PIC and Vid of black hole eating star

sizzla89

PIC and Vid of black hole eating star

Postby sizzla89 » August 26th, 2011, 2:56 pm

SPACE scientists have released the world's first images of a black hole SWALLOWING a star.

The event took place in a galaxy 3.9 million light years away.

Experts captured the extraordinary pictures after a powerful Nasa telescope surprisingly detected intense X-ray flares there.

They were caused when the sun-like star plunged too near its galaxy's central black hole.

Black holes have a powerful gravitational pull that sucks things in and devours them.

The researchers were led by Professor David Burrows of Pennsylvania State University, US.

He told scientific journal Nature: "Incredibly, this source is still producing X-rays.

"It behaves unlike anything we have ever seen before."

See Video of it happening below

Sorry guys i dont know how to embed videos that are not youtube.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/ne ... g-star.htm

aidan

Re: PIC and Vid of black hole eating star

Postby aidan » August 26th, 2011, 3:10 pm

that real bad!!just goes to show how awesome out there is and how much we still don't know or can comprehend

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2011, 3:13 pm

of course if it took place in a galaxy 3.9 million light years away and we are now seeing it, it means this event took place 3.9 million years ago

so even if we could shoot across there right now everything will be long gone

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 26th, 2011, 4:07 pm

these things are so awesome!!!!!!

Postby r3iXmann » August 26th, 2011, 4:14 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:of course if it took place in a galaxy 3.9 million light years away and we are now seeing it, it means this event took place 3.9 million years ago

wat? :|

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2011, 4:21 pm

vid nuh dey jed....

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2011, 4:24 pm

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 26th, 2011, 4:29 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:of course if it took place in a galaxy 3.9 million light years away and we are now seeing it, it means this event took place 3.9 million years ago

wat? :|

http://science.howstuffworks.com/dictio ... tion94.htm

Postby shogun » August 26th, 2011, 5:15 pm

Awesomeness!

Postby Mark! » August 26th, 2011, 5:17 pm

indeed, so we are in fact lookin into the past. But if u were to go there, and look over here will we be able to see the future? Somebody call philosoraptor

Postby rollingstock » August 26th, 2011, 5:58 pm

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 6:07 pm

Bodow. That real?? :oops:
Amazing !!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2011, 6:11 pm

Mark! wrote:

indeed, so we are in fact lookin into the past. But if u were to go there, and look over here will we be able to see the future? Somebody call philosoraptor
the future? lol no

in fact if someone was over there RIGHT NOW looking at the earth through a telescope, they would be seeing the earth was it was 3.9 million years ago. If their telescope was capable of seeing the surface of the earth and its inhabitance there would be no humans for them to look at since humans only appeared on earth about 200,000 years ago, reaching full behavioral modernity around 50,000 years ago.

So they could be looking at the earth right now and not seeing any "intelligent life" at all.

technically if you could go to a place in space right now that is around 2000 light years away and you could look back at earth you'd be able to see the earth at the time of Jesus. Time it correctly and you'd be able to see the events of his life unfold before you. This is not time travel, it is just that light travels at a certain speed and so takes time to reach a location.

Of course for that experiment to work, we would need to find a way to travel through space at a speed of at least 2000 light years per hour, if you wanted to get there in an hour.

Postby Bizzare » August 26th, 2011, 6:15 pm

WAIT WAIT WAIT.......I seeing that time travel in the past is possible :D
OAAARRR!!!
Thinking about it rel mind boggling.

Edit: Mot exactly travelling back to the past, but viewing earth at a location where its reflection hasn't reached as yet. Impossible, seeing that light is faster than anything else.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 26th, 2011, 6:42 pm

Mark! wrote:

the future? lol no

in fact if someone was over there RIGHT NOW looking at the earth through a telescope, they would be seeing the earth was it was 3.9 million years ago. If their telescope was capable of seeing the surface of the earth and its inhabitance there would be no humans for them to look at since humans only appeared on earth about 200,000 years ago, reaching full behavioral modernity around 50,000 years ago.

So they could be looking at the earth right now and not seeing any "intelligent life" at all.

technically if you could go to a place in space right now that is around 2000 light years away and you could look back at earth you'd be able to see the earth at the time of Jesus. Time it correctly and you'd be able to see the events of his life unfold before you. This is not time travel, it is just that light travels at a certain speed and so takes time to reach a location.

