Bis Ram at Sweet Lime

Postby sharkman121 » December 11th, 2011, 8:37 pm

Taken from facebook..

Sweet Lime is a Sour Lime

As some of you would realize by now – I was kidnapped by the management of Sweet Lime Restaurant on the Ariapita Avenue last night. Most of you all are wondering what I meant by my statement so the following is my account of the events leading up to my kidnapping and ordeal.
This year has been a challenging one for my co-workers and I, as such I thought it was best to have a Christmas Dinner to re-connect with them. As you all know, there are numerous restaurants offering a Christmas Menu this season. I made a seating RESERVATION for 12 persons, however, last night only 5 persons showed up for the Christmas Dinner at Sweet Lime. During our dinner, the manager asked to speak with me at the front. I obliged and proceeded to the front where I was told that I would have to pay for 12 meals as it was “specially” made for us and that I had made a “reservation for 12”.
I pointed out to the “manager” that a reservation is typically for seating and that the Christmas Dinner option was part of their A la carte menu that they have. FB – If I had known I was going to be billed for 12 christmas dinners @ $250 per plate then would I have still booked the reservation? At no point prior to the event did they make it clear that I would have to pay for 12. In no way was this event a booking either as no invoice was generated and sent to me. No legally binding document or agreement was signed by me to commit me to 12 plates.

I went back to our dinner table and my co-workers quizzed me about what had happened. I, hesitantly, told them about the claims Sweet Lime were making. Again, the manager requested that I meet her at the front. I have the best co-workers ever. We operated as a TEAM and went to the front. To our utmost surprise the Manager had called “Security” who flashed something resembling a badge/I.D. card. He told us that the meals were “specially” prepared and that we had to pay for all 12 plates. We told him that we are willing to pay for the meals we ate i.e. 5 plates and not the 12 they were forcing to pay for. He then proceeded to call the police…

Next in the scene, the cashier handed me a phone with “owner/manager” on the line. My co-worker took the phone and spoke to the manager trying to explain the situation and a lesson a CS relationships. He kept on insisting we had to pay and then insulted my co-worker before requesting to speak to me. I took the phone and tried appealing to the nobler motives suggesting that ultimately the Restaurant would get a negative review… that didn’t persuade him instead he said I had to pay for the 12 meals or face jail time “tonight”. I again re-iterated that I am willing to pay for the meals we ate and that I am in no way financially able to pay for 12 meals. He threatened me to call the “Police” and have me arrested to which I asked “for what?” He hung up the phone on me….

During this ordeal we were made to sit at a table essentially kidnapped with the ransom of having to pay 12 meals or face going to jail. We weren’t allowed to leave or get up from the table…
All the time I was on the phone, my co-workers had already called the police. However when the 3 police showed up they weren’t the ones we made the report to. In addition to which 2 of them were in plain clothes and only the WPC had on her uniform. The “Police” didn’t even talk to the management of sweet lime. Instead they walked up to us and told us that these meals were “specially” made for us and that we had to pay for them. We tried explaining our side of the event to them but they weren’t listening to us. They kept on insisting we had to pay for the 12 meals. One of the police officers who happened to be the most aggressive wanted to speak to me along to which my co-workers said that we came here in a group and that they weren’t letting me go anywhere. The “Police” eventually got me alone. He asked me why I was scared to which I replied “Sir, you may be a ‘good’ police officer but I read the newspapers everyday” He tried to instill fear to get me to pay the bill for 12 plates. Clearly, TTPS is not the only ones paying their salaries, as evidenced by the dismal refusal to give us their ID numbers and names. This was agreed upon by all of us based on how the entire event panned out.

In the end we were made to pay a bill of more than $3300 to Sweet Lime before being escorted out. No dessert, no food packaged to go, nothing. In addition to which the police took all our info: names, addresses and phone contacts, which I am inclined to believe is in the possession of Sweet Lime Restaurant.

So what do we do now? Well I paid the bill and I am NOT going to contest it. “Why Bis?” is the question all of you that read this will ask. And I will reply, that I am seeing the bigger picture here. Anyone who knows Sweet Lime/Ma Pau knows about the connections that they have. I am of a strong morale belief. While this event is most unfortunate and unfair, I cannot compromise the security and well being of my co-workers who I hold dearly to me for a couple hundred dollars. No amount of money is worth their lives. In the end I made the reservation and I will take this one and let it slide. Against all better judgment and argument, I love my co-workers who proved to me last night that at John D we are/were best friends and family…..we stuck it out and I love you guys. I’m sorry I cannot call out your names…you know who you are!!! God Bless….even those at Sweet Lime Restaurant

Regards,
Bis Ram

bonzo.specb

Re: Sweet Lime is a Sour Lime

Postby bonzo.specb » December 11th, 2011, 8:39 pm

tl;dr

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » December 11th, 2011, 8:47 pm

Actually you should have RSVP your co-workers before making the orders. Its not the restaurant fault that your co-workers did not show.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 11th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 11th, 2011, 8:49 pm

is this a confirmed story, or just another "Movie Towne Bandits" kinda scenario?

Something does not sound right

Postby Stephon. » December 11th, 2011, 8:51 pm

She should just leave this one alone. :lol:

Postby K74T » December 11th, 2011, 8:57 pm

Cool story Bis

Postby pioneer » December 11th, 2011, 8:57 pm

s you all know, there are numerous restaurants offering a Christmas Menu this season

Therein is the salient line, the meals aren't on the normal menu. When you make a reservation it is understood these meals would be specially prepared which means you have to pay for it.

