Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

trevoratt

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby trevoratt » January 2nd, 2012, 12:37 am

great info guys. been looking for local info on hydroponics.
Tracmac is ok but not much help from local agro shops. Any suggestions for good hydroponics supplier in south?
Been using 7-11-27 from tracmac for lettuce but i keep hearing people talking about using blaukorn ( I dont think that has the trace elements). Any Advice?
Also looking for some cheap pump to try an aquaculture setup.

Postby rfari » January 2nd, 2012, 1:04 am

trevoratt wrote:great info guys. been looking for local info on hydroponics.
Tracmac is ok but not much help from local agro shops. Any suggestions for good hydroponics supplier in south?
Been using 7-11-27 from tracmac for lettuce but i keep hearing people talking about using blaukorn ( I dont think that has the trace elements). Any Advice?
Also looking for some cheap pump to try an aquaculture setup.

Tracmac is the only supplier of hydro nutes closest to south that I know of and one of two I know of in tnt (other supplier in aranquez/el socorro). Not familiar with the blaukorn but shakes would definitely be able to help you with that info.
Any general idea on how ur aqua setup would be? Depending on ur size, best bet would be mausica fish farm or fishy bizniz in dinsley for reasonably priced sumps. U have ur ph/ec meters?

trevoratt

Postby trevoratt » January 2nd, 2012, 2:53 am

thank for the info
Blaukorn, aka blucorn is the blu npk stuff sold in agro shops but its for soil media.
got some recipes for nutes online so i might order my meters online and mix up my own grow juice if i decide to. My chemistry skills aren't too bad.

Backyard aquaponics http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/ has a lot a great free info
Will check around for the pump still, Is "Little giant" a good brand?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 2nd, 2012, 8:59 am

Blaukorn is probably the best plant their is..it is used just after the plant begins flowering to ensure a healthy fruit is the outcome.it is not normally used for setting plants and on young plants because it may burn the plant..
Blaukorn breaks down quickly once in contact with moisture.it contains ammonium and nitrate which are the two most available nitrogen forms for fast response at low temperatures.It also contains important secondary plant nutrients such as boron,iron,zinc,magnesium..

Postby rfari » January 2nd, 2012, 12:08 pm

Heard about the gentle giant pumps. I think its more a high end brand so u will jump out extra for it. U buying local? is the blaukorn 100% soluble?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 2nd, 2012, 12:16 pm

as far as I know,yes it is...as long as water takes it...it's only a matter of minutes before it breaks down..

trevoratt

Postby trevoratt » January 2nd, 2012, 8:18 pm

would like to try the blaukorn but as shake d livin wake d dead said it might not be good for setting plants. I think there would probably be a low concentration mix to use for a hydroponics..need a solution design for growing lettuce in DWC?
Locally i saw the pump at peakes and a couple places in south.
Saw Resun fountain pumps and some ecoplus pumps online. Any experience wth the eco plus pumps? I can get a resun king 3a 1000l/h for about 300. are these any good?

Postby rfari » January 2nd, 2012, 9:45 pm

depending on the size of ur reservoir i can provide u with the nutes. let me know. how many heads of lettuce u catering for?

i have 3 resun pumps in service now and no problems so far. just make sure that u have a surge suppressor and that you dont dry run the pumps and you will be ok.

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2012, 9:49 pm

got me my aquarium :)
36 x 18 x 18
just need some time to start on it :)

Postby Chimera » January 2nd, 2012, 11:09 pm

what is the cheapest way to build a above ground pond?

1 foot tall, 12 feet wide by 36 feet long?

Postby rfari » January 3rd, 2012, 9:54 am

hmmm. only thing that comes to mind is to make it out of wood and build a steel cage out of 3/8" steel to support the walls. then line the inside with the thick black plastic sheets.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 3rd, 2012, 9:57 am

fiberglass comes to mind aba

Postby Ted_v2 » January 3rd, 2012, 10:09 am

check this

i need a -

container
air stone
pump
lighting device
(something to ventilate the area)
and cups and foam for making the surface? and i orn like socks?

oh and the plants

want to try to grow seasoning Or other herbs

Postby Ted_v2 » January 3rd, 2012, 10:12 am

GROWING MEDIUM
HYDROPONIC FERTILIZER

gimme some examples of what these are exactly?

