind up there teeth today,,talk cuss play out today.. :rofl:

Postby redmanjp » December 31st, 2011, 2:13 am

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/saturday-december-31-2011/massive-electrical-blackout-triggers-speculation

Massive electrical blackout triggers speculation
Published:
Saturday, December 31, 2011

Fears of industrial sabotage spread through the country yesterday after several parts of the island experienced a massive electrical blackout for several hours. A source at T&TEC said the outage was triggered when power generation failed at several power plants including those at Union Estate, La Brea, Powergen Point Lisas and Penal, as well as Trincity. In an immediate response, president general of the Oilfield Workers Trade Union, Ancel Roget, distanced himself and his union from any allegations of sabotage, saying the power outage had nothing to do with stumped wage negotiations.

Areas including Point Fortin, Guayaguayare, San Fernando, Claxton Bay, Erin, La Romaine, Pleasantville, Moruga, Princes Town, Tableland, Debe, Penal, Mayaro, Cedros and Icacos were affected. Several parts of central Trinidad and the entire east-west corridor were also plunged into darkness. Corporate Communications officer at T&TEC Lester Lal said the outage stemmed from a generation problem which originated from Powergen, Point Lisas.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 3rd, 2012, 7:50 am

redmanjp wrote:Our branches in Rio, PTown & Siparia all have no electricity

wah branch in rio you have dey?

Postby toyolink » March 29th, 2021, 3:52 pm

Bumped this old topic since we have experienced 2 odd outages on friday and today and upon checking was advise that there seems to be a problem with power generation which is triggering 'power shedding mode'.
I haven't been able to get much more infor. at this time but we may need to be as prepared as possible.
Our location is in the Couva area, but loss of power may be all over with no obvious reason.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 29th, 2021, 3:54 pm

toyolink wrote:Bumped this old topic since we have experienced 2 odd outages on friday and today and upon checking was advise that there seems to be a problem with power generation which is triggering 'power shedding mode'.
I haven't been able to get much more infor. at this time but we may need to be as prepared as possible.
Our location is in the Couva area, but loss of power may be all over with no obvious reason.

Power outage in San Juan / Barataria earlier today too.

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » March 29th, 2021, 4:19 pm

Penal had a power outage today too. Yesterday we got some flickering lights in the morning time

Postby redmanjp » March 29th, 2021, 7:18 pm

arima for a few minutes also, got an alert from my alarm system

Postby goalpost » March 29th, 2021, 10:25 pm

This is the power grid operating how it is supposed to. Loss of generation leads to an underfrequency situation, which can ultimately lead to significant damage to equipment on the grid. TTEC has devised a scheme to automatically shed load to match the remaining generation at each stage to ensure the 60 Hz frequency. The system automatically reconnects once the lost generation is regained and this usually does not take too long as there is always generation on the system as spinning reserve. If the loss is extremely significant, i.e. more than the spinning reserve, well that's a problem. Regardless, that kind of loss is rare

Postby redmanjp » July 26th, 2021, 11:10 pm

no current in arima (cleaver heights) , not seeing any light as far as my eyes can see to the east

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 27th, 2021, 10:26 am

Got a power cut saturday night at 920PM, very unusual lasted about 20 mins.
Got two wildly fluctuating brownouts in the space of 1 min at 608PM yesterday. Those had me concerned, I had to check the appliances. One fridge stopped running, but I unplugged it and plugged it back in and the compressor fired right back up.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2021, 1:23 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Got a power cut saturday night at 920PM, very unusual lasted about 20 mins.
Got two wildly fluctuating brownouts in the space of 1 min at 608PM yesterday. Those had me concerned, I had to check the appliances. One fridge stopped running, but I unplugged it and plugged it back in and the compressor fired right back up.

i wondered about that last night - i didn't see any dim lights but my blink vigilance alarm sent a AC RESTORE message before power came back even though everything was still dark.

Postby redmanjp » July 27th, 2021, 1:26 pm

on the positive side TTEC seemed to have upgraded its outage reporting system- i was able to call and report it via an automated system which told me what areas TTEC were already aware of, and also it told me my phone number and my address and asked if to accept a report for the area identified by pressing 1. no talking to any human involved.

Postby Gladiator » July 27th, 2021, 11:13 pm

had 4 power outages yesterday two of them was back to back, power restored for just about 30 seconds in between. Was a horrible day as far as electricity reliability goes... and T&TEC lives ~3km away.

Postby goalpost » July 28th, 2021, 2:12 pm

Gladiator wrote:had 4 power outages yesterday two of them was back to back, power restored for just about 30 seconds in between. Was a horrible day as far as electricity reliability goes... and T&TEC lives ~3km away.

Where was this?

Postby Gladiator » July 28th, 2021, 3:13 pm

goalpost wrote:
Gladiator wrote:had 4 power outages yesterday two of them was back to back, power restored for just about 30 seconds in between. Was a horrible day as far as electricity reliability goes... and T&TEC lives ~3km away.

Where was this?
Arima

Postby goalpost » July 28th, 2021, 3:24 pm

Yeah there are some issues in Arima area right now, system wise.

Postby Chimera » July 28th, 2021, 3:29 pm

i feel i need to get better surge protectors yes

lost another 32 inch tv to electricity cutting on and off

and a set of downlighters that i install less than 8 months ago, about 6 out of 24 conk out

i feel thats a low quality scene though

Postby toyolink » July 28th, 2021, 3:49 pm

Suffering some 'blips' in my area in Couva for a few hours now.
This apart from other issues with communication service providers and others suggest that we just holding on by a thread during this pandemic.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 28th, 2021, 5:01 pm

For the past few mornings at approximately 5:40 am only
lasts for about 4 mins.