South woman PAYS $1,500 TTD 'cellphone' charge

Postby Stephon. » September 10th, 2011, 2:37 pm

By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Sep 9, 2011 at 11:53 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 9, 2011 at 11:53 PM ECT

A WOMAN who said she was on an overseas call to her four-year-old son when she was charged with driving and talking on her cellular phone is the first defendant to challenge this law before the San Fernando Magistrates' Court.

Joanne Bedassie-Samaroo pleaded not guilty yesterday to driving while holding or using a hand-held device.

The trial began before Traffic Court Magistrate Indira Misir-Gosine.

It is alleged that on April 5 at Vistabella, Bedassie-Samaroo was talking on the mobile device while driving.

Constable Ray Dieffenthaller told the court it was around 3.40 p.m., while he was on foot patrol, when he saw the woman attempting to turn onto Jarvis Street, San Fernando.

At the time, he said, she was using her right hand to hold the phone to the right side of her face. He said he was ten feet from the car, which was moving slowly in traffic, and he observed that her lips appeared to be moving.

When stopped, it is alleged Bedassie-Samaroo placed the phone on the passenger seat.

Dieffenthalller said she told him, "Officer I was just talking to my four-year-old son in the (United) States."

When it was time to cross examine the officer, Bedassie-Samaroo, who earlier said she did not need an attorney to fight her case, decided to exercise that option.

She said she did not retain a lawyer earlier because she could not afford one.

Misir-Gosine advised her of legal aid.

The matter was adjourned to next Tuesday, when Bedassie-Gosine will give her side of the story.

Bedassie-Gosine, of Marabella, was charged under Regulation 4 Subsection 1 of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic (Mobile Devices) Regulations 2010, which came into effect on February 19 of this year.

She was issued a $1,000 ticket but came to court yesterday to challenge it.

Should she be found guilty by the magistrate, she could face a fine of up to $1,500 or serve three months in prison.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sou ... 71258.html

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Re: South woman challenges 'cellphone' charge

Postby Mark! » September 10th, 2011, 2:41 pm

laad this is a rel tough case here yes...who knows what will happen next

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » September 10th, 2011, 2:48 pm

I don't care, the law is the law. All she needed to do was pull over and talk to her son. I've only been back in country a couple days now and have seen at least a dozen stupid drives by people who have a phone stuck to the side of their face...

Postby Stephon. » September 10th, 2011, 2:52 pm

:lol: At first I gave her the benefit of the doubt based on the title of the article, I thought that B mobile overcharged her and she wanted to challenge her bill in court to tell them she doesn't need to pay so much overseas fees :lol: :lol:

Postby Rooki3 » September 10th, 2011, 2:54 pm

while she on d phone wid she "four year old son" she could have seriously hurt other ppl's loved ones< who may have been pedestrian

charge she #$%@

Postby Mark! » September 10th, 2011, 2:54 pm

Who ever gets charge for driving and using the phone deserves it, cuz if u on the phone and driving and did not see a police looking at you, you obviously wasnt paying attention to the road :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 10th, 2011, 2:55 pm

pffffffffffft
as a driver I have very good multitasking skills
If other people don't, then tough
I can safely talk on a a cell and drive

Postby Bizzare » September 10th, 2011, 2:58 pm

Mark! wrote:Who ever gets charge for driving and using the phone deserves it, cuz if u on the phone and driving and did not see a police looking at you, you obviously wasnt paying attention to the road :lol:

Now imagine how much kix it'll be if the judge says this :lol:

Postby ronsin1 » September 10th, 2011, 3:07 pm

so which is it Bedassie-Samaroo or Bedassie-Gosine

Postby S_2NR » September 10th, 2011, 3:16 pm

So she admit she was talking on her phone..what a fool..she done loss that case..unless she was using a headset..(which I doubt)

Postby Stephon. » September 10th, 2011, 3:24 pm

I think she should be charged with wasting the courts time, also she should be put in jail for 6 months to think of her actions. Her permit should then be permanently suspended.

I'm not saying I'm a saint, I've been on the phone while driving before; but if I get a ticket for doing so, I would pay it, not go in court all wrong and strong.

Yep no more permit for her.

Postby rollingstock » September 10th, 2011, 3:38 pm

Had to be a south woman :?

"yuh onor de occifer charged mih for no reason i wuz onlee talkin t mih 4 yr ole son in ahhhhhhmerika, me eh kno y he eh go look 4 rell kriminals"

Postby bluesteel29 » September 10th, 2011, 3:38 pm

will police be able to get a call record from tstt/digicel to prove her guilt or is it just the officers word?

Postby Stephon. » September 10th, 2011, 3:44 pm

^She already admitted to talking on the phone though. No need for that.

