Why we procrastinate

abc02

Why we procrastinate

Postby abc02 » July 19th, 2011, 9:43 pm

This blog post kinda longish but its well worth a read.

The Misconception: You procrastinate because you are lazy and can’t manage your time well.

The Truth: Procrastination is fueled by weakness in the face of impulse and a failure to think about thinking.

http://youarenotsosmart.com/2010/10/27/procrastination/

eViLwOn

Re: Why we procrastinate

Postby eViLwOn » July 19th, 2011, 9:49 pm

Procrastination is the avoidance of doing a task which needs to be done - postponing until tomorrow what can be done today.

Why do people procrastinate?

* poor time management, often associated with a distorted sense of the time available
* an inability to prioritize
* overload of tasks at a specific time
* anxiety about the task, so time is spent worrying rather than doing
* difficulty concentrating
* not knowing what is required
* feeling overwhelmed by the task(s)
* concern about failing or not meeting your own standards
* fear of success and its possible consequences
* perfectionism, often associated with unrealistic standards
* negative feelings - e.g. "I'm stupid", "nothing ever goes right for me"
* all-or-nothing thinking, where one setback is seen as a total catastrophe
* being bored by the task
* never having learned how to work or sort out problems while at school or living at home
* avoidance of things which are disliked or difficult.

Taken from The University Of Cambridge Counselling Service (2011)

I procrastinate because I know I can get away with it at times...

Postby DFC » July 19th, 2011, 9:52 pm

I wanna read it...but tmw for sure.

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 19th, 2011, 9:59 pm

DFC wrote:I wanna read it...but tmw for sure.

yuh dun procrastinating already boi?

Postby DFC » July 19th, 2011, 10:04 pm

eViLwOn wrote:

Boi? Lol don't u knw ima gurl?

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » July 19th, 2011, 10:07 pm

DFC wrote:
eViLwOn wrote:

My bad,... sorry for the error.

Postby Stephon. » July 19th, 2011, 10:14 pm

Gonna have a read

Edit: maybe later

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 20th, 2011, 1:00 am

interesting...

DTAC

Postby DTAC » July 20th, 2011, 3:43 am

Very interesting read. I have a problem with procrastination. It's the one thing I can't self fix.

jusme

Postby jusme » July 20th, 2011, 4:53 am

DTAC wrote:Very interesting read. I have a problem with procrastination. It's the one thing I can't self fix.

Me too. Seriously, sometimes i even procrastinate to procrastinate

Postby Habit7 » July 20th, 2011, 6:12 am

abc02 wrote:This blog post kinda longish but its well worth a read.

The Misconception: You procrastinate because you are lazy and can’t manage your time well.

The Truth: Procrastination is fueled by weakness in the face of impulse and a failure to think about thinking.

http://youarenotsosmart.com/2010/10/27/procrastination/

this kinda long, i'll read it in work later then comment more indepth

TK!

Postby TK! » July 20th, 2011, 7:02 am

haha ...

Postby RBphoto » July 20th, 2011, 7:13 am

The world waits on me. Important people don't wear watches.

Postby K74T » July 20th, 2011, 7:15 am

eViLwOn wrote:
DFC wrote:
eViLwOn wrote:

My bad,... sorry for the error.

1chainup

Postby shogun » July 20th, 2011, 7:21 am

lol @ crosdrilled.
terrible procrastinator here.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 20th, 2011, 9:18 am

crossdrilled wrote:The world waits on me. Important people don't wear watches.

*looks at the no tan line on left wrist*

8-)

Postby ismithx » July 20th, 2011, 9:26 am

sigh... not feeling to read this not, perhaps later

Postby tr1ad » July 20th, 2011, 9:37 am

i'll get back to you

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » July 20th, 2011, 10:00 am

someone told me the other day. Procrastination is like masturbation u just end up fcukin yourself in the end and i have to agree it makes sense

Postby TRAE » July 20th, 2011, 10:08 am

can i read this later then?

Postby Hook » July 20th, 2011, 10:41 am

anybody read this yet? gimme the gist of it nuh

Postby crazybalhead » July 20th, 2011, 10:43 am

Later.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 12th, 2021, 2:55 am

This is me procrastinating since 11pm..

Apparently there're the opposite: pre-crastinators... imps who finish everything EARLY.
src: https://www.psychologicalscience.org/ne ... ation.html

Also, this..

Postby 88sins » May 12th, 2021, 6:34 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:The world waits on me. Important people don't wear watches.

*looks at the no tan line on left wrist*

8-)

Why you giving away the secret?
Now a setta nothings and nobodys gonna take of their digital timex and casio and pretend they important and reach to work late and get fired and say that is we fault.

Kay_B

Postby Kay_B » May 12th, 2021, 6:53 am

Very often, procrastination occurs when a person does not like what he is doing. When a person is passionate about his work and has an adequate opportunity to rest and recuperate, then he does not need to procrastinate.

Postby timelapse » May 12th, 2021, 7:27 am

To quote a former classmate of mine.Procrastination is like masturbation, It feels good until you realize that you only f@@_king yourself

Kay_B

Postby Kay_B » May 21st, 2021, 5:51 am

There is still little benefit to procrastination. This term can also be called the nightly viewing of films and TV series - after all, you can do something more productive. To be honest, I myself periodically procrastinate, recently I bought a new Dell gaming monitor to play 1-2 cards in Dota2 in the evenings.

Postby Habit7 » May 21st, 2021, 10:27 am

If any of allyuh were true procrastinators like me you would not have read any of the preceding posts or watch any videos. Allyuh fake.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 28th, 2021, 8:42 am

Almost ten years this post. I will read the article..but not now... a little later