Bert & Ernie...Same sex marriage?

sizzla89

Bert & Ernie...Same sex marriage?

Postby sizzla89 » August 14th, 2011, 9:24 pm

SESAME Street producers have seen wed over a petition calling for best pals Bert and Ernie to marry.

An online poll signed by nearly 7,000 people say the characters should get hitched in a same-sex ceremony to encourage tolerance of gay people.

But senior execs on the kids' favourite will not entertain the storyline. A statement from the show's makers said: "They remain puppets and do not have a sexual orientation."

They added: "Bert and Ernie are best friends. They were created to teach pre-schoolers that people can be good friends with those who are very different from themselves."

Bert and Ernie have lived together for 40 years and sleep in single beds in the same bedroom.

The online petition says: "We are not asking that Sesame Street do anything crude or disrespectful."

But it adds: "It can be done in a tasteful way. Let us teach tolerance of those that are different."

Sesame Street was created by TV producer Joan Ganz Cooney and psychologist Lloyd Morrisett in 1969.

The show — famous for its loveable Jim Henson puppets — is still watched in more than 140 countries and averages 120 million viewers worldwide.

When i read things like this i start to believe in 2012 :?

Read story here

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/fe ... marry.html

Re: Bert & Ernie...Same sex marriage?

Postby K74T » August 14th, 2011, 9:25 pm

Postby Damien » August 14th, 2011, 9:27 pm

them 7000 people should be choked to death

civic minded

Postby civic minded » August 14th, 2011, 9:34 pm

gezz and ages - sesame street is a children show - to teach kids about counting and reading. why they need to bring sex into this?

Postby Stephon. » August 14th, 2011, 9:35 pm

I'm all for equality, but lolwut? I don't want my son seeing two male puppets getting married @ 3. There's a difference in fighting for equality, and being an inappropriate homo.

Postby Bizzare » August 14th, 2011, 9:40 pm

Stephon. wrote:I'm all for equality, but lolwut? I don't want my son seeing two male puppets getting married @ 3. There's a difference in fighting for homos, and being an inappropriate homo.

There is? Please share.....

Postby DFC » August 14th, 2011, 9:43 pm

We are all Homo's...

Homosapien that is...

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2011, 10:14 pm

early indoctrination is what they are trying to do- they were trying it in a kindergarten school also

http://www.apostolicnews.org/2011/01/vallejo-kindergarten-class-teaches-gay-marriage-as-nomal/

Rx

Postby Rx » August 14th, 2011, 10:19 pm

de phoq

Smokey

Postby Smokey » August 14th, 2011, 10:22 pm

dont see anything wrong with it, i always assumed bert was gay anyway.

Postby shogun » August 14th, 2011, 10:23 pm

surprised there was no petition for Big bird and Snuffleupagus' obviously "inappropriate" relationship...to finally be brought into the light.
Last edited by shogun on August 14th, 2011, 10:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Greypatch » August 14th, 2011, 10:25 pm

jim henson must be rolling in his grave

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » August 14th, 2011, 10:33 pm

Greypatch wrote:jim henson must be rolling in his grave

This...

It is really a WTMC situation...are people serious these days??? The children will suffer the most...Leaves the question if bringing a life into this mess to suffer is worth it

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2011, 10:36 pm

Smokey wrote:dont see anything wrong with it, i always assumed bert was gay anyway.

when yuh 4 year old son want to wear dresses and tell you "so daddy i cud marry boys then?" you might have second thoughts

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 14th, 2011, 10:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Smokey wrote:dont see anything wrong with it, i always assumed bert was gay anyway.

when yuh 4 year old son want to wear dresses and tell you "so daddy i cud marry boys then?" you might have second thoughts

No that means you have failed as a parent by having a tv show grow up your child. Ernie and Bert have been assumed to be gay for years now so whether they marry them or not makes no difference

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2011, 10:54 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

No that means you have failed as a parent by having a tv show grow up your child. Ernie and Bert have been assumed to be gay for years now so whether they marry them or not makes no difference

i don't think 4 year olds know that & btw 2 men cyah be room-mates? is not like they sleeping in d same bed

Postby hustla_ambition101 » August 14th, 2011, 10:56 pm

redmanjp wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

i don't think 4 year olds know that & btw 2 men cyah be room-mates? is not like they sleeping in d same bed

yeah but how much room-mates have a picture on the wall hugging :lol:

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » August 14th, 2011, 10:57 pm

civic minded wrote:gezz and ages - sesame street is a children show - to teach kids about counting and reading. why they need to bring sex into this?

this....

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2011, 12:10 am

sizzla89 wrote:[b] "Bert and Ernie are best friends. They were created to teach pre-schoolers that people can be good friends with those who are very different from themselves."

plain and simple

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 15th, 2011, 12:19 am

I honestly thought that this happened already some years ago...

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 15th, 2011, 12:32 am

gay ppl are usually child molesters....

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2011, 12:43 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:gay ppl are usually child molesters....

dude wtf?????????????????

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » August 15th, 2011, 12:49 am

these gay ppl aint go b happy untill everything have batti ting in it......jeeez!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Next 20yrs we will b protesting to have straight couples on tv.

Postby Stephon. » August 15th, 2011, 12:57 am

whyteliver wrote:these gay ppl aint go b happy untill everything have batti ting in it......jeeez!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Next 20yrs we will b protesting to have straight couples on tv.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » August 15th, 2011, 1:09 am

^^^ if your son comes to you an says dad am about to become steve's wife and your response is congrats ill give you away at the wedding....well good for you....

Postby shogun » August 15th, 2011, 1:13 am

qué?

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 15th, 2011, 1:36 am

sorrrryy if i offended anyone..will remove post...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 15th, 2011, 4:40 am

hoverauto wrote:
civic minded wrote:gezz and ages - sesame street is a children show - to teach kids about counting and reading. why they need to bring sex into this?

this....

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 15th, 2011, 8:00 am

WDMC!!!!!!!!!!!!

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » August 15th, 2011, 8:06 am

Blame America