In 2 years how much in the RED is T&T in ?

Postby Greypatch » October 10th, 2011, 8:04 pm

2012 budget 7B TTD

2011 ? plus PP asked for more $$ mid year..

just want to get an idea how much debt is increasing

Re: In 2 years how much in the RED is T&T in ?

Postby shogun » October 10th, 2011, 8:10 pm

And they increased the debt ceiling by parliamentary majority, eh!...but refuse to give a reason for doing it.

Postby Greypatch » October 10th, 2011, 8:12 pm

I need to look at last years budget for the figure...

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 8:34 pm

Not totally satisfied. Still not getting answers. I just seeing and hearing figures that state this is what we the government are going to do. Won't doubt that the deficit will increase. Is it currently 40million? Correct me if wrong.

Postby pioneer » October 10th, 2011, 9:12 pm

Introduce property tax.

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 9:28 pm

pioneer wrote:Introduce property tax.

x2, hadda get it back from somewhere.
Last edited by BrotherHood on October 10th, 2011, 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby black start » October 10th, 2011, 9:36 pm

pioneer wrote:Introduce property tax cause i paying for all.

*fixed*

Postby Dizzy28 » October 10th, 2011, 9:40 pm

Cut gas subsidy

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 9:41 pm

^^^ :lol: :lol:

xaira

Postby xaira » October 10th, 2011, 9:51 pm

t&t debt to gdp still no where near as outrageous as many other countries, i wouldnt worry just yet, this SOE is more damaging to the economy than the deficit (for now)

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » October 10th, 2011, 9:56 pm

So we mus pay for the govt misdealings,mistakes etc.
By this reasoning the govt will allways have a scape goat.......tax payers.

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 10:06 pm

^^^^and we does abide? we will remain that way.

Postby skylinechild » October 10th, 2011, 10:13 pm

the thing is....we are an oil and gas based economy....and honestly speaking it's tough..
what we need to do is switch from oil and gas based economy to a drug based economy...seeing as how illegal drug raids go into the millions.
I am sure once this move is made we would have totally resolved the national debt in as little as a few weeks...

just my 0.02C....

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 10:23 pm

^^^^and then what? thought about the disadvantages and ridiculous repercussions?

Postby skylinechild » October 10th, 2011, 10:27 pm

^^^ sarcasm is truly a lost art form.... :(

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2011, 10:31 pm

T&T already in the red in more ways than one.
Dont have to wait 2 years for that.

TK!

Postby TK! » October 10th, 2011, 10:51 pm

stop curfew, let d ppl drink dey rum.
increase road fines AND POLICING to limit assness and increase ticket revenue.
open night courts and small claims courts.
stop curfew and let de damn drugs pass tru. ent is something like 40% ah we economy being propped up by the narcotrade?

fyi: tk! is an e-conomist with a degree in maco-nomics only.

Postby pioneer » October 10th, 2011, 10:52 pm

Raise alcohol prices

Put toll booths entering POS

Put toll booths on "de avenue"

Put parking meters all over POS and on "de avenue"

Trinidadians have every damn thing for free.

Postby BrotherHood » October 10th, 2011, 11:13 pm

skylinechild wrote:^^^ sarcasm is truly a lost art form.... :(

especially when ur the child of a skyline :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 10th, 2011, 11:23 pm

whyteliver wrote:So we mus pay for the govt misdealings,mistakes etc.

yet we don't learn and continue to vote them into power after they raped 3 oil booms....right now we in between but they will be back as the ppl would remember how things got so hard because of the measures that had to be taken by this government, how they were oppressed, marginalised and victimised during a soe, how they kept getting all from social development yet felt that such was not enough (no matter how much is given it would never be enough to parasites), how they couldn't get more than 5% when in the times of "plenty" when the rapists were in power, trade unions were deafeningly silent, and blindly vote them in again....only for another boom to occur and they to mismanage with their natural un-intelligence!!!!

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 11th, 2011, 7:06 am

^ well said......I would have loved to hear these same critics if the property tax was implemented....would they be whining to go pay the tax??

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2011, 8:11 am

+
~Vēġó~ wrote:
whyteliver wrote:So we mus pay for the govt misdealings,mistakes etc.

yet we don't learn and continue to vote them into power after they raped 3 oil booms....right now we in between but they will be back as the ppl would remember how things got so hard because of the measures that had to be taken by this government, how they were oppressed, marginalised and victimised during a soe, how they kept getting all from social development yet felt that such was not enough (no matter how much is given it would never be enough to parasites), how they couldn't get more than 5% when in the times of "plenty" when the rapists were in power, trade unions were deafeningly silent, and blindly vote them in again....only for another boom to occur and they to mismanage with their natural un-intelligence!!!!

^ Ditto with the above. Economies aren't built or destroyed in 2-3 years. It is systematic with persistent management over a period of time. Previous to 2010 there were 8 budgets given by a past administration (in real times of plenty too) with no real regards to diversification or prudent expenditure. Yet now it pains me to see Dooks getting licks for diversification and deficit spending.

It was an average budget but we have an average economy.

Postby Greypatch » October 11th, 2011, 10:52 am

Why is it so hard to present a balanced budget ?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 11th, 2011, 11:11 am

^ Running a deficit is not necessarily a bad thing. However it requires long term foresight. Technically we all personally run deficits with cars loans and mortgages. We are making purchases for which we do not have the money. We assume future income would pay them off. However we derive utility from those assets.

Similarly the Govn't would have to make capital investments such as roads and hospitals and investments in intellect such as education/GATE. Sometimes you have to borrow to invest. The cost and terms of borrowing and the long term fore sighting is necessary to ensure it id done prudently though.

Postby TRAE » October 11th, 2011, 12:25 pm

i thought we have a budget ched already

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » October 11th, 2011, 2:49 pm

pioneer wrote:Raise alcohol prices

Put toll booths entering POS

Put toll booths on "de avenue"

Put parking meters all over POS and on "de avenue"

1 agree

Postby skylinechild » October 11th, 2011, 4:30 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
skylinechild wrote:^^^ sarcasm is truly a lost art form.... :(

especially when ur the child of a skyline :lol:

and not just any skyline......a 1999 nissan skyline GTR..... 8-)

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » October 12th, 2011, 2:44 am

well done Dooks on excellent budget.