Minister of Sport announces TT$1.4B Motor Racing Facility

Daren 3NE 2NR

Minister of Sport announces TT$1.4B Motor Racing Facility

Postby Daren 3NE 2NR » September 25th, 2011, 3:51 pm

Today at the ARC carpark, for the ARA Drag & Wind Event, and representing within his own constituency, the Honorable Minister of Sport, Anil Roberts announced that he is promising a motor racing facility valued at TT$1.4 Billion to be built over the next four years.

While he did not state the exact location of this facility he did mention that Caroni and Waterloo may be potential sites for this project.

Roger Nottingham of ARA took the opportunity to ask the Minister, about the fact that motoring racing was put out of Wallerfield and over the years we have seen no concrete plans to making a replacement facility.

The Minister responded by stating that Trinidad has been promised tennis, swimming and cycling facilities since the 1960's and 70's but have now started development under this new administration.

We will keep in touch with the Ministry of Sport for further details.

ARA (AutoSport Racing Association) headed by Rawle Mahabir held their 3rd Drag + "Wind" Time Attack event at ARC. Jameer Ali, also part of the organisational team for this event, was instrumental in inviting the Minister. Jameer later gave his fully prepped Honda Civic circuit racing car to Anil Roberts to drive at the event. Minister Roberts took the car out on the track quite a few times during the day, eventually bettering his personal best time on his last run.

red_dragon

Re: Minister of Sport announces TT$1.4B Motor Racing Facilit

Postby red_dragon » September 25th, 2011, 4:33 pm

1.4 billion the man say...

they could not even find 1.4 million...

very nice too know 4 yrs down the road will have something :roll:

but I wonder if they would still be in power to see it go through....

K_Ali

Postby K_Ali » September 25th, 2011, 5:25 pm

Do you really need 1.4 Billion Dollars to build a Motor Racing Facility? Maybe
If yes I would like to see a model of the Facility showing what features will be implemented.

Postby M_2NR » September 25th, 2011, 5:45 pm

i guess elections time coming again?

QuietRiot

Postby QuietRiot » September 25th, 2011, 5:56 pm

"Politics really has a Morality of its own" My my Mr.Roberts you seem to have acquainted yourself so well,so quickly.

Postby SR » September 25th, 2011, 6:50 pm

crackindian wrote:Do you really need 1.4 Billion Dollars to build a Motor Racing Facility? Maybe
If yes I would like to see a model of the Facility showing what features will be implemented.

thats a bargain considering the brian lara stadium has crossed 1bil and yet to be completed

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 25th, 2011, 7:24 pm

Wait Nah! Is 1.4 BILLION dollars the man say dey? :shock:

That man make it sound like the government printing money. I guess election coming soon, so he need to butter up allyuh fellas :lol:

Postby cinco » September 25th, 2011, 7:43 pm

allyuh believe that STEUPS he bawl they take 40 years to do dem other facilities we hadda wait on that oui

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2011, 7:55 pm

so who gonna manage/run this facility ?
will it be equally available to all/any motoring sports or be under some form of federation ?

Tile Expression Ltd.

Postby Tile Expression Ltd. » September 25th, 2011, 8:17 pm

The minister only annouced this at Autosport event today at the ARC..they have not held any detailed discussions on where and when..and i don't believe this is official just yet..its just works in the making..

the reason they are using 1.4billion...is because they will be planning a start of the art facility for Drags, Karting & circuit..its just not a empty piece of land with tents and chairs..

but lets see if this goes tru, i for one am very optimistic about this..

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 25th, 2011, 8:20 pm

Anil probably dream up this plan on the way to ARC :lol:

Both Anil & myself share the same surname. The only difference is I fabricate stuff to get women to have sex with me and he fabricate stuff to get allyuh to vote for him :lol:

Ok, enough sheit talk... I going back to watch F1 & NHRA on TV :drinking:

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 25th, 2011, 8:27 pm

Why all the sacarstic comments about this announcement ? - For 40 years we have suffered for a proper facility..lets just wait and see how it goes.

Postby cinco » September 25th, 2011, 8:39 pm

wasnt anil the same minister who said we would be racing by december last year....