Postby rfari » January 3rd, 2012, 10:42 am

sound boy 64 wrote:check this

i need a -

container
air stone
pump
lighting device

oh and the plants

questions. is it herbs or 'herbs'? what size system you looking at? and does it have to be indoors?

sound boy 64 wrote:GROWING MEDIUM
HYDROPONIC FERTILIZER

http://www.simplyhydro.com/growing1.htm

Postby AllTrac » January 3rd, 2012, 10:54 am

really REALLY gonna get this off the ground this year

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 3rd, 2012, 11:48 am

rfari wrote:

i need a -

container
air stone
pump
lighting device

oh and the plants

questions. is it herbs or 'herbs'? what size system you looking at? and does it have to be indoors?

HYDROPONIC FERTILIZER

you do not need them big named fertilizers for a small project like this..as long as the soil is good basic nutrients/plant food can be used..my experience with seasoning:

did it using a "gro box" system. used sharp sand at the bottom,with some top soil mixed with pro mix...afterwards I treated each plant with rhizolex (dredging the roots) and it was smooth sailing afterwards...simple nutes like miracle gro and blaukorn (MUST) can be used for a small project..

first thing is get the Mcdonalds planting guide for 2012 and see when is the best time to start planting...

Postby MG Man » January 3rd, 2012, 11:59 am

that Macdonald's almanac really works?
My dad swears by this..........maybe that's why I tend to kill plants...

Postby Chimera » January 3rd, 2012, 12:37 pm

old macdonald..he had a farm...

Postby rfari » January 3rd, 2012, 2:15 pm

MG Man wrote:that Macdonald's almanac really works?

Shakes is the best person to answer that. All I know is that it based on tide and moon and season and some other witchcraft. :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 3rd, 2012, 3:09 pm

MG Man wrote:that Macdonald's almanac really works?

It does work...trust me...it explains everything in detail...when to plant.soft wood,medium or hard wood plants,when to plant vegetables above the ground and those below...when the moon is right and when it's not...it's an astrological thing but very effective...

you could try this...monday coming is full moon right...expect rainfall for sure..it does not have to be throughout the entire country but it will fall in abundance in most places..also try trimming some plants,or cutting grass 3 days before the moon,and you would see how fast it would grow back..best time to cut grass and most people don't know it,is during the last 1/4 or dark night...it would take longest to grow back...

the book is only $20 so it aint bussing ur pocket :lol:

Postby rfari » January 3rd, 2012, 6:02 pm

that sound like witchcraft dan :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Postby Ted_v2 » January 3rd, 2012, 6:35 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
rfari wrote:

i need a -

container
air stone
pump
lighting device

oh and the plants

HYDROPONIC FERTILIZER

you do not need them big named fertilizers for a small project like this..as long as the soil is good basic nutrients/plant food can be used..my experience with seasoning:

did it using a "gro box" system. used sharp sand at the bottom,with some top soil mixed with pro mix...afterwards I treated each plant with rhizolex (dredging the roots) and it was smooth sailing afterwards...simple nutes like miracle gro and blaukorn (MUST) can be used for a small project..

first thing is get the Mcdonalds planting guide for 2012 and see when is the best time to start planting...

Is seasoning dan "herbs"
indoors

going out now will read that article rfari posted and comment back

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 3rd, 2012, 9:46 pm

gonna plant some in these for the wknd..it is known as a tangelo tree.the fruit is very hard to find in local markets but it's worth it when you get it...

just imagine a fruit that is shaped like a lemon,developed like an orange on the inside and is pink like pink marsh and is sweeter than anything thing you have eaten.. 8-) only have a few trees in meh land so I putting down some more..
images.jpg
images.jpg (7.24 KiB) Viewed 4499 times
100_0694.JPG
100_0693.JPG

Postby rfari » January 4th, 2012, 12:16 am

Interesting stuff there. Never heard about that fruit but it sounds exciting! How long does it take to mature?

Bought a bag of the blaukorn and some fungicide. Apparently the new shoots on the celery are diseased (stalks look healthy but leaves dried up).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2012, 12:36 am

takes 2 1/2 -3 yrs to mature..
as for the celery are the leaves looking like this? prolly an early blight..
26_Celery_Early.jpg
26_Celery_Early.jpg (11.12 KiB) Viewed 4492 times

Postby rfari » January 4th, 2012, 12:58 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:takes 2 1/2 -3 yrs to mature..

