WTK: Pitbulls

ворвзаконе

WTK: Pitbulls

Postby ворвзаконе » August 4th, 2011, 10:04 am

Fella and ladies would like to know what is the requirements which have to be met in order to have a pitbulls in your yard. is there any law?

your POSITIVE input will be greatly be appreciated

Re: WTK: Pitbulls

Postby S_2NR » August 4th, 2011, 10:06 am

it have a law/requirements?

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 4th, 2011, 10:19 am

Jus buy a pit bull and let it go in your yard ....DUH!

But i guess if you mean being a responsible owner , that's common sense stuff like proper fencing, basic obedience training, proper dog housing/ restraints etc.

snatman

Postby snatman » August 4th, 2011, 10:32 am

The law states that you must have a yard in order to have a pitbull in your yard.

THere's a separate law for pitbulls in your porch... you must have a porch.

The yardfowl laws are very strict also.
Last edited by snatman on August 4th, 2011, 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » August 4th, 2011, 10:32 am

shotta 20 wrote:Jus buy a pit bull and let it go in your yard ....DUH!

But i guess if you mean being a responsible owner , that's common sense stuff like proper fencing, basic obedience training, proper dog housing/ restraints etc.

Yeah...wat he said...no laws yet tho!
Check out this site too...http://www.thebullyhouse.net/pitbulltra ... sheet.html ....alot of valuable info on ownership, care and training

Postby turbosingh » August 4th, 2011, 10:55 am

shotta 20 wrote:Jus buy a pit bull and let it go in your yard ....DUH!

Well said..

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » August 4th, 2011, 11:53 am

Brainchile thnx you to shotta 20...

Yodins

Postby Yodins » August 4th, 2011, 3:20 pm

ворвзаконе , ministry currently goin over Breed Specific Legislation and want to put it into effect and all these pitbulls attacking ppl not helping. shotta 20 basically covered everything you should have BEFORE you even think of getting a pitbull, they are very mischievous dogs when idle and you have to keep them occupied. I personally would recommend getting a dog from a reputable breeder or better yet rescue/adopt one from the pound...at least this way you know you're saving a life.

yuh on fb right?, check out " Pitt Stop Kennels". I and the whole pitbull community on there and willing to give yuh some positive information. any other questions just PM me
Rgds, Yodins

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 4th, 2011, 11:28 pm

OP you could go ahead and get the dog,just be a responsible owner, and make sure when you walking the dog,you put a muzzle on it,because if you bounce up some facked up cops they would fact you up.seen this several times.

Postby pugboy » August 5th, 2011, 2:02 am

it will be interesting to know how they certify what breed a dog is when they looking to charge people, they might have to use dna

for example the "bully" pitbull which is in style now is a fairly different dog compared to the slimmer style before

Wizard

Postby Wizard » August 5th, 2011, 2:31 pm

if youve never owned a dog before then dont think of going with a pit

as mentioned they are mischevious and not the easiest dog to train

if you dont plan on walking or exercising them regularly then stay away from pits they are full of energy and even a small pit can put a grown man on the floor when they are playful although the dogs have been demonized due to attacks it is more due to owners either bringing them up overly aggressive or not giving them enough attention or exercise. typically showing a pack dog mentality they like to take a lime so not the best dog to leave as a guard on thier own

although they arent a pure bred line by any means, they do have an affinity for skin problems and should only be fed particular diets to help avoid these problems and that can get expensive. many abandoned pits end up that way because pet buyers want to buy the bling bling gangster image of a pit but not put in the time, effort, love, affection and money that it takes to keep one in good health

unless you have owned and properly cared for dogs before, i would recommend you go with a more easy to care for breed or even a pot hound.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » August 5th, 2011, 2:50 pm

having pets is tragic, it's basically saying 'i have tried to find love amongst my own species, but i have failed. instead, i have had to fall back on the less judgemental animal kingdom'.. anyway i don't know how long i could have a pet before i got bored and started f***ing it.. i'd f*** an owl, it can make eye contact in whatever position you're in.. or maybe a kitten, imagine having sex with something that you actually wanted to cuddle afterwards.

Postby wagonrunner » August 5th, 2011, 3:00 pm

zcarz wrote:having pets is tragic, it's basically saying 'i have tried to find love amongst my own species, but i have failed. instead, i have had to fall back on the less judgemental animal kingdom'.. anyway i don't know how long i could have a pet before i got bored and started f***ing it.. i'd f*** an owl, it can make eye contact in whatever position you're in.. or maybe a kitten, imagine having sex with something that you actually wanted to cuddle afterwards.

i see you suffer from stephonitis.

