16%
No, its about time we go cashless
7%

Total votes: 87

Devourment

Should we have a $500 TTD bill?

Postby Devourment » December 20th, 2011, 7:56 pm

It's probably been asked before, but it's only now I am realizing how devalued a $100 note really has become.

I personally think T&T is not fully ready to go cashless (hell nowhere in the world is ready yet). It is therefore absolutely necessary for us to have a $500 bill, i fed up counting damn blue notes.

The only major color left to use is for this note is yellow/orange (kamla take note).

Re: Should we have a $500 TTD bill?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 20th, 2011, 7:59 pm

if u trying to save on counting paper or walking with it fat in ur wallet or pocket : why not a $1,000 note too ... :|

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » December 20th, 2011, 8:16 pm

Devourment wrote:
The only major color left to use is for this note is yellow/orange (kamla take note).

like u hope kamla read uh post ah wa?

but yea 500 and 1000 notes

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » December 20th, 2011, 8:30 pm

$1000 note would be a better option imo

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 20th, 2011, 8:59 pm

nah cah have a blues and a $1000 note...have to have sum in-between so both that and $500 should work....but if yuh get hold up...losing rel money if you have that on you

Postby BrotherHood » December 21st, 2011, 12:04 am

Not a bad idea. I'm neither here or there on this.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » December 21st, 2011, 3:17 am

BrotherHood wrote:Not a bad idea. I'm neither here or there on this.

so where yuh dey?

Postby equipped2ripp » December 21st, 2011, 3:32 am

We should have a special $50 and $500 bill... why not? 50th anniversary of Independence coming up next year, so why not have a limited edition note and even a $5 coin or something? :idea:

Postby Bizzare » December 21st, 2011, 3:48 am

$50 dollar note pointless IMO. $500 and $1000 notes are something to consider. I wanna see the day when physical cash is no longer a method of payment though. Everything will be so much better to jus carry around a card, swipe it, punch in a pin and $$. Even the piper hustling on the streets would have a mobile POS system.

Postby equipped2ripp » December 21st, 2011, 4:05 am

$500 and $1000 notes? Allyuh feel this is Guyana or what? :|

IMO a $50 isn't pointless, as many items cost less than $50. It would make a good independence collectors item though...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 21st, 2011, 6:10 am

the $1k note not that bad of a thought.....

Postby Ted_v2 » December 21st, 2011, 6:22 am

50$ note and 5$ coin gonna make some sence

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » December 21st, 2011, 6:37 am

many purchases now is in excess of 1000....groceries, auto supplies, medication, hardware supplies.

$1000 now can't do much again ....so i say yeh a $1000 note would come in handy, we getting like guyana in true

Postby SR » December 21st, 2011, 6:39 am

why????

there is linx and credit card

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » December 21st, 2011, 6:54 am

SR wrote:why????

agreed

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » December 21st, 2011, 7:01 am

we hav to go cashless...many employers stop payin with cash an check long time is direct deposit to bank account now....even pension/nis is direct deposit. an u could pretty much use linx anywhere except at the doubles man and yuh grade man and doh feel dey eh thinkin bout using the wireless linx machines..in north america u'd be hardpressed to find somewhere that doesnt take card

Devourment

Postby Devourment » December 21st, 2011, 7:28 am

No $1000 note, at least note yet. That is two high a value and for cash exchanges in that sum you may well be using your $500 notes or your credit/linx.

My sister's landlord insist that rent be paid in cash and $3000 in hundreds so very unwieldy and can barely fit in most wallets. Hence the need for a $500 note.

It would also speed up cash transactions a lot.

