JDM_23

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby JDM_23 » November 12th, 2020, 12:21 pm

JDM_23 wrote:
JDM_23 wrote:Anyone inside here does sell seasoning such as celery and chive, if so exactly how much is included in a bundle.

define "bundle"
it have ppl selling in bulk (all you get is chive alone or celery alone )and it have ppl selling retail a little of one & the other & a few other types of seasonings in the small bundles ppl buy to cook food home

Sorry about that I am talking about wholesale bulk ones like in the farmers markets not the retail ones the market stalls sell.

last price I kno was about 40-50/bundle, never checked how many in it tho, but it does be plenty, definitely more than 100 pcs.
will call a friend to find out how he sells it.

Thank you, I'm just doing some market research as I wanted to setup a hydroponics system with celery and chive. I know the average price is 40-50 per bundle but what I would like to know is how much is exactly in a bundle and from that I can then determine if its feasible to invest in.

Postby 88sins » November 12th, 2020, 12:53 pm

ok,
but fwiw, hydroponic farming won't be a very cost effective way to go for large scale production for that particular crop. It gonna be VERY expensive to start up & you won't recover your startup & operational costs as quickly as you would if you'd have planted them in plots.

JDM_23

Postby JDM_23 » November 12th, 2020, 1:05 pm

88sins wrote:ok,
but fwiw, hydroponic farming won't be a very cost effective way to go for large scale production for that particular crop. It gonna be VERY expensive to start up & you won't recover your startup & operational costs as quickly as you would if you'd have planted them in plots.

I was looking at one of the vertical systems available from Green Age Farms, since I don't really have the place to plant in plots. The system is indeed expensive, which is why I'm trying to do extensive research before making an informed decision. I already called around agro processors, they said they does buy produce but I was not able to get the price they are willing to pay, they said call when it is time and you ready to sell.

Postby 88sins » November 12th, 2020, 2:19 pm

JDM_23 wrote:I was looking at one of the vertical systems available from Green Age Farms, since I don't really have the place to plant in plots. The system is indeed expensive, which is why I'm trying to do extensive research before making an informed decision. I already called around agro processors, they said they does buy produce but I was not able to get the price they are willing to pay, they said call when it is time and you ready to sell.

Generally speaking most won't tell you what price they paying because the price fluctuates, but is not only that. They does want to buy at the cheapest price, and go no problem with you taking the hit.

JDM_23

Postby JDM_23 » November 12th, 2020, 4:43 pm

JDM_23 wrote:I was looking at one of the vertical systems available from Green Age Farms, since I don't really have the place to plant in plots. The system is indeed expensive, which is why I'm trying to do extensive research before making an informed decision. I already called around agro processors, they said they does buy produce but I was not able to get the price they are willing to pay, they said call when it is time and you ready to sell.

Generally speaking most won't tell you what price they paying because the price fluctuates, but is not only that. They does want to buy at the cheapest price, and go no problem with you taking the hit.

Ok, Thank you very much for the advice.

apole69

Postby apole69 » November 12th, 2020, 8:28 pm

JDM_23 wrote:
JDM_23 wrote:Anyone inside here does sell seasoning such as celery and chive, if so exactly how much is included in a bundle.

define "bundle"
it have ppl selling in bulk (all you get is chive alone or celery alone )and it have ppl selling retail a little of one & the other & a few other types of seasonings in the small bundles ppl buy to cook food home

Sorry about that I am talking about wholesale bulk ones like in the farmers markets not the retail ones the market stalls sell.

last price I kno was about 40-50/bundle, never checked how many in it tho, but it does be plenty, definitely more than 100 pcs.

Thank you, I'm just doing some market research as I wanted to setup a hydroponics system with celery and chive. I know the average price is 40-50 per bundle but what I would like to know is how much is exactly in a bundle and from that I can then determine if its feasible to invest in.

Chive - 24 retail bundles make up a big bundle.
Celery - 20 retail bundles make up a big bundle

Postby X_Factor » November 13th, 2020, 11:25 am

JDM_23 wrote:

I was looking at one of the vertical systems available from Green Age Farms, since I don't really have the place to plant in plots. The system is indeed expensive, which is why I'm trying to do extensive research before making an informed decision. I already called around agro processors, they said they does buy produce but I was not able to get the price they are willing to pay, they said call when it is time and you ready to sell.

price is dependent on supply and demand...my advice dont study price, that will come
focus on quantity....chive is about the easiest and cheapest crop to grow and even cheaper if you plan properly and do your own seedlings