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » August 5th, 2011, 3:07 pm

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » August 5th, 2011, 5:06 pm

Wizard wrote:if youve never owned a dog before then dont think of going with a pit

if you dont plan on walking or exercising them regularly then stay away from pits they are full of energy and even a small pit can put a grown man on the floor when they are playful although the dogs have been demonized due to attacks it is more due to owners either bringing them up overly aggressive or not giving them enough attention or exercise. typically showing a pack dog mentality they like to take a lime so not the best dog to leave as a guard on thier own

although they arent a pure bred line by any means, they do have an affinity for skin problems and should only be fed particular diets to help avoid these problems and that can get expensive. many abandoned pits end up that way because pet buyers want to buy the bling bling gangster image of a pit but not put in the time, effort, love, affection and money that it takes to keep one in good health

unless you have owned and properly cared for dogs before, i would recommend you go with a more easy to care for breed or even a pot hound.

all my previous dogs were schooled by Customs K9 unit... so training wont be a prob. it just my 2 current doggies have reached there aged Akita is almost 14 years now and my labrador retriever made 12 before she died last week never had a pitbull before so i dont think it willl be as challanging as the Akita to care for.

Thks for the info.

JoeBama wrote:Image

the cutting of the ear...i think thats a little inhumane im gonna leave my doggie with the ear.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » August 5th, 2011, 5:47 pm

ворвзаконе wrote:
Wizard wrote:if youve never owned a dog before then dont think of going with a pit

all my previous dogs were schooled by Customs K9 unit... so training wont be a prob. it just my 2 current doggies have reached there aged Akita is almost 14 years now and my labrador retriever made 12 before she died last week never had a pitbull before so i dont think it willl be as challanging as the Akita to care for.
Thks for the info.

the cutting of the ear...i think thats a little inhumane im gonna leave my doggie with the ear.

you gonna get owned by your first pitbull if you keep tht mentality

Rx

Postby Rx » August 5th, 2011, 5:51 pm

goodness :shock:

ворвзаконе

Postby ворвзаконе » August 5th, 2011, 6:58 pm

Yodins wrote:
ворвзаконе wrote:

Thks for the info.

no man if i can handle a tosa or a Bully Kutta Mastiff a pitbull is a puppy compare to those Bully Kutta mastif

Wizard

Postby Wizard » August 11th, 2011, 2:06 pm

ворвзаконе wrote:
Yodins wrote:
ворвзаконе wrote:

Thks for the info.

no man if i can handle a tosa or a Bully Kutta Mastiff a pitbull is a puppy compare to those Bully Kutta mastif

yodins has a point there

dogs like akitas are strong willed and so on but dont confuse it with a pit for lack of a better explaination, they are totally different animals.

ive owned rots, sheperds, american bull dogs and a host of other both aggressive and passive dogs and pits are a bit more difficult to understand they are very emotionally affected animals and require a certain type of care

it is exactly why they have bad reputations because the owners tend to not understand what is needed to achieve a proper, balanced state of mind in a pit

i tend to relate pit bull mentality to a bi polar mentality and if you are unable to control the extreme shift in personality then you may have a unpredictable dog on your hands

either way, read as much as you can and good luck

Yodins

Postby Yodins » August 11th, 2011, 3:58 pm

ворвзаконе, imagine your akita on crack and steroids and thats a pitbull. VERY strong animals and VERY cunning. doe take no chain up cuz yuh pitbull may attack you if yuh lapsin and the pitbull/bully community doe need dat kind of publicity.

[quote="Wizard]yodins has a point there

dogs like akitas are strong willed and so on but dont confuse it with a pit for lack of a better explaination, they are totally different animals.

ive owned rots, sheperds, american bull dogs and a host of other both aggressive and passive dogs and pits are a bit more difficult to understand they are very emotionally affected animals and require a certain type of care

it is exactly why they have bad reputations because the owners tend to not understand what is needed to achieve a proper, balanced state of mind in a pit

i tend to relate pit bull mentality to a bi polar mentality and if you are unable to control the extreme shift in personality then you may have a unpredictable dog on your hands

either way, read as much as you can and good luck[/quote]

this.pits different hoss. one minute they little kittehs, next minute... :evilbat: in YMC. seriously dude, consider what i said about going on " Pitt Stop Kennels" on fb. tons of help. best rgds :wink:

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » August 11th, 2011, 4:10 pm

I had pitbulls before, two females. loved them, wonderful dogs, but i would not recommend them, much in the same light as Yodins speak about the Biplolar mentality. They may be goood most of the time, but sometimes something just trips them off and they stop listening and are uncontrollable. this is too dangerous as peoples lives are on the line.

