New tech camera Allows Photos to Be Refocused afterward

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 11:09 am

By DON CLARK
A Silicon Valley start-up is expected on Wednesday to unveil plans to sell a new kind of still camera which generates an image that can be refocused by viewers after its creation.
The closely held company, Lytro Inc., says its technology will offer consumers an array of benefits—including all but eliminating focus problems in taking pictures and allowing users to generate 3-D images with one rather than two cameras.

Lytro's camera lets users shift focus to the foreground or background

Lytro's approach springs from Stanford University research into what are often called light-field cameras, which capture much more information to create an image than conventional digital cameras. While scientists have discussed the underlying concept for a century, most previous experiments have required as many as a hundred cameras and heavy-duty computing power.
In 2006, Lytro CEO Ren Ng wrote a doctoral dissertation at Stanford about ways to dramatically reduce the size and cost of the technology. Lytro isn't disclosing details before releasing its first cameras later this year, but Mr. Ng says their pricing will be competitive with today's consumer cameras.
Selling standalone cameras would seem an uphill battle these days, now that picture-taking capability is a built-in feature of even low-priced cellphones. Cisco Systems Inc.'s recent decision to close its Flip video-camera unit was largely blamed by analysts on the fact that many smartphones can now shoot high-definition video.

A key difference, Mr. Ng said, is that the images taken using a Flip or other video cameras looked the same to most viewers. Not so with Lytro's technology, he said. "These pictures are unprecedented," he said.
Photos taken by prototype Lytro cameras, when viewed through most current Web browsers, allow users to click on different parts of an image to bring different subjects into focus.
Lytro lists other benefits. For one thing, since images are focused after the fact, users don't have to spend time focusing before shooting. Nor do they have to worry if they wound up focusing on the wrong thing.
The technology works in very low light without a flash, Lytro said, while 3-D glasses can add a particularly vivid effect—simulated three-dimensional images that users can adjust to show different perspectives.
Conventional digital cameras essentially record the total sum of light rays from a scene as they hit an image sensor, Mr. Ng said. A light-field camera records the color, intensity and direction of rays individually. He compared the approach to audio recording; instead of recording multiple musicians all at once, modern multitrack studios record them separately so that the volume and other effects can be independently adjusted after the fact to create a sound mix.
A key to Lytro's strategy is to use the increasing resolution found in the image sensors in conventional digital cameras, capability that Mr. Ng said most amateur photographers don't fully exploit.The company developed a special array of lenses that fits in front of image sensors and helps break the image apart into individual rays, along with software to help reassemble aand manipulate it.
Lytro, founded in 2006, has attracted $50 million in funding from venture-capital firms. that include Andreessen Horowitz, Greylock Partners, New Enterprise Associates and K9 Ventures. Leading its technology team are Kurt Akeley, formerly of Silicon Graphics Inc., and Adam Fineberg, formerly chief architect for the WebOS software developed by Palm Inc., which is now part of Hewlett-Packard Co.
Lytro won't lack for competition, predicted Winston Hendrickson, vice president of products for software maker Adobe Systems Inc., which has developed prototype light field cameras for research purposes. Besides the technology departments of big camera companies, other startups are pursuing related technology, he said. One is Pellican Imaging Corp., which in February announced a prototype of what it calls an array camera for use in mobile devices.
"I think that there is broad agreement that light field will be the future," Mr. Hendrickson said. "What people have different points of view about is when that will happen."
Write to Don Clark at don.clark@wsj.com

Read more: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142 ... z1Q1A0gxmX

Re: New tech camera Allows Photos to Be Refocused afterward

Postby cinco » June 22nd, 2011, 11:20 am

BESS 

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 22nd, 2011, 11:24 am

wow, this could be a game changer.

Postby foss » June 22nd, 2011, 11:30 am

that WIN.

Postby Bizzare » June 22nd, 2011, 11:39 am

Not mind blowing, but very cool. Believe it or not, I predicted this sometime ago. If only I had the expertise. :(
I also predicted Google's home page new voice input like one year ago and their image search by uploading an image (I mentioned it here sometime ago). There are also many things I expect to see in the near future, but sadly I lack the expertise to make it my invention. :(
Many things I know will come soon, especially in the area of 3D.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » June 22nd, 2011, 11:42 am

Steups CSI Miami using this technology with any video camera donkey years now.

Postby noshownogo » June 22nd, 2011, 11:46 am

makes me hopeful that I can be like Lyden one day 8-)

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » June 22nd, 2011, 12:13 pm

woi !!!!!!!!!! this is awesomeeeeee !!

PI's gonna have a blast making money off ah cheating wives !

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 22nd, 2011, 12:34 pm

All that techno-talk sounds like the camera takes pictures at many different focal lengths and allows a user to choose which focused and unfocused area they want later on.

Clever but hardly groundbreaking. But has enough technobabble to get VC funding which is the whole point.

Majestic12

Postby Majestic12 » June 22nd, 2011, 12:45 pm

This is not new technology...it is only being repackaged for general consumer consumption.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 22nd, 2011, 12:54 pm

all that newfangled gibberish aside, those cats freaking me out.

what are they staring at?

Postby sMASH » June 22nd, 2011, 5:30 pm

if they cheating and using multiple images, it may be that they taking a vid with frame changes in microseconds with focus changing continuously and u view different frames with a different focus.

Postby ismithx » June 22nd, 2011, 7:51 pm

it now hit me... this is very much like ray tracing..... good stuff... GOOD STUFF

Postby skylinechild » June 22nd, 2011, 8:07 pm

Bizzare wrote:Not mind blowing, but very cool. Believe it or not, I predicted this sometime ago. If only I had the expertise. :(
I also predicted Google's home page new voice input like one year ago and their image search by uploading an image (I mentioned it here sometime ago). There are also many things I expect to see in the near future, but sadly I lack the expertise to make it my invention. :(
Many things I know will come soon, especially in the area of 3D.

all that and u dont even kno next friday lotto numbers....* sigh.... :lol: :lol:

nice post duane....awaits to see the new tech cameras... :!:

Postby Bizzare » June 22nd, 2011, 8:22 pm

I do know next Friday's lotto numbers. I predict them every week.
However, I do not partake of gambling nor do I condone such sinful behavior, so no...... I will not pm you the numbers. Maybe only the powerball.

Postby redmanjp » June 22nd, 2011, 9:52 pm

Bizzare wrote:I do know next Friday's lotto numbers. I predict them every week.
However, I do not partake of gambling nor do I condone such sinful behavior, so no...... I will not pm you the numbers. Maybe only the powerball.

so we gonna dies in 2012 orrr?

Postby skylinechild » June 22nd, 2011, 10:15 pm

Bizzare wrote:I do know next Friday's lotto numbers. I predict them every week.

scene.... 8-) ...you say u predict them every week but you forgot to mention the accuracy of said prediction......after all we doh want to be like the rapture... :lol: :lol: and what the france i will do the the power ball number alone :lol: :lol:

but anyways i dont gamble either......i find is a waste of hard earned cash... 8-) 8-)