St. Joseph’s Convent welcomes first ‘hijab’ student

TriP

St. Joseph’s Convent welcomes first ‘hijab’ student

Postby TriP » September 19th, 2011, 7:51 am

http://www.tntmirror.com/2011/09/11/st-joseph’s-convent-welcomes-first-hijab-student

SAMIYAH Sawdah Abdal-Adil, born on August 25, 1998, has become the first Muslim student to attend St. Joseph Convent, Port of Spain wearing the traditional head scarf or hijab, an issue which sparked controversy both locally and internationally almost a decade ago.

In 1993 two Muslim girls passed for Providence Girls’ Secondary and Holy Name Convent, Port of Spain. One was Sabeerah Abu Bakr, daughter of Jamaat al Muslimeen leader, Imam Yasin Abu Bakr. The other was the daughter of a local Muslim scholar who took the school to court for his daughter to wear her hijab at Holy Name Convent.

He won a singular battle that year as the judge ruled in the child’s favour without opening the floodgates for other similarly affected students. Abu Bakr declined to challenge Providence Girls, on the issue and eventually had to enrol his daughter at St. Francios Girls’ College in Belmont with her hijab.

This new school year, however, marks a sharp departure from those as on Friday, September 2, 2011, Sawdah entered a prominent Roman Catholic secondary school adorned in her hijab, long-sleeved blouse and ankle-length skirt.

Amazingly, all of this has not only been sanctioned by the school’s board but has also been facilitated by the school’s main dressmaker, Hannah Janoura.

She painstakingly took the time to prepare Sawdah’s school uniform for her first day of school in keeping with the young lady’s religious dictates. The head scarf she made for Sawdah covers her head and bossom and is loose. As per Sawdah’s request, it comes to a “V” in front and behind.

So, on Friday, September 2, just after 8am, as Form 1L of St. Joseph Convent, Port of Spain was ablaze with the radiant faces of the successful students of this year’s S.E.A, one of whom was Sawdah from Bagatelle, Diego Martin.

“I will be focusing on science subjects as I intend to become a surgeon,” she says, having decided on medicine when she was nine years old.

Her first thought on entering St. Joseph Convent was of feeling very special. However she hopes more Muslim girls wearing head scarves will come to the school eventually.

Her advice to her fellow female Muslims is “Don’t be afraid to put down the school of your choice. It is good for young students to meet other people/cultures to socialise better.

“I want the principal and the school board to be happy with the (ground- breaking) decision to admit me as a hijab-wearing student. They have assured my mother that there will be no forced participation in things that are against my core beliefs.” She intends to be a part of the St. Joseph Convent community and contribute wherever her talents may be utilised.

Re: St. Joseph’s Convent welcomes first ‘hijab’ student

Postby tr1ad » September 19th, 2011, 8:19 am

seerrrriiiooouuusss

Postby noshownogo » September 19th, 2011, 8:19 am

Zzzzzz, no disrespect to anyone one of any religious persuasion but really this is 2011 and hardly news. The problem with most of these institutions is the fact that they made it mandatory to participate in ceremonies pertaining to one belief.

Postby Stephon. » September 19th, 2011, 8:21 am

This will only be shocking news to close minded people. It is 2011 after all.

Postby Team Loco » September 19th, 2011, 8:21 am

well i dont see an issue here. it was adjusted and adapted to the school rules. also, why does this issue make the news. we have nuns who wear head scarfs, the only difference being, it doesnt cover the ears.
if the school doesnt have a problem then who are we to judge.
St augustine girls school has a room dedicated to muslim students who want to pray.
this is what makes T&T a true cosmopolitan country.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 19th, 2011, 8:22 am

noshownogo wrote:Zzzzzz, no disrespect to anyone one of any religious persuasion but really this is 2011 and hardly news. The problem with most of these institutions is the fact that they made it mandatory to participate in ceremonies pertaining to one belief.

Not in the one I attended, had friends who were forced to learn Hindi though

dohcum

Postby dohcum » September 19th, 2011, 8:31 am

if i may throw in my 2 cents.... but doesn't the Catholic Nuns wear clothing very very similar to the hijab!!! so they should actually be very happy... if one is dressed like this

Postby Sky » September 19th, 2011, 8:32 am

Some God, same religion.