Rotts/Malinois/Cane Corso for me only.

dman

Postby dman » August 11th, 2011, 8:30 pm

unfortunately i cannot agree with most that have been said - the only thing i can agree to is the fact that some dogs need a strong owner and not strong in the sense of strength but mental strength many people in trinidad are ruled by their dogs meaning the dogs are in charge of their owners

i have had pits since i was 17 i have 4 now 3 female and a male these dogs need proper socialization and exercise

most people get a pitbull walk it for 2 weeks and then lock it in a kennel and feed it it is deprived of human interaction also since it basically lived in a kennel / backyard it cannot handle change and may become aggressive out of boredom or fear

Another factor is some owners do no obedience and bring untrained persons to do aggression work most do this by teasing the dog, some pits are not aggressive and actually are beaten into being aggressive - this is not an aggressive dog it has become a dog biting out of fear any person other than the the immediate family it sees becomes a threat

also a dog tries to please its owner so if every time the dog bites at someone the owner says good dog he is re enforcing a behavior that at a later date wont be favored

pits are a great breed do proper research and educate yourself about it - their are many myths and people like to repeat nonsense because that is what is in the mainstream

if you want info about the pitbull breed pm or ask me i am on facebook on pitstop kennels and there are a lot of other persons who can assist anyone interested in this breed

i am not a breeder - i just have a passion for these dogs

oh - my grandmother 70+ owned a pit
my mother has a pit

this is my families breed of choice -

Yodins

Postby Yodins » August 11th, 2011, 11:53 pm

dman wrote:unfortunately i cannot agree with most that have been said - the only thing i can agree to is the fact that some dogs need a strong owner and not strong in the sense of strength but mental strength many people in trinidad are ruled by their dogs meaning the dogs are in charge of their owners

most people get a pitbull walk it for 2 weeks and then lock it in a kennel and feed it it is deprived of human interaction also since it basically lived in a kennel / backyard it cannot handle change and may become aggressive out of boredom or fear

Another factor is some owners do no obedience and bring untrained persons to do aggression work most do this by teasing the dog, some pits are not aggressive and actually are beaten into being aggressive - this is not an aggressive dog it has become a dog biting out of fear any person other than the the immediate family it sees becomes a threat

pits are a great breed do proper research and educate yourself about it - their are many myths and people like to repeat nonsense because that is what is in the mainstream

if you want info about the pitbull breed pm or ask me i am on facebook on pitstop kennels and there are a lot of other persons who can assist anyone interested in this breed

i know of a guy up by me who had a very impressive rednose. muscular, agile everything you wanted in abadass guard dog. then a day this man beat he dog with a shovel in he head, well boy, dat dog went :evilbat: :evilbat: an plan fuh he ass.

de owner is a ageable guy and kinda beh beh. dat dog bite him up all on he face and arm ( i have no clue as to how it en reach he throat ) . point is, dont be a jerk and beat your dogs like that over stupid crap like eating your fav slipper, they will maul you.

thesnake11

Postby thesnake11 » August 12th, 2011, 3:01 am

You may need large amounts of Vodka and cigars. As well as some big @$$ booty oman in a hotel motel or Holiday Inn.

asda.jpg
asda.jpg (78.57 KiB) Viewed 4384 times

sda.jpg
sda.jpg (25.01 KiB) Viewed 4384 times

sada.jpg
sada.jpg (126.1 KiB) Viewed 4384 times

dman

Postby dman » August 12th, 2011, 6:55 am

yodins let someone beat u with a shovel and dont think u wont plan for them

that is a vague situation u dont have all the facts correct reprimanding of any animal even humans doent mean beating it into submission

beat u child now and when u get old u book ur cutass

Wizard

Postby Wizard » August 15th, 2011, 5:27 pm

i dont subscribe to a lot of the locals on pit bull behavior and training

i have met many many owners that just have no clue how to handle the dogs, particularly youths that buy the dogs for image and think that beating them with a shovel is the way to control them.

yes, you will be surprised how many of these so called experienced owners treat the dogs this way, literally beating them with things like shovels and 2 x 4s these dogs are extremely strong and have a tremendous tolerance for pain. in other words, since a lash from a newspaper or your hand wont be felt at all, idiot owners tend to go overboard. proper training, not lashes, is the key.

decades ago, pits were known as the nanny dog because they are normally great with kids and very protective, you can't get this type of result if you intend on locking up the dogs, give no love and then aggression training. they must be part of the family 'pack'.

still they can have extreme personality shifts and owners must be well aware of this

keep in mind, a mastiff or rott can still overpower you eh, most people just dont expect to be overpowered by a dog that is less than 30 inches high

Yodins

Postby Yodins » August 16th, 2011, 10:32 am

well sed Wiz

Postby DVSTT » January 5th, 2012, 1:33 pm

Big fenced yard, proper exercise and training from a puppy so that you can control him/her when he gets older and not be an idiot owner who contributes to the breeds bad stereotype.

ElectricoS

Postby ElectricoS » January 5th, 2012, 10:58 pm

Certificate....