****the official CRICKET thread*****

DMan7

Re: ****the official CRICKET thread*****

Postby DMan7 » June 19th, 2021, 7:20 pm

bluefete wrote:ROFL. SA still have to bat in the morning.

They should declare with the current lead they have. :D

pato

Postby pato » June 19th, 2021, 10:46 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Today matches both WI vs SA and Ind vs NZ was boring. WI as usual just trying to survive the 5 days though they might just make it another 3 day test. India just trying to bat as long as possible. Pujara batting is just wasted time just like rain falling.

Pujara is a classic test match batter my friend, WI batters can learn a thing or two from him and his resilience. WI just keeps frustrating you with their displays, why cant we put a decent team out there ? What's wrong with us ?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 20th, 2021, 6:41 am

Exactly, SA don't HAVE to bat. Highly unlikely WI making anything more than 100 second innings.
DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:ROFL. SA still have to bat in the morning.

They should declare with the current lead they have. :D

Postby X_Factor » June 21st, 2021, 7:46 am

i feel we will make that 300 runs to win this test match

Postby Dizzy28 » June 21st, 2021, 7:57 am

Saw that yesterday was Kohli's 10th anniversary of his debut in Tests (against WI)

Realised Kraigg Braithwaithe beat him to a test debut.

One has nine hundreds one has twenty seven.

killercow

Postby killercow » June 21st, 2021, 7:58 am

X_Factor wrote:i feel we will make that 300 runs to win this test match
Like you in d business of selling dreams...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2021, 8:48 am

killercow wrote:

Anything could happen yes...meh heart good, might watch a few overs

killercow

Postby killercow » June 21st, 2021, 11:20 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
killercow wrote:

Anything could happen yes...meh heart good, might watch a few overs
Yuh heart good an yuh want to go an watch WI cricket!?
I go stick to meh Euros for now. Go cricinfo d score periodically jus so I doh get my hopes up.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 21st, 2021, 11:57 am

From 90-2 to 107-6. Maharaj with a hattrick!!!

This WI oui!!!!!!!!

Postby bluefete » June 21st, 2021, 12:01 pm

WI was trying to lose this match by lunch time. Dem fellas want to go and party.

There is something very wrong with this team - psychologically and all how.

They had NO PLAN to play the SA's. That is the Coaching team's fault.

Game will finish before tea.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 21st, 2021, 12:56 pm

They are duncy.
Plain talk. Talent there but they have no learning curve. All.those flashy shots by the top order batsmen throughout the series

Kinna reminds me of Sarwan who insisted on hooking/pulling even when he was set up for it
bluefete wrote:WI was trying to lose this match by lunch time. Dem fellas want to go and party.

pato

Postby pato » June 21st, 2021, 1:31 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:They are duncy.
Plain talk. Talent there but they have no learning curve. All.those flashy shots by the top order batsmen throughout the series

Kinna reminds me of Sarwan who insisted on hooking/pulling even when he was set up for it
bluefete wrote:WI was trying to lose this match by lunch time. Dem fellas want to go and party.

Sarwan's situation was different imo, i found him to be strong on the backfoot, so he favoured himself to take on the short ball, i rmb him doing ok against mcgrath/gillespie but these guys today have no strategy for this chase let alone the series. I cant understand this going for years now, what has simmons achieved since his appointment, where is the coaching for these guys ? Take for example J da silva, hardworking and no doubt talented but without the right coaching and mentoring he will definitely not improve and impact WI more than he already has. To be very harsh here, Da silva's batting coach which he regularly uses is a nobody without any credentials to his name. He struggled to play rabada & ngidi in the 1st test, his expressions when he got out also sold him. As someone said above , I gave them a chance but I will stick to euros and tennis for this week.

Postby bluefete » June 21st, 2021, 2:23 pm

Like I wrote. WI lose by 158 runs before tea.

I remember the SA captain saying that when Seales was selected for the WI, the SA coaching staff went looking for videos to see how he bowls and so on.

Do we even do that in the WI?

I agree with pato on DaSilva. He was totally lost against the SA bowling.