Nice try Bis Ram, good luck in your tab-ducking attempts for 2012.

This one is too easy, however "police" refusing to give their badge numbers, name and rank is questionable.

If in fact they didn't give it.

Postby cinco » December 11th, 2011, 8:59 pm

shudda make a run for it

Postby pioneer » December 11th, 2011, 8:59 pm

*scratches head*

Didn't this happen in a tuner lime some years ago?

Postby cinco » December 11th, 2011, 9:01 pm

same outcome some one hadda pay

TriP

Postby TriP » December 11th, 2011, 9:06 pm

"I made a seating RESERVATION for 12 persons, however, last night only 5 persons showed up"

" He told us that the meals were “specially” prepared and that we had to pay for all 12 plates. We told him that we are willing to pay for the meals we ate i.e. 5 plates and not the 12"

he shoulda inform them before they ate the people foods...cos the Rest. cater for 12 ppl...!!
Last edited by TriP on December 11th, 2011, 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sliderz1 » December 11th, 2011, 9:07 pm

if he paid for 12 meals then i hope he got the 12 meals, even if its ' to go' or not

is only certain ppl them could do that kinda sheit to yeh ........

Postby Bizzare » December 11th, 2011, 9:09 pm

summary?

Postby Stephon. » December 11th, 2011, 9:10 pm

sliderz1 wrote:if he paid for 12 meals then i hope he got the 12 meals, even if its ' to go' or not

is only certain ppl them could do that kinda sheit to yeh ........

LMFAO no, they sent the kid and his/her four friends on their way with no more than they ate, no dessert etc. :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » December 11th, 2011, 9:22 pm

Sharky yuh ain't easy atall bai :lol:

Postby S_2NR » December 11th, 2011, 9:28 pm

hmm..man get huff yes.. :lol:

Soundwave

Re: Bis Ram at Sweet Lime

Postby Soundwave » December 11th, 2011, 9:30 pm

this could be a weekly installment, "Bis Ram at...", awesome...

Postby Damien » December 11th, 2011, 9:32 pm

Next time buy doubles yuh tunce

Postby Mark! » December 11th, 2011, 9:34 pm

like sharkers get rel moved by this story yes :lol:

Postby pioneer » December 11th, 2011, 9:36 pm

I guess bisram isn't accustomed to how business is done in the modern world

Making a reservation for 12 people, on a special menu is a binding contract.

What if 12 people showed up and sweet lime prepared for 5, bisram would be upset no?

Well right, talk done.

UDFR bisram wid yuh dotish self.

original ravi b

Postby original ravi b » December 11th, 2011, 9:43 pm

pioneer wrote:I guess bisram isn't accustomed to how business is done in the modern world

What if 12 people showed up and sweet lime prepared for 5, bisram would be upset no?

Well right, talk done.

Pioqueer, Do you know of ANY restaurant in the world that charges by the reservation made. Backward trini thinking ftl.

Even with the situation that occurred, if it transpired as mentioned, the owner seems to be a grade 1 rectumlike businessman. Hard luck for Bis, he did the right thing.

Postby Cjruckus » December 11th, 2011, 9:44 pm

Well hes an idiot.

Sweet lime has seating for roughly 50 people on a busy night. Most of the seats are booths so if a couple comes in they lose 2 seats. One party plans to occupy 4% of the restaurant for at least 1 hr. That's usually how reservations go, you book, they plan for you to be there for 1 hr at the most. Pre-made specials a couple is usually out in 30 to 45 mins tops.

Trinis do this all the time.
Book a Restaurant then don't show.

Postby pioneer » December 11th, 2011, 9:47 pm

original ravi b wrote:
pioneer wrote:I guess bisram isn't accustomed to how business is done in the modern world

Well right, talk done.

Pioqueer, Do you know of ANY restaurant in the world that charges by the reservation made. Backward trini thinking ftl.

Even with the situation that occurred, if it transpired as mentioned, the owner seems to be a grade 1 rectumlike businessman. Hard luck for Bis, he did the right thing.

It's a special menu, meals would have been prepared prior to their arrival.

But i guess you're just accustomed with 2 slight an ah apple j, so i understand your point.

Postby Cjruckus » December 11th, 2011, 9:54 pm

original ravi b wrote:

Well right, talk done.

It's a special menu, meals would have been prepared prior to their arrival.

But i guess you're just accustomed with 2 slight an ah apple j, so i understand your point.

Jaffas asks you to pay half of your plate ($125) if you book their Lunch Special.
Incase you didn't know, Jaffas is kind of a big Deal.

Postby pioneer » December 11th, 2011, 9:58 pm

He thinks Jaffas is de man sellin gyros in carapichaima

Postby Cjruckus » December 11th, 2011, 10:02 pm

No Jaffas is the name of the Rum Shop he lives ontop of.

Postby cinco » December 11th, 2011, 10:10 pm

i tort jaffas was soomatie neffu

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 11th, 2011, 10:25 pm

its unfortunate he had to go thru dat but sadly kinda had it coming, a rsvp and notifying them that only 5 would be attending may have gotten them out of that pickle of a situation....the police thing however is fishy, sweetlime really have all kinda links??

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 11th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Ha! People think that Sweet Lime is a restaurant? Now BisRam knows better.