Why is Honey so expensive?

Postby Habit7 » August 24th, 2011, 9:51 pm

Wanted to try some new recipes (lock down has us doing new things), one that needed some honey. I ask the girl in Tru Valu the price and with the biggest grin she says $59.99 for a 250ml and $159.99 for a 750ml bottle :shock: Has honey stopped coming out the bee's a$$ and now coming out of their breast that would warrant such an increase in price?

Re: Why is Honey so expensive?

Postby foss » August 24th, 2011, 9:53 pm

ask Pooh Bear.

Postby Bizzare » August 24th, 2011, 9:57 pm

Cuz it sweet....

nightcrawler

Postby nightcrawler » August 24th, 2011, 9:57 pm

it have a bee hive in d estate by me. cum see if u can get without a few hundred stings in ur amateur a$$, dats y honey so expensive.

on a serious note if u tink u can retrieve the honey pm me and it all urs

Postby Bizzare » August 24th, 2011, 10:01 pm

Anything I call honey is expensive :(

Postby sliderz1 » August 24th, 2011, 10:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:Wanted to try some new recipes (lock down has us doing new things), one that needed some honey. I ask the girl in Tru Valu the price and with the biggest grin she says $59.99 for a 250ml and $159.99 for a 750ml bottle :shock: Has honey stopped coming out the bee's a$$ and now coming out of their breast that would warrant such an increase in price?

dats your problem.................u need to go roadside preferably in da countryside

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » August 24th, 2011, 10:38 pm

poor dude thinks honey comes from a bee's a$$...

Postby nemisis » August 24th, 2011, 10:42 pm

sliderz1 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Wanted to try some new recipes (lock down has us doing new things), one that needed some honey. I ask the girl in Tru Valu the price and with the biggest grin she says $59.99 for a 250ml and $159.99 for a 750ml bottle :shock: Has honey stopped coming out the bee's a$$ and now coming out of their breast that would warrant such an increase in price?

dats your problem.................u need to go roadside preferably in da countryside

For real if you buying in tru value pay d people price and stop b!tching. Only way you can say buying that in the grocery made sense is if you were desperate and if that was the case consider the price desperation tax. BTW what were you going to make??

Postby skylinechild » August 24th, 2011, 10:57 pm

i got another problem...

if Y= MX+C and E= MC squared.......what is X.....

once x has been determined we can then continue further development of the hyper drive technology so we wont have to wait till 2086 when 2 peaceful aliens journey to earth seeking our help.......

Postby sliderz1 » August 24th, 2011, 11:16 pm

skylinechild wrote:i got another problem...

once x has been determined we can then continue further development of the hyper drive technology so we wont have to wait till 2086 when 2 peaceful aliens journey to earth seeking our help.......

x is a variable to which y is depen................wait wut ?? :| :|

Goolie

Postby Goolie » August 24th, 2011, 11:20 pm

:wtf:

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » August 24th, 2011, 11:21 pm

Steups ....I thought dis thread was bout Villa Capri

gencon

Postby gencon » August 24th, 2011, 11:34 pm

I thought this was common knowledge, I was aware of the declining population over 4 years now. We as a species are in serious trouble, the third and fourth videos really bring home the point. You all need to "wake and smell the coffee" so to speak minus the honey of course. Of course climate change isn't helping, the bread baskets of the world are being threatened.

Postby gt4tified » August 25th, 2011, 2:09 am

jramsarran wrote:poor dude thinks honey comes from a bee's a$$...

was thinking same thing. :lol:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 25th, 2011, 3:50 am

Goolie wrote:

:wtf:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 25th, 2011, 4:43 am

buy from the suppliers.....those guys that have beehives ususally bottle their honey and sell....

have a friend whose father has hives...they located in grande though...

can hook u up if u want....

Postby RBphoto » August 25th, 2011, 5:07 am

D bees on strike.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 25th, 2011, 5:33 am

the soe cause dat!!!! night bees can't go out to do what they do......

Postby eliteauto » August 25th, 2011, 6:33 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:buy from the suppliers.....those guys that have beehives ususally bottle their honey and sell....

he might still find $120 for 750ml expensive

Postby turbosingh » August 25th, 2011, 6:41 am

Bizzare wrote:Anything I call honey is expensive :(

Well start calling them Salty :lol: :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 25th, 2011, 6:44 am

eliteauto wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:buy from the suppliers.....those guys that have beehives ususally bottle their honey and sell....

he might still find $120 for 750ml expensive

Yuh trying tuh say the op izza cheap man oorr??

netsket

Postby netsket » August 25th, 2011, 6:49 am

u must have money to get the honey

Postby cinco » August 25th, 2011, 6:49 am

hmm bee bress

yuh ever had a gf? now yuh know why honey expensive

bugsy rabbit

Postby bugsy rabbit » August 25th, 2011, 7:07 am

1st thing all beekeeping equipment have to be new no FU equipment, this is done to protect the local industry from pest and disease. T&T honey is rated among the best in the world (one keeper in Maracas Valley have letter from Queen Eliz and thing).
After all this take into consideration that honey is havested once a year by most, can't starve the bees during the rainy season, after all that's their food we take.
ps honey is fermented bee vomit

Postby S_2NR » August 25th, 2011, 7:51 am

crossdrilled wrote:D bees on strike.

OOOGOODDDD..

*grabs bb*
*sends broadcast*

STOCK UP ON HONEY!!

Postby Rainman » August 25th, 2011, 7:55 am

What do they call winnie the pooh's grandmother

Pooh-Nanny :|

*crickets*

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 25th, 2011, 7:58 am

OMG HONEY SHORTAGE!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 25th, 2011, 8:19 am

sliderz1 wrote:

you expect to go tru value and get cheap honey,steupseeeee,go in the country and ud get the same amt for 20$ less.up grande side or cumuto side.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » August 25th, 2011, 8:20 am

Rainman wrote:What do they call winnie the pooh's grandmother

Pooh-Nanny :|

*crickets*

:| :| :lol: :|

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 25th, 2011, 8:22 am

Sabriel wrote:

Substitute with glucose-fructose syrup , if you can't afford the honey...simple. :|

I've used substitutions from here with decent outcome. There are a couple options for honey.
http://www.joyofbaking.com/IngredientSubstitution.html