Of course for that experiment to work, we would need to find a way to travel through space at a speed of at least 2000 light years per hour, if you wanted to get there in an hour.

agreed......except for the Jesus part :lol:

axxed25

Postby axxed25 » August 26th, 2011, 6:49 pm

OM NOM NOM...!

gencon

Postby gencon » August 26th, 2011, 7:25 pm

Postby sliderz1 » August 26th, 2011, 7:31 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Of course for that experiment to work, we would need to find a way to travel through space at a speed of at least 2000 light years per hour, if you wanted to get there in an hour.

not gonna happen any time soon

devrat

Postby devrat » August 26th, 2011, 8:03 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Of course for that experiment to work, we would need to find a way to travel through space at a speed of at least 2000 light years per hour, if you wanted to get there in an hour.

not gonna happen any time soon

Oh??? I beg to differ.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 26th, 2011, 8:09 pm

Bizzare wrote:

Bodow. That real?? :oops:
Amazing !!

The video isn't real. (Not trusting any Sun publications).
Its a simulation of what it would look like developed by NASA.
According to the PBS article, the detection of X-ray flares suggests that a black hole may have devoured parts of a star. This is the first time such X ray flares are detected, and is possibly the first time they believe they're observing the onset of a black hole devouring parts of a star. Also, something like this would take more than 25 seconds, I'm sure.

Also the PBS article said the detections occurred 4.5 billion light years away. Hence the black hole devoured the star at least 4.5 billion years ago.

Astronomy tends to be quite a humbling subject.

Postby stev » August 26th, 2011, 10:40 pm

cool but nahhhh.... i agree wit silent riot :|

dva2

Postby dva2 » August 26th, 2011, 10:51 pm

coool---aid...

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 1:49 am

Lets see if I remember this correctly..

Imagine standing on a train travelling at the speed of light. If you were to walk forward on that train, technically speaking you would exceed the speed of light, which as we know is impossible.. So in such a scenario, to not break the laws of Physics, time must slow down to compensate..

See, time travel is possible! :mrgreen:

snowman

Postby snowman » August 27th, 2011, 2:27 am

That was cool.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » August 27th, 2011, 5:09 am

cacasplat3 wrote:
Mark! wrote:

the future? lol no

agreed......except for the Jesus part :lol:

just by reading this I felt like if I was watching "The Universe" on history channel, makes a lot of sense when you think about it

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 27th, 2011, 6:13 am

3stagevtec wrote:Lets see if I remember this correctly..

Imagine standing on a train travelling at the speed of light. If you were to walk forward on that train, technically speaking you would exceed the speed of light, which as we know is impossible.. So in such a scenario, to not break the laws of Physics, time must slow down to compensate..

Another cool idea is if someone travels at near the speed of light away from the Earth and back, they would have aged differently relative to those on Earth!

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » August 27th, 2011, 6:36 am

black holes are real lurkers/predators....

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » August 27th, 2011, 7:30 am

You really think you would be able to survive at that speed? Imagine how much force is being exerted on your body at that speed and tell me if you would be able to walk forward

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 9:12 am

phreakazoid wrote:

You really think you would be able to survive at that speed? Imagine how much force is being exerted on your body at that speed and tell me if you would be able to walk forward

That depends largely on acceleration.. Remember

Force = Mass x Acceleration

Accelerate at a reasonable enough pace and it is theoretically possible to reach 99.999% the speed of light with no ill effects.

To further make this possible, you need to exclude factors like wind resistance etc.. i.e. it must be done in space. Imagine the wind resistance of an object with a large mass moving close to the speed of light! would be epic.

Think of it as being on a plane travelling at 500km/h. Quite comfortable...
Top fuel dragsters can also do 500km/h quite easily, but that as you know is a different story..

Postby 3stagevtec » August 27th, 2011, 9:28 am

silent_riot wrote:

Another cool idea is if someone travels at near the speed of light away from the Earth and back, they would have aged differently relative to those on Earth!

Time moves slower near a gravitating body.. That's why they have to slow down the clocks on satellites so the GPS systems can properly function..