JDM_23

Postby JDM_23 » November 13th, 2020, 8:41 pm

apole69 wrote:
JDM_23 wrote:

define "bundle"

Chive - 24 retail bundles make up a big bundle.
Celery - 20 retail bundles make up a big bundle

Ok Thanks

JDM_23

Postby JDM_23 » November 13th, 2020, 8:42 pm

X_Factor wrote:
JDM_23 wrote:

price is dependent on supply and demand...my advice dont study price, that will come
focus on quantity....chive is about the easiest and cheapest crop to grow and even cheaper if you plan properly and do your own seedlings

Ok Thanks

rally74

Postby rally74 » November 17th, 2020, 1:30 pm

2'' netpots for sale used for hydroponic systems 50 cents each message if interested
s1_909955.jpg
s1_909955.jpg (71.63 KiB) Viewed 4425 times

Postby bluefete » November 18th, 2020, 6:04 pm

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2020, 6:29 pm

what can be done about brown spots on basil?

109FBB8E-833D-41FB-B167-4B84213EF715.jpeg

Skillys

Postby Skillys » December 5th, 2020, 9:18 pm

Not sure but my plant died when that happened. :(
pugboy wrote:what can be done about brown spots on basil?

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2020, 9:24 pm

did some research
it’s a type of leafminer worm

Skillys wrote:Not sure but my plant died when that happened. :(
pugboy wrote:what can be done about brown spots on basil?

NR8

Postby NR8 » December 5th, 2020, 9:49 pm

Yeah it kinda looks like leaf miner damage. Neem oil can be used.

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2020, 10:15 pm

the commercially available basil never has this
i suspect they use systemic chemicals

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 6th, 2020, 10:45 am

Could be that the medium remains too moist as well. Basil needs a well drained loose soil from my backyard garden experience when some ended up like yours. That could just be something else to consider apart from the pest situation.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 19th, 2020, 4:38 pm

What brand of pumps do you guys swear by if any? Need something small, mainly to pull water to fill up some tanks for storage. Later on it will be used to connect to some drip hoses for irrigation for a small area. If you know where has good deals and service, would appreciate the info, thanks.

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » December 27th, 2020, 2:13 pm

Yo farmers, what is the plant with the big leaves? Thanks.
IMG_20201226_144102.jpg
IMG_20201226_144102.jpg (121.08 KiB) Viewed 3958 times

NR8

Postby NR8 » December 27th, 2020, 6:39 pm

Looks like a melon

h1tach1

Postby h1tach1 » December 27th, 2020, 6:52 pm

Don't remember planting that but that okay. Thanks.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 1st, 2021, 9:39 pm

Fellas, about the water pumps for irrigation purposes...

Anyone could advise on a good brand?

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 1st, 2021, 10:45 pm

never used dip hose so im not sure about the water pressure needed.
pull water from where?
how small of an area?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 1st, 2021, 11:24 pm

River / pond
0.5 - 2 acres

GRIM

Postby GRIM » January 2nd, 2021, 12:28 am

mmmmm....a bit out of my depth here
i can say from personal usage ive had subaru/robin pumps (bought at hadden) and honda pumps (cant remember where i bought it). i used to plant about 1 acre
all are 2" gas pumps and all have worked well
although i had some engine issues with the subaru/robin pumps after a few years (7-ish) of use. i replaced them with a honda which seems to be holding out better (going on 5 years).
if you are going to have the full 2 acres planted a single 2" pump might not be able to supply all of the land in 1 day of wetting
(again im not familiar with drip hose)

Postby 88sins » January 2nd, 2021, 6:48 am

If using drip hose system over 2 acres a 2" pump should be fine.

NR8

Postby NR8 » January 6th, 2021, 8:57 am

Allyuh doing any planting lately? The soil by me is properly waterlogged. I did a couple dozen seedlings in my backyard in November...all wilted with the rain.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 10th, 2021, 10:50 am

Has anyone successfully grown lavender? My lady found lavender seeds at the hardware , but it doesn't seem to have a success rate in tropics.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 10th, 2021, 10:54 am

BTW anybody thinking of having a dragonfruit tree at home, heads up; just buy it already sprouted. Took me 3months plus to get this bugger to that height (1.1inch)
IMG_20210208_085520.jpeg

Postby 88sins » February 10th, 2021, 11:00 am

viedcht wrote:BTW anybody thinking of having a dragonfruit tree at home, heads up; just buy it already sprouted. Took me 3months plus to get this bugger to that height (1.1inch)IMG_20210208_085520.jpeg

I want a red, but so far I only finding the pink & the white