Need info urgently: Frigidaire vs Whirlpool refrigerator

chit8238

Need info urgently: Frigidaire vs Whirlpool refrigerator

Postby chit8238 » August 14th, 2011, 9:45 pm

Hello guys:

I need info urgently. Tomorrow morning I am going to purchase a fridge-26 cubic foot, ice dispenser etc. I saw a nice Frigidaire 26 cubic foot for $10,500 and a 25 cubic foot Whirlpool for $12,000. I know the Whirlpool is better. But is it that much better that I should spend $1,500 more for it considering it is a bit smaller. Do Frigidaire fridges give trouble? I am not interested in French door and bottom freezer models for personal reasons. I have narrowed it down to these two. Can I get some opinions based on experience?

Thanks guys! I always appreciate your opinions and value them highly.
Last edited by chit8238 on August 14th, 2011, 10:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Need info urgently: Frigidaire vs Whirlpool refrigerator

Postby ronsin1 » August 14th, 2011, 9:47 pm

and who says the whirlpool is better for you information both come from the same factory

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » August 14th, 2011, 11:00 pm

I think Frigidaire/Electrolux makes Frigidaire and Whirlpool makes Whirlpool. Whirlpool took over and manufactures many brands like Kenmore and Maytag but not Frigidaire which is independent of Whirlpool.

Do you think they are basically the same? Thanks.

Postby eliteauto » August 14th, 2011, 11:45 pm

same khaki pants really, both have parts available from Consol/Parts World etc, i have a Frigidaire with absolutely no regrets or complaints

Postby shogun » August 14th, 2011, 11:48 pm

go with one that fits your needs the best...more storage space, crisper features, outside features, upper/lower freezer, french doors, etc. Honestly, they are both good. Choose based on your needs, finances, and what kind of a deal you can get.

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » August 15th, 2011, 12:37 am

Thanks for the advice so far.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 15th, 2011, 2:21 am

whirlpool is known for reliability...its the best on the market......

sassi

Postby sassi » August 15th, 2011, 7:38 am

5 years ago i asked this exact same questionon on both these exact same brand and size of fridges. I choose the fridgdaire. There's much more room in the frigidaire. I paid $9,500.at that time, never once had any problems with it. would be a good buy.

Postby Team Loco » August 15th, 2011, 7:41 am

frigidaire. it all boils down to parts availability. its like comparing an nze rolla and an almera. both fall in the same category and they are both pretty good. i have a whirlpool fridge and a frigidaire dishwasher. the dishwasher is 5 yrs old with not a single issue. the whirlpool has started to rust under 4 yrs old. frigidaire seems to be ok. btw, admiral and whirlpool are hte same

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » August 15th, 2011, 9:15 am

Thanks Tuners!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 15th, 2011, 9:17 am

whirlpool ftw.

20inchstrong

Postby 20inchstrong » August 15th, 2011, 11:50 am

Whirlpool dude...

From experience......I dont know about Fridgidaire now but years ago, I had issues with that brand until I just stopped buying it. Whirlpool works great for me!

Then again, it's just like your car, It's how you use it and how you maintain it that matters. Most important is really parts availability 0X
Last edited by 20inchstrong on August 15th, 2011, 11:55 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby r3iXmann » August 15th, 2011, 11:52 am

frigidaire ftw

Postby noshownogo » August 15th, 2011, 11:58 am

I recently bought an entire line of Whirlpool large appliances from PWL mainly because they have people and parts to service what they sell.

Postby K74T » August 15th, 2011, 12:02 pm

Frigidaire

Postby ronsin1 » August 15th, 2011, 12:08 pm

noshownogo wrote:I recently bought an entire line of Whirlpool large appliances from PWL mainly because they have people and parts to service what they sell.

good thing about PWL is that their Technicians are very knowledgeable and you don't get the run around like other companies

Point to note Frigidaire authorized service center is Courts.

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » August 15th, 2011, 12:52 pm

3 years now I looking for a front glass and handle for my whirlpool stove and PWL still can't get it.

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » August 16th, 2011, 9:21 am

An update guys. My "fridgeman" said that the new Frigidaires are holding up well. He also said that the parts have come down in price and are a lot cheaper than Whirlpool. When I spoke to him, he was in a parts place in Petersfield-Kennedy's I think was thename of the place. The guy there gave him an example. He said a "board" (I think!) was over $1000 for the Whirlpool and $500-$600 for the Frigidaire. I took the Frigidaire yesterday and it is a fine looking and working fridge.
Thanks again guys!

Postby SR » August 16th, 2011, 10:12 am

i have 3 frigidaire's
one bought locally goin on almost 15 years
presently replacing the compressor on the 15 year old unit as it has started to make noise
have replaced the fan unit twice in its lifetime thus far

no issues otherwise

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2011, 4:11 pm

better hope you can get the exact original compressor
all the modern ones are underpowered with all the epa crap they try to follow

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 16th, 2011, 4:13 pm

so which one u got bro?

Postby crazybalhead » August 16th, 2011, 4:14 pm

From what I understand, all repair people now replace with a generic brazilian compressor. My GE fridge died after ten years and had to replace the compressor a couple year ago.

Maybe someone else can chime in.

Postby ronsin1 » August 16th, 2011, 4:16 pm

crazybalhead wrote:From what I understand, all repair people now replace with a generic brazilian compressor. My GE fridge died after ten years and had to replace the compressor a couple year ago.

Maybe someone else can chime in.

Chime

Postby crazybalhead » August 16th, 2011, 4:18 pm

Steups. :lol:

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » August 16th, 2011, 4:30 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:so which one u got bro?

I got the Frigidaire. See my post above. And thanks for the input.

Postby ronsin1 » August 16th, 2011, 9:43 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Steups. :lol:

actually I don't like repairs by just changing the one part the is burnt out or has problems I prefer troubleshoot and change all accessory parts as well this was I can guarantee work because at the end of the day something would have caused that part to go bad.

Normally that is why my prices are higher than everybody else

Postby sliderz1 » August 16th, 2011, 11:21 pm

pugboy wrote:better hope you can get the exact original compressor
all the modern ones are underpowered with all the epa crap they try to follow

there are a lot of refrigeration compressors out there,.......trust mih i know
once the hp / btuh matches...............it'll work fine