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » September 25th, 2011, 9:51 pm

after he ran the civic, he was certainly smiling alot, lets hope it stirred past memories

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 25th, 2011, 9:56 pm

another high hopes announcement again

Postby MG Man » September 25th, 2011, 10:07 pm

anil roberts needs to be Minister of Talkinnouttaheass

Postby wagon r » September 26th, 2011, 12:32 am

...the best part was when he said that 100,000 people are employed in the motorsport industry....

...seeing that never signed any contract, does that mean I running PH 6 years now...??? :neutral:

Postby cinco » September 26th, 2011, 7:38 am

foot in mouth disease is rampant
best you delete this yes Daren or archive it to a hard drive somewhere
so in 40 years when we get somewhere to race you can say
Ha! i told you so!

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 26th, 2011, 8:04 am

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Why all the sacarstic comments about this announcement ? - For 40 years we have suffered for a proper facility..lets just wait and see how it goes.

all with negative comments stay home ''If'' the Facility is built.

gt-foure

Postby gt-foure » September 26th, 2011, 9:00 am

lmao!!! good one anil....i stand a better chance to see GOD'S face than to see this happen.. :fist:

twinturbo_z

Postby twinturbo_z » September 26th, 2011, 9:07 am

The question is this...Does the Honorable Minister know the difference between million and billion :)

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 26th, 2011, 9:14 am

wonder how much outter that 1.4b it really costing cause i hear of a man had a plan to build a race track in freeport area and it was not costing 100m. All of this spending so much money what the country have is just to put it in there pocket. :shock:

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » September 26th, 2011, 9:22 am

hahahah this is a big joke..he wont be in power in 4 years!

Postby tr1ad » September 26th, 2011, 9:29 am

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:Why all the sacarstic comments about this announcement ? - For 40 years we have suffered for a proper facility..lets just wait and see how it goes.

anil would like ppl like allyuh

just a glimmer of hope

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » September 26th, 2011, 9:39 am

tr1ad wrote:
THE_FUGITIVES wrote:

anil would like ppl like allyuh

just a glimmer of hope

hope is all i could have unless you building a track

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 26th, 2011, 10:47 am

firstchoicett wrote:wonder how much outter that 1.4b it really costing cause i hear of a man had a plan to build a race track in freeport area and it was not costing 100m. All of this spending so much money what the country have is just to put it in there pocket. :shock:
the track in freeport was a drag racing track only, this is proposed to be a complete motorsport facility with a circuit racing track perhaps miles long, a NHRA approved drag racing track, karting track, dexterity area, rally cross track, training facilities, stands, parking, roads, lighting etc etc

professor

Postby professor » September 26th, 2011, 10:57 am

I hope that I live long enough to see this, it would mean that i would have lived to a RIPE old age. I could see me racing a modified electric scooter, complete with spoilers and racing stripes.

Don't wait on any Goverment, invest, make money.

Postby MG Man » September 26th, 2011, 11:19 am

^^^agreed
but with the vast opportunities to fill pockets, I'm so surprised none of them (current or past regimes) tried to build a facility
The worst part is all the new stadia that were built could have so easily been designed with car parks that could have been used for dex, karting, time atack etc.........but noooooooooooo lets fill the car parks with concrete dividers
damn you Gary Isaac and your $2mil flag

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 26th, 2011, 11:21 am

firstchoicett wrote:wonder how much outter that 1.4b it really costing cause i hear of a man had a plan to build a race track in freeport area and it was not costing 100m. All of this spending so much money what the country have is just to put it in there pocket. :shock:
the track in freeport was a drag racing track only, this is proposed to be a complete motorsport facility with a circuit racing track perhaps miles long, a NHRA approved drag racing track, karting track, dexterity area, rally cross track, training facilities, stands, parking, roads, lighting etc etc
ok but i still dont see how something like this could cost so much. remember we talking about 235 Million USD. That is alot of dollars for a country that borrowing 20Billion from the CDB.

moti

Postby moti » September 26th, 2011, 11:35 am

i'll beleive it when i see it.........................