Postby S_2NR » September 10th, 2011, 3:47 pm

Stephon. wrote:^She already admitted to talking on the phone though. No need for that.

yup..this is the funniest part.
shes a dumbass :rofl:

Postby Bizzare » September 10th, 2011, 3:58 pm

The law still stands and there's no excuse for it. No one is above the law either. Wasn't Ian Alleyne talking on his phone while driving in a video. Someone pull him up on it and he brush it off as small thing & get b!tchy. I've talked on a cell while driving before but if charged, I AM WRONG and end of story dey.

Postby MG Man » September 10th, 2011, 4:27 pm

i wasn't talking on my cellphone
my phone was talkin to me

Postby meccalli » September 10th, 2011, 4:42 pm

I agree with mg. before this whole cellphone charges thing came out, i know alot of people who are comfortable driving and talking but they don't do it speeding and carelessly. I don't drive yet tho but.. More often than not, its a guy studying to play up with his stereo, eat, or just outright intoxicated give so much bad drives. Alot of killings are from speeding and that imo is not dealt with as should in our country. Often going to manzan i wonder why there aren't cops on the side to pull over these crazy bastards who driving at ridiculous speeds.

Postby shogun » September 10th, 2011, 5:28 pm

MG Man wrote:i wasn't talking on my cellphone

One way convo? :lol: like you want a stint @ St. Annes, added to your sentence.

Postby rfari » September 10th, 2011, 5:35 pm

Mark! wrote:Who ever gets charge for driving and using the phone deserves it, cuz if u on the phone and driving and did not see a police looking at you, you obviously wasnt paying attention to the road :lol:

Exactly! Judge should just fine her the same 1K and tell her buss out.

MG Man wrote:i wasn't talking on my cellphone

Oaaarrr!!!

Postby shogun » September 10th, 2011, 5:38 pm

rfari wrote:

Exactly! Judge should just fine her the same 1K and tell her buss out.

Yuh know!...she know she was wrong, but you know trini....she try a "ting."

Postby redmanjp » September 10th, 2011, 5:42 pm

usually if u challenge a traffic fine & lose u pay twice as much

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 10th, 2011, 5:56 pm

buss she throat!!!!!

Postby rollingstock » September 10th, 2011, 6:07 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:buss she draws!!!!!

Postby sMASH » September 10th, 2011, 6:09 pm

ronsin1 wrote:so which is it Bedassie-Samaroo or Bedassie-Gosine

depends on who the other person is she is talking to at the time.

Postby black start » September 10th, 2011, 6:42 pm

rollingstock wrote:Had to be a woman

*fixed*

Postby Greypatch » September 10th, 2011, 6:45 pm

FINALLY THEY CHARGE SOMEONE !!!!

WEll done Constable Ray Dieffenthaller

Stephon. wrote:
By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Sep 9, 2011 at 11:53 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 9, 2011 at 11:53 PM ECT

A WOMAN who said she was on an overseas call to her four-year-old son when she was charged with driving and talking on her cellular phone is the first defendant to challenge this law before the San Fernando Magistrates' Court.

Joanne Bedassie-Samaroo pleaded not guilty yesterday to driving while holding or using a hand-held device.

The trial began before Traffic Court Magistrate Indira Misir-Gosine.

It is alleged that on April 5 at Vistabella, Bedassie-Samaroo was talking on the mobile device while driving.

Constable Ray Dieffenthaller told the court it was around 3.40 p.m., while he was on foot patrol, when he saw the woman attempting to turn onto Jarvis Street, San Fernando.

At the time, he said, she was using her right hand to hold the phone to the right side of her face. He said he was ten feet from the car, which was moving slowly in traffic, and he observed that her lips appeared to be moving.

When stopped, it is alleged Bedassie-Samaroo placed the phone on the passenger seat.

Dieffenthalller said she told him, "Officer I was just talking to my four-year-old son in the (United) States."

When it was time to cross examine the officer, Bedassie-Samaroo, who earlier said she did not need an attorney to fight her case, decided to exercise that option.

She said she did not retain a lawyer earlier because she could not afford one.

Misir-Gosine advised her of legal aid.

The matter was adjourned to next Tuesday, when Bedassie-Gosine will give her side of the story.

Bedassie-Gosine, of Marabella, was charged under Regulation 4 Subsection 1 of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic (Mobile Devices) Regulations 2010, which came into effect on February 19 of this year.

She was issued a $1,000 ticket but came to court yesterday to challenge it.

Should she be found guilty by the magistrate, she could face a fine of up to $1,500 or serve three months in prison.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sou ... 71258.html

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby ismithx » September 10th, 2011, 7:10 pm

MG Man wrote:pffffffffffft
as a driver I have very good multitasking skills
If other people don't, then tough
I can safely talk on a a cell and drive

hold a slap nah...

Postby sharkman121 » September 10th, 2011, 7:44 pm

i doh see what this needed to go to court for, she was obviously wrong...unless theres a clause in the law stating thats its ok if yr on an overseas call talking to a 4 yr old.

If she was pleading for leniency, then thats something else.

Postby bushwakka » September 10th, 2011, 8:35 pm

i wonder wat her defence wud be.......*subscribes*