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2011, 8:33 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
noshownogo wrote:Zzzzzz, no disrespect to anyone one of any religious persuasion but really this is 2011 and hardly news. The problem with most of these institutions is the fact that they made it mandatory to participate in ceremonies pertaining to one belief.

nobody cya force yuh tuh learn bai............plenty people try to force me tuh learn maths and I still eh learn :lol:

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 19th, 2011, 8:35 am

nobody cya force yuh tuh learn bai............plenty people try to force me tuh learn maths and I still eh learn :lol:

ditto :|

Postby Team Loco » September 19th, 2011, 8:37 am

i went to school with this one (unfortunately). i can attest to this

boy still dont know how to multiply

Postby S_2NR » September 19th, 2011, 8:38 am

so muslims couldn go sjc with hijab before..
no wonder i never see any girls wearin hijab there.. :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2011, 8:51 am

in the end their is only one GOD,he is just worshipped in different forms........

Postby Stephon. » September 19th, 2011, 8:59 am

At the end of the day religion is the downfall of society. All it does is divide people.

Postby RBphoto » September 19th, 2011, 9:00 am

What about the Rasta Locks? Ent them still ban? (Asking here, not sure). they should get a bligh as well.

Postby eliteauto » September 19th, 2011, 9:06 am

well done SJC

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2011, 9:19 am

Team Loco wrote:

i went to school with this one (unfortunately). i can attest to this

boy still dont know how to multiply

yuh gyul say she go show mih how tuh multiply

Postby S_2NR » September 19th, 2011, 9:42 am

^^ :rofl:

Postby Stephon. » September 19th, 2011, 9:45 am

:rofl: :rofl:

Postby bushwakka » September 19th, 2011, 9:58 am

a laudable act

deliah

Postby deliah » September 19th, 2011, 10:10 am

Stephon. wrote:At the end of the day religion is the downfall of society. All it does is divide people.

:shock: sounds like you is the down fall.....

without religion no man can see his wayy.

Are you the devil :evilbat: by chance..?

Hijab should be allowed in all schools and all countries...don't see a reason y it should not.

Postby Sky » September 19th, 2011, 10:12 am

^^ I agree with Stephon *goes and gargles listerine for saying that*
Religion IS the downfall of mankind.

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2011, 10:14 am

deliah wrote:
Stephon. wrote:At the end of the day religion is the downfall of society. All it does is divide people.

Hijab should be allowed in all schools and all countries...don't see a reason y it should not.

And so it begins.........
religion is the root of evil
more people have died in th ename of religion than anything else
religion is a manmade concept designed for social control, spread of power and preservation of whatever values the creators of a religion deem to be best
religion preys on the weak of mind

Postby S_2NR » September 19th, 2011, 10:18 am

deliah wrote:

Postby sliderz1 » September 19th, 2011, 10:19 am

this really make papers??

and tuner?

Postby Team Loco » September 19th, 2011, 10:32 am

deliah wrote:

And so it begins.........
religion is the root of evil
more people have died in th ename of religion than anything else
religion is a manmade concept designed for social control, spread of power and preservation of whatever values the creators of a religion deem to be best
religion preys on the weak of mind

where you want me to drop off de topee for you?

Postby Stephon. » September 19th, 2011, 10:38 am

"Without religion man can't see his way"

In that case my religion is Gaga and I worship unicorns.

Postby AllTrac » September 19th, 2011, 10:50 am

i am against this for security reasons, next thing they start covering their faces and eyes we wont know who is who then sudden we hear school children massacred by ninjas

Postby Stephon. » September 19th, 2011, 10:52 am

AllTrac wrote:i am against this for security reasons, next thing they start covering their faces and eyes we wont know who is who then sudden we hear school children massacred by ninjas

LMFAOOOO!!!!1!
Jeez, no wonder no one takes me seriously in the office :|

Postby MG Man » September 19th, 2011, 10:53 am

nah de face-hiding ones is de downtrodden feeble of mind-type
is the well dressed, 'normal' ones u hadda watch out for
de ones like Team Loco dem so who does seem normal and westernized