Screenshot_20200722-073816_Letterboxd.jpg
Screenshot_20200722-073756_Letterboxd.jpg

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Postby Rovin » August 20th, 2020, 11:23 am

well i finished watch True detective season 1

honestly for me i eh see d 10\10 u guys rate it at

started off interesting but dragged during d middle, too much inane yapping sometimes hard trying to decipher their thick countryside yankee accent, cohle slurred way of speaking & forever have ah cigarette in he mouth was kinda annoying

imo most i cud give it is 6\10 ... :| :| :|

Postby noshownogo » August 20th, 2020, 1:42 pm

Next week Friday 28th Aug seems to be the pandemic litmus test.

New Mutants and Bill and Ted will premiere in Cinemas on that date in NA...

Postby Rovin » September 4th, 2020, 2:38 pm

this will be rel old news for some ppl but past 2wks i watching THE SOPRANOS , never seen it b4 :oops:

only day b4 i reading up on it & realise d star James Gandolfini died in 2013 from a heart attack at only age 51

doh mind i 20yrs late :oops: & only watched 2 seasons so far but its a damn good series ....

Postby sMASH » September 4th, 2020, 5:38 pm

Rovin wrote:this will be rel old news for some ppl but past 2wks i watching THE SOPRANOS , never seen it b4 :oops:

only day b4 i reading up on it & realise d star James Gandolfini died in 2013 from a heart attack at only age 51

doh mind i 20yrs late :oops: & only watched 2 seasons so far but its a damn good series ....
now u making me feel to try it.

i finally binge the breaking bad. it was real good, but is tings i already familiar with, so it didnt have the wow factor. is like finally watching a movie about a story i already know about.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2020, 5:54 pm

If you like action....dl the series "strike back". The first season was decent. 2nd - 5th = epic

Postby goalpost » September 6th, 2020, 9:29 am

I'm Thinking of Ending Things: 9/10
Tenet: 5/10

Postby Dizzy28 » September 7th, 2020, 9:55 am

Rovin wrote:this will be rel old news for some ppl but past 2wks i watching THE SOPRANOS , never seen it b4 :oops:

The entire run of Sopranos was during the time local cable still included all the premium movie stations as a standard. Used to watch piece piece of it but tbh never really took to it.

Maybe now that I am a bit older I may view it differently.

Postby Rovin » September 7th, 2020, 1:52 pm

^^^ true talk, i remember hearing about how great this show was back in dem days 20yrs ago waaaaay b4 we have d easy net access now to watch shows at whatever convenience , so i never saw any episode until 2wks ago ... u simply have to watch it from d beginning or it wont make sense

last series i watched was THE WIRE which came out after this & i highly recommend THE SOPRANOS 10/10, its like watching all d italian based mafia movies but with plenty more detail, it focuses alot on family life, betrayal, trust, loyalty, how to maneuver\solve problems & how much mental stress it is to run this organisation

i finished season 2 last night so 3 more seasons to go

for those who still undecided to watch : it won 21 emmy awards & 112 nominations back in its days ... so far i am seeing why it did

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie Thread***

Postby sMASH » September 9th, 2020, 7:46 pm

stev wrote:FORD V FERRARI!!!!

a must watch!!!

9.5/10

up there with gone in 60 seconds and the first fast an furious.

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2020, 1:11 pm

hydroep wrote:The Boys, Amazon series:- Interesting spoof of the Superhero genre. Karl Urban's character stole the show — man sounded like a vulgarized version of Captain Jack Sparrow yes, Johnny Depp could sue him for copyright...7.5/10.
season one good so far... me likes me likes.

Postby 16 cycles » September 13th, 2020, 6:48 pm

ZeroZeroZero...do what you need to overcome amazon region block...

VII

Postby VII » September 13th, 2020, 7:13 pm

Kingdom on Netflix anyone?

I was shocked..

Really didn't know I was gonna be watching a Zombie series,was just looking for something relaxing with those rich old world scenes and landscapes etc,and boy it turned on me literally,watched the whole damn thing in a couple days,awaiting new season!

Probably the most intelligent zombie movie/series concept ever..

Anyone else ?

Xplode

Postby Xplode » September 13th, 2020, 7:17 pm

HBO series Lovecraft country

i give this 20/10 :lol:
HBO done it again
great american myths about monsters ,treasure hunts and some weird epic good $hit

with all the BLM whats going on HBO still aired it 0facksgiven

Postby sMASH » September 15th, 2020, 7:30 am

VII wrote:Kingdom on Netflix anyone?

I was shocked..

Really didn't know I was gonna be watching a Zombie series,was just looking for something relaxing with those rich old world scenes and landscapes etc,and boy it turned on me literally,watched the whole damn thing in a couple days,awaiting new season!

Anyone else ?
first episode good so far.

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie Thread***

Postby Dave » September 15th, 2020, 7:52 am

Absolutely endorsed!
First f and f is a push lol
sMASH wrote:
stev wrote:FORD V FERRARI!!!!

a must watch!!!

9.5/10

up there with gone in 60 seconds and the first fast an furious.

VII

Postby VII » September 16th, 2020, 12:07 am

Don't forget to set it to voice in English.. 8-)

sMASH wrote:

I was shocked..

Anyone else ?

