Has anyone ever done a dyno run on both audee and prentis...

Porn Star

Has anyone ever done a dyno run on both audee and prentis...

Postby Porn Star » August 13th, 2011, 4:15 pm

Dynos to see the difference in the hp readings?

Re: Has anyone ever done a dyno run on both audee and prenti

Postby Team Loco » August 13th, 2011, 4:35 pm

nope......percieved difference?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2011, 4:45 pm

some US sites claim Dyno Dynamics reads 10-15% lower than Dynojet.
Prentice has a Dyno Dynamics and Audee has a Dynojet if I'm not mistaken

to really tell, someone would have to go on the same day with the same conditions with the same car with the same setup/tune to check the difference.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » August 13th, 2011, 5:06 pm

i've heard on numerous occasions that audees dyno figures are higher than prentice

would love to see some truth on this

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 13th, 2011, 5:50 pm

I think any difference would be due to the brand of the dyno and not the whim of the operator

stage X Performance

Postby stage X Performance » August 13th, 2011, 7:12 pm

I know personally of an rx7 that had the opposite happen to him.
He got more on dyno dynamics.
Not the point of the dyno though.
Both are great dynos and the point of tuning the car for best operation is the point.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 13th, 2011, 9:44 pm

pornie, regardless of who you use, keep in mind to stick to that dyno as 100 hp increase is 100 hp increase reagardless.
i prefer audee as he is very accomadating and doh over charge if u go over a little bit
he makes everyone feel at home and welcomed. he and his wife are a fantastic set of ppl
:D

Postby ismithx » August 13th, 2011, 9:51 pm

wait a minute, there is actually a mod named Porn Star????? :lol:

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 13th, 2011, 9:58 pm

Porny, like yuh playing the numbers game in advance of Sunday :)

But dynojets are known to read higher than Dyno dynamics. The smoothening on the dd is better too! Makes the Dyno sheet like real pretty.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » August 13th, 2011, 10:05 pm

bleh dyno overated... seat of yuh pants figures better. i hear it have a stockish sr20 who swear he running about 500 hp..
seat of yuh pants figures are better braggign rights :D

Postby black start » August 13th, 2011, 11:07 pm

wam to calibration?if these things are properly calibrated with the proper standards then this should not have been a problem.....

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » August 13th, 2011, 11:20 pm

stage X Performance wrote:I know personally of an rx7 that had the opposite happen to him.

Both are great dynos and the point of tuning the car for best operation is the point.

With a DD dyno, you can play with the correction factor and inflate the HP level very easily.. A few people have used this trick in the past to make their numbers look more impressive :lol:

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 13th, 2011, 11:42 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
stage X Performance wrote:I know personally of an rx7 that had the opposite happen to him. He got more on dyno dynamics. Not the point of the dyno though. Both are great dynos and the point of tuning the car for best operation is the point.
With a DD dyno, you can play with the correction factor and inflate the HP level very easily.. A few people have used this trick in the past to make their numbers look more impressive :lol:

ok, i guess if a guy reads 500whp but he really has 420whp he really won't know if he had 300whp before as he is just feeling alot more power than before. this is interesting.

drlancer

Postby drlancer » August 14th, 2011, 9:59 am

this is interesting, cause i witnessed a box lancer doing just over 300hp on Audie's dyno blow away a subaru that just came off prentice dno claiming to do over 400hp. this happened on the monroe drag strip earllier this year

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 14th, 2011, 11:13 am

Dynos are tools to help with tuning and also to compare baselines etc. A max hp number is simply that and is not really a good indicator of how a car will perform.

case in point the Mine's r34. its engine output was 600ps and it kicked the crap out of alot of higher max hp cars.

E/T or Laptime is what counts!

Team EVO

Postby Team EVO » August 14th, 2011, 12:07 pm

drlancer wrote:this is interesting, cause i witnessed a box lancer doing just over 300hp on Audie's dyno blow away a subaru that just came off prentice dno claiming to do over 400hp. this happened on the monroe drag strip earllier this year

Munroe drag strip...

Dragist

Postby Dragist » August 14th, 2011, 12:17 pm

Team EVO wrote:
drlancer wrote:this is interesting, cause i witnessed a box lancer doing just over 300hp on Audie's dyno blow away a subaru that just came off prentice dno claiming to do over 400hp. this happened on the monroe drag strip earllier this year

Munroe drag strip...

That's what I want to know where is that Strip ?

Team EVO

Postby Team EVO » August 14th, 2011, 12:27 pm

Dragist wrote:
Team EVO wrote:

Munroe drag strip...

That's what I want to know where is that Strip ?

Yuh eh know...is ah real secluded area! On the highway

Postby A172 » August 14th, 2011, 4:21 pm

like 666 spending the weekend by Prentice

ImamurA

Postby ImamurA » August 14th, 2011, 7:16 pm

stage X Performance wrote:I know personally of an rx7 that had the opposite happen to him.

yeah...the my car with the exact same setup ran slightly higher numbers at prentice's dyno about 2 years ago
...but the most recent trip to the dyno was different...it made more power at prentice's dyno than oddie...

W2J

Postby W2J » August 14th, 2011, 8:04 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

ctrl + x = some new part :D

Postby Monk BANzai » August 14th, 2011, 8:57 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAA

*wheez....

stage X Performance

Postby stage X Performance » August 14th, 2011, 11:04 pm

W2J wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

up up down down left right left right select start did not work?

Postby MG Man » August 15th, 2011, 12:08 am

MadCrix wrote:pornie, regardless of who you use, keep in mind to stick to that dyno as 100 hp increase is 100 hp increase reagardless.
i prefer audee as he is very accomadating and doh over charge if u go over a little bit
he makes everyone feel at home and welcomed. he and his wife are a fantastic set of ppl

that's a bit harsh dontchathink?

Last time I ended up by Prentice was because Mrs Awdee wasn't particularly accommodating....heck I never get a good vibe when she answers the phone, and to me it's a big deterrent.....Audi is a pretty cool dude tho.....so anyways, someone said try Prentice.....so I called up Prentice place and got my slot (never dealt with these ppl b4).......showed up by prentice and was very happy with the level of service and hospitality.......considering the caliber of cars he deals with, I was happy with the time he took explaining everything to me and going through the graphs and offering ideas...I would definitely go back

As per Pornie's question, a dyno is like weighing yourself on a scale......the numbers only make sense if you using the same dyno to track changes.......absolute figures on a dyno should be take with a grain of salt....so say Dave Walker

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » August 16th, 2011, 10:43 pm

stage X Performance wrote:
W2J wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

up up down down left right left right select start did not work?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » August 16th, 2011, 11:11 pm

I have used both dyno's and both have been very accommodating

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » August 17th, 2011, 12:11 am

MG Man wrote:As per Pornie's question, a dyno is like weighing yourself on a scale......the numbers only make sense if you using the same dyno to track changes.....

couldn't agree more. Porny just stick with the dyno that you baselined the car with.