What level of forensic science is utilized by detectives

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 10:20 am

Now I came home yesterday at midday 30minutes after my little brother left. In that period of time an individual took it upon himself to jump my fence and make his way up onto the garage roof in an attempt too see if any of the upstairs windows were open or if he was monkey enough to make it to the actual open window which was no less that 16 ft away from the garage roof. My sudden arrival caused said individual to jump off the garage roof and run away. In his haste he left a nine inch knife on the walk way. Now the police reached probably half an hour after being called, mind you I live 5 minutes away from the police station with traffic. So when they arrived they picked up the knife and seized it looked around the house and drive down the street and that was that. Now when my apartment was robbed the police said that they couldn't recover and fingerprints, this time they didn't even bother to check so I'm wondering do local detectives use any of these supposed basic forensics to help in capturing individuals? I ask this because I know a very likely suspect after asking around the community and it turn out this person has a history and has been arrested before. There was also another neighbor who was robbed of his ps3 and his gas tank :| a month ago, man even make Mac and cheese before going with the stuff too but this wasn't reported because that neighbor want too find said individual walking down the street for himself before the police does...

Re: What level of forensic science is utilized by detectives

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2011, 10:30 am

Forensic investigations are hardly ever done at an "attempted" robbery scene once no blood has been shed and the "fingerprint expert" is almost never in the station or available to check a crime scene for prints. Also no police eh studying to climb up nowhere to check for prints.

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 10:36 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Forensic investigations are hardly ever done at an "attempted" robbery scene once no blood has been shed and the "fingerprint expert" is almost never in the station or available to check a crime scene for prints. Also no police eh studying to climb up nowhere to check for prints.

Climb where, I wouldn't exect them too but d man was bareback on meh roof and drop he knife so I doubt he wipe down he knife with his none existent t shirt... I'm also pretty sure that he is a repeat offender so the knife could have possibly gave prints and I didn't touch it they found it where he dropped it.

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 10:46 am

lola.308 wrote:excuse me if this is a not so smart question but I love watching cold case files (the documentary ones) and they have a CODIS database. Do we have one? and how many finger print experts are there in Trinidad and Tobago? And hustla as you mentioned that the finger print experts are never available to check a crime scene, I thought the CSI or detectives collect the evidence and then provide the finger print experts with whatever object may have prints and then they process it....

Just asking

I would think that if they were carrying it away for that purpose they would you know not clasp it by the handle with their bare hands also I dunno if we have a database like CODIS but you have to be taking fingerprints for a reason and if not too assist in later case then why bother at all??

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2011, 10:57 am

nemesis did you give a statement? Most likely that knife will be tossed aside in a draw somewhere.

Lola, there are many databases that the police have, just not everything they do they run and tell to the media. Also no CSI coming out for an attempted robbery so whoever constable visit the scene would take a report and submit it for the finger printer to follow up. Last time I saw a robbery scene being processed the officers gathered their evidence and another came hours after and took prints, nobody was allowed to enter the area to contaminate with their prints.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2011, 10:59 am

Also SAUTT eh responding to no petty attempted break-in, they are for serious crimes investigations and gang activity

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 11:01 am

What is the point calling the police if I ain't going to give them a statement

The person who was actually robbed didn't give a statement and it's easy to guess why...
Last edited by nemisis on August 27th, 2011, 11:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 11:04 am

lola.308 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Lola, there are many databases that the police have

ok but they have databases with DNA and that kinda stuff? I mean, since the american popo could say they have that why can't we know what kinda technology ours working with? And he said he saw them clasp the knife by the handle... isn't that contaminating evidence? (Yeah I'm getting excited....my bad)

You can get excited it isn't a rant thread afterall

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2011, 11:08 am

lola.308 wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:Lola, there are many databases that the police have

ok but they have databases with DNA and that kinda stuff? I mean, since the american popo could say they have that why can't we know what kinda technology ours working with? And he said he saw them clasp the knife by the handle... isn't that contaminating evidence? (Yeah I'm getting excited....my bad)

I will only identify fingerprint database for now, DNA not really, we donkey years away from that for some dotish reason and yeah majority of officers don't know how to properly gather and secure evidence, secure a crime scene. Our service is 50 years behind in majority of aspects and computer technology is being introduced at snails pace, laptops for form ones are more important than our officers to fight crime.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2011, 11:12 am

nemesis, my mom was assaulted outside our home by a drunk neighbor and the dotish officers told her to come and make a statement, she went and then they told her go by a JP to get a restraining order or some sheit like that, was a few years ago. If I didn't face the possibility of getting an unnecessary charge for murder I would have cracked her skull with the rock I had in my hand, but throwing my life away for some two bit crackhead, rum soaked whore was not worth it. Gibbs has a lot to do in terms of bringing the service into current times, too bad he thinksit means naming a plan 21st Century Policing

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 11:14 am

The sad thing though is that the timing makes me feel that our home was being marked but any precaution I can think off to give me more peace of mind not legal ie taser, switch blade, you get the idea. House already burglar proofed, was day time so the dog was tied, blink vigilance is a waste vex we have a year with them on contract left.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2011, 11:21 am

I still keep my switchblade tucked, i only shed it for the SOE but untie d dog, day or night. I glad it have plenty macco on my street yes

Postby Kenjo » August 27th, 2011, 11:29 am

so he didnt walk in the path of the blink vigilance camera?cameras effective if you have multiple to cover points of entry to your yard.a break in by me about 2 years ago the finger print expert came the day after.i think these officers work only if you keep pestering them or you some woman that they feel they could get something from otherwise dont expect any follow up.you will get fed up of contacting them and then this case will die a natural death.there is a repeat offenders finger print data base so the person ideally should be matched but i think it just too much work and they will consider your case a "small case" an not bother with you.be persistent with the officers i guess

