Discontinuing Degree - What happens with GATE?

Chill_Factor

Discontinuing Degree - What happens with GATE?

Postby Chill_Factor » September 6th, 2011, 8:56 pm

I have been pursuing a 2nd undergrad degree but after 2 years, I realized I didn't like it and couldn't see myself finishing. I do have significant work experience though and a good GPA from my previous Bachelors, and wanted to apply to do my masters but what are the consequences in terms of GATE? If I withdraw now, do I have to pay back for everything I did? If so, could I at least delay payments till a later date?

carspot

Re: Discontinuing Degree - What happens with GATE?

Postby carspot » September 6th, 2011, 9:00 pm

If you don't finish your current degree you will not qualify for GATE again. Check Ministry of Science and Tertiary Education for more info

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 6th, 2011, 9:09 pm

gate is only for one degree.....you're first undergrad...if you started your second degree and got gate, you would have to repay the ministry...

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » September 6th, 2011, 9:10 pm

go hide in tobago till the heat dies down

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 6th, 2011, 9:11 pm

Measure the costs if you were to 1. Scrap your current degree and pay off what you were funded or 2. Pay to do your masters. In order for you to do your masters and get GATE you have either of those choices. And yes they do have very good records. Didn't you read the fine print on the back of the GATE form, if you do not complete your studies, the GATE becomes a loan which you have to pay back (with interest)

Postby Trini Hookah » September 6th, 2011, 9:11 pm

They will convert it to the form of a loan, and you will have to pay what covered your courses.

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » September 6th, 2011, 9:20 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:gate is only for one degree.....you're first undergrad...if you started your second degree and got gate, you would have to repay the ministry...

Good thing is that you don't have a deadline to repay the money the government spent on your degree. However you do have to repay it. Go to STTE in St. Augustine (Next to SACC) and find out how much etc.

Chill_Factor

Postby Chill_Factor » September 6th, 2011, 9:21 pm

I don't mind paying it back, cause I really can't handle another two years. I'll check with them tomorrow to work out something.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 6th, 2011, 9:23 pm

so you waited 2yrs to realize you didn't like studying whatever you're doing????????

Chill_Factor

Postby Chill_Factor » September 6th, 2011, 9:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so you waited 2yrs to realize you didn't like studying whatever you're doing????????

Lol at first it went pretty well but after a while, I realized it was just not for me.

Postby rfari » September 6th, 2011, 9:29 pm

Last edited by rfari on September 6th, 2011, 10:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 6th, 2011, 9:31 pm

rfari wrote:OP, i want my foqin tax money back. that's what. i paying to send ur arse to school and you ups and decide that you doh wanna continue??? you feel this is foqin saturday morning composition classes orr?

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » September 6th, 2011, 10:13 pm

rfari wrote:OP, i want my foqin tax money back. that's what. i paying to send ur arse to school and you ups and decide that you doh wanna continue??? you feel this is foqin saturday morning composition classes orr?

Take it light Bro, yuh go pop a vein in yuh membrane... :rofl:

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » September 6th, 2011, 10:24 pm

so if in another case its your first degree programme but u decide not to continue that one and would like to pay what was allocated to you for it and start another one can you get gate for the new one?

Postby rfari » September 6th, 2011, 10:29 pm

maybe i was a bit rough. my sincerest apologies OP. But how can you start a degree and then decide that it wasn't for you? didn't you decide on a career path before you started?

Postby BrotherHood » September 6th, 2011, 10:49 pm

rfari wrote:maybe i was a bit rough. my sincerest apologies OP. But how can you start a degree and then decide that it wasn't for you? didn't you decide on a career path before you started?

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » September 6th, 2011, 11:58 pm

Wait wtf am I reading....u have to pay back d money if u drop out O_O

I started my degree an dropped out in d first year/first semester because 1. Classrooms were too packed and I prefer individual attention (not straining to see d whiteboard) 2. As a shift working individual I expect some leeway when I can't make it to classes or miss a quiz/exam 3. Four years is too damn long to go through part-time classes and 4. Lecturers wanna treat u like u r in high school.

Anywayz sorry to take over ur thread OP but how much does one hadda pay back GATE???

Postby Bizzare » September 7th, 2011, 12:05 am

I'm in the process of doing this also. Wanted to know what happened to GATE. I really don't mind paying back cuz I'll be able to do so next year. I want to know if I can be funded by GATE for whatever else I pursue in the future. I jus wanna wipe my name clean of any loans along with quitting what I'm doing. Most importantly.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 7th, 2011, 12:14 am

mitsuboi wrote:Wait wtf am I reading....u have to pay back d money if u drop out O_O

I started my degree an dropped out in d first year/first semester because 1. Classrooms were too packed and I prefer individual attention (not straining to see d whiteboard) 2. As a shift working individual I expect some leeway when I can't make it to classes or miss a quiz/exam 3. Four years is too damn long to go through part-time classes and 4. Lecturers wanna treat u like u r in high school.

Anywayz sorry to take over ur thread OP but how much does one hadda pay back GATE???

It will be the amount you signed on your GATE form initially to cover the semester's tutiton.

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » September 7th, 2011, 12:16 am

ohh ok thxboidanboivrampersadboidanboi

Postby Bizzare » September 7th, 2011, 12:23 am

Will gate fund you on another degree once your current "loan" has been paid?

Chill_Factor

Postby Chill_Factor » September 7th, 2011, 1:05 am

mitsuboi wrote:Wait wtf am I reading....u have to pay back d money if u drop out O_O

No scene. Roughly $20,000 plus interest. It makes more sense for me to pay it out rather than pay $50,000 a year for two years, when I could get it at $25,000 a year with GATE's 50% payment for Post grad programs.

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » September 7th, 2011, 1:20 am

wait so ppl actually pay back this $20,000 ???

Postby Bizzare » September 7th, 2011, 1:25 am

GATE covered only like 10gs on my fees. GATE only covers tuition fees. Not as bad as 20gs.

Postby *KRONIK* » September 7th, 2011, 7:13 am

so if u completed ur degree, u still have to pay them??

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 7th, 2011, 7:28 am

*KRONIK* wrote:so if u completed ur degree, u still have to pay them??

:?

not sure if serious

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 7th, 2011, 7:51 am

no you don't have to repay the govt if you complete your degree.

i know for a fact that they have started to audit gate...they dealing with the institutions first who had "ghost students" (for want of a better term)

then they going after the students themselves. all who feel they get away have a another think coming..

Postby Bizzare » September 7th, 2011, 7:56 am

You have to pay back in a sense. Your freedom of choice is limited.

Postby rfari » September 7th, 2011, 8:07 am

Hope the government put the on allyuh slackers

Postby *KRONIK* » September 7th, 2011, 8:18 am

reason i asked is that i was looking at the gate form yesterday and i see it says that

5) The student shall inform the Ministry forthwith on the sucessful completion of his/her program and to accept employment within the republic of T&T in either the public sector, for the undermentioned prescribed period. the student also agrees of the details of his/her employment on his/her period of service shall be related to the cost of the funding and shall be determined...

7) in the event that student:
c.fails to accept employment in the public or private sector in the republic of T&T after the conclusion or termination of the said program for the specified period of time.

the student binds himself/herself and agrees that he shall be liable immediatley to refund the government the total amount of the loan made to him/her.

so i finish my degree since last year...i have resumes everywhere, including government...
i eh get a job in my field of study yet... what i supposed to do???

they go lock me up??