Time for a new coach and new selectors because it is clear that WI cannot beat teams like India, England, NZ, ZA, Australia, Pakistan.

Desmond Haynes went on a tirade this weekend about the WI openers. He said that neither he nor Gordon Greenidge were ever asked to help the WI openers. Imagine that!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2021, 2:45 pm

West indies yes

Postby Dizzy28 » June 21st, 2021, 2:58 pm

I would have given QDK MoM though. On a pitch where scoring was so tough for batsmen on either side his 96 IMO opinion was far more valuable than Rabada's match haul of 5 wickets.

Wonder if they just wanted to spread it around as he won it in the 1st game.

Edit--- just realized he scored 21* and 40. Understandable now

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2021, 6:18 pm

Next thing for me to look forward to...Ind vs Eng...5 test series

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2021, 6:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Next thing for me to look forward to...Ind vs Eng...5 test series

WI vs SA 5 T20 matches starting on Saturday with the 2nd T20 match on Sunday and the rest during the week.

Different team different outcomes than the test team.

Postby bluefete » June 21st, 2021, 6:30 pm

DMan7 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Next thing for me to look forward to...Ind vs Eng...5 test series

WI vs SA 5 T20 matches starting on Saturday with the 2nd T20 match on Sunday and the rest during the week.

I like how you have hope.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 21st, 2021, 6:32 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

I like how you have hope.

The WI team have Hope, the player that is not the other type of hope. :lol:

Postby bluefete » June 21st, 2021, 6:46 pm

Well then, there is no Hope!

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2021, 10:09 am

As if the whitewash wasn't enough WI fined 60% of their match fees for the 2nd Test and docked 6 points in the WTC for slow over rate. They also now down to 8th place. Placing seems fair, WI really wouldn't beat any of the teams above them on a consistent basis.

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 10:43 am

^^^ LOL. Clueless captain, coach and coaching staff!!!!!!!!!!!!

So no one was keeping an eye on the over rate.

But looking at it from a different perspective - Has any other team been punished so severely for a slow over rate in test cricket?

Oh yes. In Jan 2020, SA was fined the exact same thing (60% of match fees and 6 points) for a slow over rate. They were overall 3 overs short and it is a 20% fine for each over short.

In June 2021, England were fined 40% of their match fees for being 2 overs short in the 1st test.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2021, 11:09 am

England were fined 40% in the Lord's test earlier this month

It's 20% of match fees for every over the side fails to bowl so its not arbitrary as WI were 3 overs short and England were 2 overs short in their match.

All over rate incident articles can be found at ICC's site - https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2167338

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 11:15 am

Dizzy28 wrote:England were fined 40% in the Lord's test earlier this month

It's 20% of match fees for every over the side fails to bowl so its not arbitrary as WI were 3 overs short and England were 2 overs short in their match.

All over rate incident articles can be found at ICC's site - https://www.icc-cricket.com/news/2167338

But Dizzy: You write what I wrote!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :lol: :lol: :lol: :wink: :wink:

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2021, 11:18 am

^ My bad.....on first read didn't see the last line.

Gonna take lunch now oui and rest my eyes a bit!!!

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 11:19 am

Yeah, I know how it is. See you for the 20 overs.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 22nd, 2021, 11:25 am

Big cricket still going on
India just bowled NZ out for 249.
There is a reserve day in the rules for this match which can be used if a clear and outright victory is possible but I'm not sure it is.

Postby bluefete » June 22nd, 2021, 11:29 am

I just realized they have an extra day for this match.

Postby Country_Bookie » June 22nd, 2021, 7:57 pm

That over rate fiasco is reason enough to always play a spinner. WI does have to fight tooth and nail to get points, can't just afford to give away points just so. We will always have a slow over rate with 4 fast bowlers, especially if Gabriel with his 10 minute overs is playing.

Not sure if it matters for this series tho, do they start over the points table after the WTC?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 23rd, 2021, 6:30 am

bluefete wrote:I just realized they have an extra day for this match.

Imagine India could still loss today :|