Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby axe » February 19th, 2022, 12:20 pm

Postby timelapse » February 19th, 2022, 5:20 pm

axe wrote:Requirements for farmer registration:
Deed or permission to use land from owner.
Permission from state land.
1 lot of land under cultivation.

Contact your nearest MALMR extension office.

Many incentives to benefit from:
Even $100,000.00 grant from the Government for certain projects. No repayment.
1 lot?
Watch ting now

Postby Chimera » February 19th, 2022, 5:23 pm

Its always been 1 lot to register as a farmer.

To benefit from the big concessions its 2 acres.
Concession for tractor and pickup trucks etc

The basic 1 lot registration mean you could get back rebate on pump and Wacker and chemicals etc.

Postby timelapse » February 19th, 2022, 6:28 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Its always been 1 lot to register as a farmer.

The basic 1 lot registration mean you could get back rebate on pump and Wacker and chemicals etc.
Always thought was the 2 acres for everything.Will register soon

Postby sMASH » February 19th, 2022, 10:26 pm

timelapse wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Its always been 1 lot to register as a farmer.

Always thought was the 2 acres for everything.Will register soon
Well look ting.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 8th, 2022, 6:04 pm

So I accidentally sprayed very salty water on one of my potted plants (in a bucket) and next day it's looking wilted and dull.

Its a salt water spray I used to use to kill stray African snails. I forgot what it was, assumed it was for killing plant bugs, now my plant looks like its on its last legs.

Is there anyway this could be saved? Its a 2 ft tall marijuana plant.

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2022, 11:10 am

what allyuh fellas planting these days?

sapodilla bearing like rain

plant a set of cucumber all over the by the chain link as well and that coming along nice

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2022, 11:23 am

the snails thoroughly firetruck up my citrus plants though

clean clean clean

my main workman who use to maintain the crops got covid and then pneumonia and went by his family for them to take care of him so 2-3 months it didnt get maintained properly

them snail sleeping in the trees in the day and eating whole night

real pressure

lose about 20-30 trees easy

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2022, 11:37 am

ppl say use deadline bait , use it sparingly

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2022, 11:50 am

yeah i always use it

but those 2-3 months i eh gone in that part of the land did its damage

them snails real dred

Postby *KRONIK* » March 14th, 2022, 12:02 pm

I had an infestation of GAS.
I started collecting them and drowning in clorox
And using the bait pellets
I think i eliminated 99% of them

I suspect they came in a bag of coconut husks my aunt bought and left behind the tank stand (cool, humid, isolated)

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2022, 12:50 pm

one of my big issues is the neighbours arent doing anything about the snails

so it always have hundreds coming across from by them when i throw bait

Postby *KRONIK* » March 14th, 2022, 1:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:one of my big issues is the neighbours arent doing anything about the snails

I saw some by the neighbour, i put a tongs over the wall, and thru the fence and pick up what i could
Then i sprinkle bait by them too
Honestly, i think my situation was isolated and my aunt most likely caused it

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » March 14th, 2022, 3:34 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:one of my big issues is the neighbours arent doing anything about the snails

I'm in this same situation. The snails multiplying in my neighbor's backyard and crawling through the fence to come into my yard. When we look into his backyard, early morning or rainy days, you literally see hundreds crawling around. I can only destroy those that comes over or those I can access.

But these snails dread. I see them on the citrus trees. Though it would have been to strong/bitter for them but noticed the leaves on one tree dried as though we have fall here.

Postby timelapse » March 14th, 2022, 8:31 pm

The ducks licking up the snails.Right now I have a manicou plaguing my guava tree

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2022, 8:42 pm

I say I wudda buy 10 duck and let them deal with it but then that will cause another issue. People will want to come in and thief the duck

Postby timelapse » March 14th, 2022, 8:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I say I wudda buy 10 duck and let them deal with it but then that will cause another issue. People will want to come in and thief the duck
Borrow some ducks

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2022, 4:25 pm

what going on with hydroponics locally?

why do you see soo much people selling their used large scale systems on FB

if hydroponics was so easy and profitable as claimed.......

Postby timelapse » April 6th, 2022, 4:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:what going on with hydroponics locally?

why do you see soo much people selling their used large scale systems on FB

if hydroponics was so easy and profitable as claimed.......
1.Not doing enough research before jumping in
2.refer to 1.

You have to approach it like a business.Most of these people 'trying a ting '

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2022, 5:22 pm

yeah seeing quite a few ppl selling large setups

ppl feel you just run some pvc and tanks and money gonna come in automatic
they dont cater for market stagnancy and other factors

I have a small drip setup for tomatoes and good thing I only do it to supply my pizza needs
because as it is right now tomato prices are very cheap.
to make decent money in tomato you need a price of at least $7-8

the good farmers know how to time the market.

Postby timelapse » April 6th, 2022, 5:33 pm

My aquaponics setup up not in use right now, but is an easy 30 lettuces in 6 weeks.I had mint in it once, it overgrew, then I got sick of it.Will probably set it back up one of these good days

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2022, 8:29 am

Anyone know where I might be able to get my hands on some Potassium Bicarbonate or Potassium Hydroxide?

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2022, 8:54 pm

like is a bumper mango season now

Postby maj. tom » May 9th, 2022, 9:11 pm

You may get it at Southern Chemicals in Chaguanas, that's in the back street opposite the NIB office.

Other than that, well this may be absurd, but Purple K dry fire extinguishers has 80% KHCO3.
IRP in Boundary Road has these.

Postby meccalli » May 9th, 2022, 9:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:You may get it at Southern Chemicals in Chaguanas, that's in the back street opposite the NIB office.

Other than that, well this may be absurd, but Purple K dry fire extinguishers has 80% KHCO3.
IRP in Boundary Road has these.

Thanks , got some KOH from D & T's Exotic Bath & Body. Using it to buffer a bioponic system using compost leachate. Would have preferred the bicarb, but this will do for now.

Postby 88sins » May 13th, 2022, 12:22 pm

timelapse wrote:The ducks licking up the snails.Right now I have a manicou plaguing my guava tree

eh heh
send date & location, i could use the target practice.

death365

Postby death365 » May 27th, 2022, 5:15 pm

What are these ? Will it kill the plant ... how to get rid of it?
20220527_171046.jpg

Postby timelapse » May 27th, 2022, 6:47 pm

Aphids.
Light dosage of Diazanon should fix it quickly

death365

Postby death365 » May 27th, 2022, 6:50 pm

Kool thanks ... I'll check that tomorrow....

No way ah letting meh cherry pepper tree die ... it now start to flowers plenty

Postby timelapse » May 27th, 2022, 6:58 pm

death365 wrote:Kool thanks ... I'll check that tomorrow....

No way ah letting meh cherry pepper tree die ... it now start to flowers plenty
The bud pepper still alive?
I have a sheitload of cherry pepper seeds