That's it right thurr. The young leaves coming up look like that and the mature leaves on the stalk are completely dried. Where does it come from? How can I prevent it in the future? Is the any way to treat it using household formulas? Using vacomil plus 50. Agri dude said that will take care of my problem.

Postby MG Man » January 4th, 2012, 10:59 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:monday coming is full moon right...expect rainfall for sure..it does not have to be throughout the entire country but it will fall in abundance in most places..:

I tired hearin that one...........always fails........keeping in mind we have a rainy season from June to December, so odds will always favour it.........I've been out photographing the full moon rising over mayaro a few times in 2011 and never had to deal with rainfall.......but yeah pops agres with the planting stuff in the macdonalds, and its been working for him

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2012, 12:15 pm

rfari wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:takes 2 1/2 -3 yrs to mature..

That's it right thurr. The young leaves coming up look like that and the mature leaves on the stalk are completely dried. Where does it come from? How can I prevent it in the future? Is the any way to treat it using household formulas? Using vacomil plus 50. Agri dude said that will take care of my problem.

Two fungal leaf diseases commonly affect celery in temperate North America. Cercospora early blight and Septoria late blight often weaken the leaves and petioles of celery and reduce the marketability of the crop. Bacterial leaf blight may also appear during wet growing seasons or later in the season when the crop gets larger. It is incited by Pseudomonas syringae pv apii. Although these diseases may not affect overall yield every year, symptoms on leaves and petioles can add considerable time and effort to harvesting and trimming operations.

Celery leaf blights need to be correctly identified early in the infection cycle for control measures to be successful. In the future, forecasting models may improve the management of these diseases by providing early warning of disease infection periods.

Management of celery leaf blights depends upon regular and consistent field monitoring, weather monitoring, cultural controls, field selection, variety selection and properly timed fungicide applications at threshold levels.

For the fungal leaf blights, the environmental conditions for disease development are reasonably well understood. In the future, disease-forecasting models - forecasting in advance the potential for disease development and the risk to the crop - may be available. This will greatly improve the control of these diseases. In addition, future varieties of celery may be tolerant or resistant to one or more of these leaf blights.

this was a lil something I found in a book...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 4th, 2012, 12:57 pm

Seeing that some of you all going into seasoning ..this is a little something I work with...classified info eh... :lol:

ASSUMPTIONS:
Recommended area for planting (ha) 0.2
Time of planting Year Round
Method of Propagation Seedlings
Spacing (double rows) 90cm x 25cm
Time to maturity 2 Months
Crop duration 12-16 Weeks
Soil type Medium Loam with pH 5.8 - 6.8
Plant life 2 Years
Size of beds 1m x 4m
No. of beds 430
No. of plants per bed 36
Total population of plants 15,480
Mortality 5%
Surviving plants 14,706
No. of small bundles per plant 4
Yield per year (bundles) 58,824
Post harvest loss 10%
Marketable yield per year ( small bundles) 52,942
Yield - Large bundles 2,647
Market Price/ Large bundle $26.10
Labour / man day $200

NOTES :
1. Adjust land preparation activities and costs depending on the existing status of the land.
2. Use of synthetic agrochemicals should be avoided. If necessary, use natural plant based chemicals
3. Exercise caution in the use of all agro chemicals. Follow the manufacturer's recommendations at all times.
4. Protective clothing should be worn at all times when handling agro chemicals.
5. If using seeds -soak them for 24 hours before sowing to hasten germination. Transplant after 6 weeks.
6. Water immediately after transplanting. Plants thrive best in moist soils.
7. Seedlings are sold - Tray of 128 plants for $45.00
8. If cultivating in the field, a soil analysis should be done to determine the characteristics of the soil and the nutrient
requirement.
9. Allocation for agrochemicals has been estimated because of the variety of chemicals which may be used.

MAIN VARIETIES
Toyota Hybrid, Pascal Hybrid
Green Giant

MAJOR PESTS SOLUTION
Thrips, Leaf Miner Fastac
Leaf eating caterpillars Ambush 50E
Mole cricket, grasshoppers Cascade

MAJOR DISEASES SOLUTION
Southern Blight Rizolex, Proper drainage and deep ploughing
Downy Mildew Dithane M45
Damping Off (Mainly in seedlings) Ridomil 2E
Late Blight Tri Miltox Forte, Maneb, Daconil