Just realized if our $500 note is yellow or orange it would resemble Monopoly's $500, sick!

link

Postby link » December 21st, 2011, 7:35 am

Postby zoom rader » December 21st, 2011, 7:56 am

While on the matter, you must know your past for whats next.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=291348

Postby zoom rader » December 21st, 2011, 8:02 am

$1000 TT bill is nothing new it did exist at one time, Here have a look its worth about $15k - $20k US now, so if got one you rolling in money.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=72729&start=180

Postby SR » December 21st, 2011, 8:34 am

link wrote:

just to amuse myself this morning as it seems you still lost in the 70's with ttasa
while everyone else has moved on

"InfoLink Services Limited Introduces Its New Payments Gateway Solution.
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, June 20th, 2006. InfoLink Services Limited connects a Payments Gateway solution to the LINX® network. The LINX® network was originally created to enable debit cardholders of the four InfoLink Member Banks access to their funds by sharing these bank‘s ATMs and Merchants throughout Trinidad and Tobago. InfoLink has now introduced a Payments Gateway which will securely manage new sources of transactions through the network. The Payments Gateway will ensure that all transactions routed to the LINX® network meet the exacting safety and availability standards of the present network.

Mr. Robert Boopsingh, General Manager InfoLink Services Limited sees the commissioning of this gateway as a major event in the history of supporting EFT transactions in Trinidad & Tobago. The new Payments Gateway will provide the opportunity for a variety of other financial institutions to interact with the LINX® network to further enable electronic funds Payment opportunities.

The LINX® network launched in 1995 and presently celebrating its 10th anniversary recognizes the need to provide access to this stable payments platform to a wider public and in so doing encourage the growth of electronic payments throughout Trinidad and Tobago. This strategic plan is in keeping with that of Central Bank and the government‘s National Information, Communications and Telecommunications Strategy, fastforward.

Ever mindful of the critical service that the LINX® network provides to the public InfoLink will be applying its stringent policies and procedures to ensure that any institution who is eligible to join the LINX® network keeps to a standard of 99.5% availability at all times.

About InfoLink InfoLink Services Limited (‘ISL‘) was incorporated on the 13th of September, 1994. Owned by five equal Shareholders Bank of Commerce, Republic Bank Limited, RBTT Bank Limited, Scotiabank (Trinidad & Tobago) Limited and First Citizens Limited. Bank of Commerce merged with Republic Bank Limited within the first year to leave four full members.

The Company switched its first LINX® transaction on September 4th, 1995. This transaction was an ABM-Sharing transaction. By November 1996, ISL was switching Debit Point-of-Sale (‘POS‘) transactions also. Today the LINX® network switches over 1.5 million transactions monthly and maintains an average availability standard of 99.9%."

Skanky

Postby Skanky » December 21st, 2011, 8:37 am

Do they still mint coins because them things useless?Coins should be done away with.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » December 21st, 2011, 10:08 am

yup linx and cc ftw

Postby bushwakka » December 21st, 2011, 10:24 am

we'll reach like zimbabwe jus now wit dis inflation

Postby stev » December 21st, 2011, 10:32 am

$500 note sounds good. too bad i might hardly use it...forever poor :(

Paullct

Postby Paullct » December 21st, 2011, 10:51 am

stev wrote:$500 note sounds good. too bad i might hardly use it...forever poor :(

you don't have to use it for something that costs $500 :|

people use $100 bills to buy bread and ting

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » December 21st, 2011, 10:51 am

stev wrote:$500 note sounds good. too bad i might hardly use it...forever poor :(

Postby Habit7 » December 21st, 2011, 10:53 am

We don't need a $500 or $1000 bill, I don't know where some of you guys getting your facts from but inflation is down in T&T and our "floating" dollar is still pegged at almost stable US dollar.

Having a $500 or $1000 bill would encourage counterfeit bills as the effort to make those bills will be further cheaper compared to its value (e.g. it will cost $40 to make a counterfeit $100 while it will cost $60 to make a counterfeit $1000). Even in the US where there exists $1000 they are hardly in circulation.

I like the idea of $50 bills as it would allow me to lessen the 20's I tend to walk around with.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 21st, 2011, 11:16 am

We should have some of these too.

Postby BrotherHood » December 21st, 2011, 11:17 am

Paullct wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:Not a bad idea. I'm neither here or there on this.

so where yuh dey?

check my location brah!