Postby sMASH » September 16th, 2020, 1:03 am

VII wrote:Don't forget to set it to voice in English.. 8-)

sMASH wrote:

I was shocked..

Anyone else ?

[cough]i dont have that option available[/cough]

Postby sMASH » September 21st, 2020, 8:10 pm

16 cycles wrote:ZeroZeroZero...do what you need to overcome amazon region block...

slow burn, good story. but very slow burn, but story good to keep u reading a very slow burn.
mexican dude is a beast.

Postby Monk BANzai » September 27th, 2020, 11:05 pm

sMASH wrote:
16 cycles wrote:ZeroZeroZero...do what you need to overcome amazon region block...

slow burn, good story. but very slow burn, but story good to keep u reading a very slow burn.
mexican dude is a beast.

Agreed. Ship Broker Daughter not backward either....enjoying it so far...really good slow burn Narcotics series. Like Chernobyl good.... lol well nah not so good...

Blatantly shows how Cocaine keeps many economies afloat. An unforgettable exploration of the inner workings of the global cocaine trade

Postby Rovin » October 1st, 2020, 7:56 pm

so i mentioned here few wks ago i begun watching SOPRANOS , well i finally finished it last night ... 9.5\10 i take out .5 for d ending which was kinda lackluster & left u wondering dise it dey ? , it cud have gone in about 5 others ways but it is what it is , read that alot of ppl were left wondering back then but still 1 of d best crime series i ever watched

i checking out what interesting to watch now ...

Postby sMASH » October 9th, 2020, 11:46 pm

sMASH wrote:
hydroep wrote:The Boys, Amazon series:- Interesting spoof of the Superhero genre. Karl Urban's character stole the show — man sounded like a vulgarized version of Captain Jack Sparrow yes, Johnny Depp could sue him for copyright...7.5/10.
season one good so far... me likes me likes.

season 2 finale, better than most marvel movies imo... combined.

Postby Monk BANzai » October 10th, 2020, 7:39 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Took in The Spy over the weekend (NF)

Its a six part mini series staring Sacha Baron Cohen as Mossad agent Eli Cohen.
Very good watch.

Cohen was in so deep he almost became Syrian Minister of Defence.

Thanks for this.. .Started it ..reached Ep 3 and its 10/10 so far..... i look more at the filmography and the Direction....they set this perfectly in the 60's..not a detail is spared....esp in Esp 1 with that Airport bus... would love to know th back story of a finding a bus in such a good condition for that shot (hope its not CGI)..

Screen Shot 2020-10-10 at 7.34.36 PM.png

Screen Shot 2020-10-10 at 7.38.18 PM.png

For us Car geeks ..seeing near perfect 60's classics in the film is gold. Storyline is solid too...Noah Emmerich acting is so immersive.

Ok i stahp nao.

Postby mero » October 10th, 2020, 8:38 pm

Reminder. Go find Gangs of London. Was UKs most popular series this year I believe.

Bad bad bad bad bad

death365

Postby death365 » October 11th, 2020, 7:27 am

Yeah sopranos was real good, they did half arse the end, but not as bad as some other shows or worse yet just stop mid season

Some of the worst offenders were :
Gilkians island
Lost
How I met your mother
Seinfeld (loves the series) still watch it to this day
Aloo aloo

Rovin wrote:so i mentioned here few wks ago i begun watching SOPRANOS , well i finally finished it last night ... 9.5\10 i take out .5 for d ending which was kinda lackluster & left u wondering dise it dey ? , it cud have gone in about 5 others ways but it is what it is , read that alot of ppl were left wondering back then but still 1 of d best crime series i ever watched

i checking out what interesting to watch now ...

Postby Rovin » October 22nd, 2020, 9:36 pm

so i end up watching season 1&2 of THE BOYS

it ent all that great but it different , violent, perverted , it shows a other raw side of perceived goody 2 shoes heroes, only a handful of them

shock factor is its biggest draw & butcher might hold d record for saying kant about 5 times\episode [sometimes maybe 10 times]

once u start it u say might as well see what happens next , only 8 episodes per season so is not like u spending many hrs of ur life compared to other shows with 20+ eps

6\10 imho ... id watch it when se3 comes out

Postby aaron17 » October 23rd, 2020, 7:58 am

Rather watch back watchmen movie.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2020, 12:09 pm

Finished Daredevil last night.
Season 3 IMO has to be one the best seasons of any series.
Would start Punisher or Jessica Jones today.

Finished S4 of Peaky Blinders last week - not bad but to me it has started to get a bit formulaic.

Also started From Dusk till Dawn the series last week and that is pretty good so far. Worth a watch for those into the sci fi/supernatural/vampire genre.

Also as an aside on the movie front -
Trial of the Chicago 7 - Probably the best movie I have looked at all year.
The Devil all the time - 9/10

Postby Rovin » October 26th, 2020, 12:55 pm

i clean forget about Daredevil yes didnt know it had a next season

Punisher se1 was bess but se2 d storyline mellowed out , i guess that caused alot of viewers to drop out & maybe dise why they cancelled it , if he continued to go after bad guys in other cities it cud have lived on

other shows u mentioned i havent seen them

few days ago i started THE WATCHER ,medieval time stuff, only see 2 episodes so far, opening scene hooks u in , going ite so far ...