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 11:29 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I still keep my switchblade tucked, i only shed it for the SOE but untie d dog, day or night. I glad it have plenty macco on my street yes

I'm looking for the retractable batons rather not get charged for carrying a knife

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 11:34 am

Kenjo wrote:so he didnt walk in the path of the blink vigilance camera?cameras effective if you have multiple to cover points of entry to your yard.a break in by me about 2 years ago the finger print expert came the day after.i think these officers work only if you keep pestering them or you some woman that they feel they could get something from otherwise dont expect any follow up.you will get fed up of contacting them and then this case will die a natural death.there is a repeat offenders finger print data base so the person ideally should be matched but i think it just too much work and they will consider your case a "small case" an not bother with you.be persistent with the officers i guess

Yup was putting off buying the cameras until after the plans for house renovation were complete as I said house burglar proofed, has blink and a dog the b proofing is reason the robbery didn't occur only thing I missing is the cameras two armed security guards and Ian an speed dial...

Postby Kenjo » August 27th, 2011, 11:35 am

nemisis wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:I still keep my switchblade tucked, i only shed it for the SOE but untie d dog, day or night. I glad it have plenty macco on my street yes

I'm looking for the retractable batons rather not get charged for carrying a knife

i think one of my friends tried to bring in one of those batons in his skybox and it was a set of headache but i think it is possible.anywhere local sells them?

Postby nemisis » August 27th, 2011, 11:39 am

Kenjo wrote:
nemisis wrote:

i think one of my friends tried to bring in one of those batons in his skybox and it was a set of headache but i think it is possible.anywhere local sells them?

I figure skybox would be drama as for locally only place I hear is port rock trincity but I also heard only allowed to be purchased by persons in the security sector.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » August 27th, 2011, 12:04 pm

nemisis wrote:Now I came home yesterday at midday 30minutes after my little brother left. In that period of time an individual took it upon himself to jump my fence and make his way up onto the garage roof in an attempt too see if any of the upstairs windows were open or if he was monkey enough to make it to the actual open window which was no less that 16 ft away from the garage roof. My sudden arrival caused said individual to jump off the garage roof and run away. In his haste he left a nine inch knife on the walk way. Now the police reached probably half an hour after being called, mind you I live 5 minutes away from the police station with traffic. So when they arrived they picked up the knife and seized it looked around the house and drive down the street and that was that. Now when my apartment was robbed the police said that they couldn't recover and fingerprints, this time they didn't even bother to check so I'm wondering do local detectives use any of these supposed basic forensics to help in capturing individuals? I ask this because I know a very likely suspect after asking around the community and it turn out this person has a history and has been arrested before. There was also another neighbor who was robbed of his ps3 and his gas tank :| a month ago, man even make Mac and cheese before going with the stuff too but this wasn't reported because that neighbor want too find said individual walking down the street for himself before the police does...

OMFG LMAO :shock: :lol:

Postby redmanjp » August 27th, 2011, 2:48 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:
nemisis wrote:Now I came home yesterday at midday 30minutes after my little brother left. In that period of time an individual took it upon himself to jump my fence and make his way up onto the garage roof in an attempt too see if any of the upstairs windows were open or if he was monkey enough to make it to the actual open window which was no less that 16 ft away from the garage roof. My sudden arrival caused said individual to jump off the garage roof and run away. In his haste he left a nine inch knife on the walk way. Now the police reached probably half an hour after being called, mind you I live 5 minutes away from the police station with traffic. So when they arrived they picked up the knife and seized it looked around the house and drive down the street and that was that. Now when my apartment was robbed the police said that they couldn't recover and fingerprints, this time they didn't even bother to check so I'm wondering do local detectives use any of these supposed basic forensics to help in capturing individuals? I ask this because I know a very likely suspect after asking around the community and it turn out this person has a history and has been arrested before. There was also another neighbor who was robbed of his ps3 and his gas tank :| a month ago, man even make Mac and cheese before going with the stuff too but this wasn't reported because that neighbor want too find said individual walking down the street for himself before the police does...

OMFG LMAO :shock: :lol:

then he leave DNA from his saliva too but police eh business

hopefully crime should die down after the SOE so that they have more time/resources to focus on each case that does happen - take DNA prints, etc.

i find they should take the prints & DNA of all those charged under the Anti Gang Act and store it so that u can get a match even though someone not a repeat offender

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » August 27th, 2011, 3:33 pm

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 27th, 2011, 4:08 pm

^^^spammer ye be warned lol

TK!

Postby TK! » August 27th, 2011, 11:30 pm

from experience:

they break in the store. glass door, glass showcases. fingerprints everywhere ON A HARD SURFACE*.
they nvr even try to take ONE.

why? cause they firetruck lazy/stupid and "nobody get kill". if they took the prints, they would need to go to the physical binders and search. so the system does not make it easy for them.

but isn't it their JOB to catch criminals? they should go to all ends to catch ppl who stole over 100,000 worth of goods!

*the HARD SURFACE explanation:
they often use the excuse that a print on a soft surface cant be lifted. i guess all that CSI sheit we see on tv is hollywood magic?

psykomorf

Postby psykomorf » August 28th, 2011, 9:32 am

oh yeah and where sells those batons??

Bajnath's Sports (Chaguanas, iirc) may have.

Edited for misquote, sry Nemisis.
Last edited by psykomorf on August 28th, 2011, 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nemisis » August 28th, 2011, 9:43 am

psykomorf wrote:
nemisis wrote:oh yeah and where sells those batons??

Bajnath's Sports (Chaguanas, iirc) may have.

Hey hey hey I didn't say that..