Tax Laws, some insight please

TheOne

Tax Laws, some insight please

Postby TheOne » August 18th, 2011, 1:17 pm

What are the Tax laws of Trinidad and Tobago regarding:

Your not working in Trinidad, your not being paid out of Trinidad but your salary comes into a Trinidad bank account.

Are you still required to pay taxes?

Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Tax Laws, some insight please

Postby pete » August 18th, 2011, 1:55 pm

Are you paying taxes in the country you're working in?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 18th, 2011, 2:06 pm

We have some double taxation treaties which ensures you do not pay taxes twice. However you either pay taxes in one country or the other. It depends on which foreign country you talking about though.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » August 18th, 2011, 2:12 pm

Correct, it all depends on if you are already paying taxes in the country you are working in.

TheOne

Postby TheOne » August 18th, 2011, 2:28 pm

Ok good, just as I suspected...I appreciate the advice.. Thanks dudes....

TheOne

Postby TheOne » August 18th, 2011, 2:32 pm

I was given an uplift in my day rate so necessary taxes abroad would not affect my actual rate, so I guess I am all clear in Trinidad.. woopie doo!

Postby ronsin1 » August 18th, 2011, 3:01 pm

Tax questions again

Dutty_S

Postby Dutty_S » September 15th, 2011, 12:24 pm

so here this.

other than going to a tax lawyer/accountant, how could one find out if he has to pay taxes ?

anyone has any sort of documentation they willing to share/advice ? (can pm meh the .doc if u do...or post link here)

for example, according to the double taxation treaty between the US and TT if you pay taxes in US, you don't pay here, but what about for other countries, like if i working Angola or in the Caspian?

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » September 15th, 2011, 1:07 pm

Dutty_S wrote:so here this.

other than going to a tax lawyer/accountant, how could one find out if he has to pay taxes ?

anyone has any sort of documentation they willing to share/advice ? (can pm meh the .doc if u do...or post link here)

for example, according to the double taxation treaty between the US and TT if you pay taxes in US, you don't pay here, but what about for other countries, like if i working Angola or in the Caspian?

Go to the Board of Inland Revenue Website at www.ird.gov.tt. Under the section Document Centre, you will find the T&T Tax Legislation as well as all the Double Taxation Treaties.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » September 15th, 2011, 1:28 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:We have some double taxation treaties which ensures you do not pay taxes twice. However you either pay taxes in one country or the other. It depends on which foreign country you talking about though.

THIS is CORRECT!

Postby Country_Bookie » September 15th, 2011, 4:37 pm

TheOne wrote:I was given an uplift in my day rate so necessary taxes abroad would not affect my actual rate, so I guess I am all clear in Trinidad.. woopie doo!

Could you explain this? Do u mean that ur already paying taxes abroad in a jurisdiction with which we have a double taxation treaty?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 15th, 2011, 6:02 pm

TheOne wrote:What are the Tax laws of Trinidad and Tobago regarding:

Your not working in Trinidad, your not being paid out of Trinidad but your salary comes into a Trinidad bank account.

Are you still required to pay taxes?

Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Hear what T when you get back check me and we will head down IRD and talk to somebody.My situation slightly different to yours as you know but I just doh want to end up breaking the law and claim ignorance,prefer to do the right thing from the onset.