LF Turf grass

mazdamaniac

LF Turf grass

Postby mazdamaniac » June 13th, 2011, 4:41 pm

Any body know who does sell turf grass in 1 foot x 1 foot squares to make a lawn? Don't want to have to wait for seed to grow.

Re: LF Turf grass

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 13th, 2011, 4:51 pm

bermuda? zoysia? buffalo?

what species yuh looking for?

Mr Midas

Postby Mr Midas » June 13th, 2011, 4:51 pm

check the express classifieds, there is a guy from freeport that sells

Mr Midas

Postby Mr Midas » June 13th, 2011, 5:03 pm

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » June 13th, 2011, 5:12 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:bermuda? zoysia? buffalo?

what species yuh looking for?

Lord, now ah have tuh go back and do more research now. :oops:

Postby cinco » June 13th, 2011, 9:51 pm

zoysia seems to be the best from what i researched previously

Postby pugboy » June 13th, 2011, 10:39 pm

beware there are different varieties of each type
I have two types of zoysia and one is better than the other
if you want a common type of zoysia, you can find it outside hilton
as well as around grace gardens santa cruz

zoysia is slow growing which is a plus

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 14th, 2011, 6:41 am

I used zoysia but seeing real hell with weeds. Any suggestions ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 14th, 2011, 8:05 am

once you are using tuf you can use the various types of weedkiller

if you have the common T&T savannah grass then you can't use US weed killers since savannah grass would classify as a weed too!

nb: some weedkillers kill bermuda grass too since it is considered a creeping grass

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 14th, 2011, 8:15 am

call Nick at 6801138.
He will sort you out at a fantastic price.

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » June 14th, 2011, 8:51 am

mazdamaniac wrote:Any body know who does sell turf grass in 1 foot x 1 foot squares to make a lawn? Don't want to have to wait for seed to grow.

You going to cut it into plugs and then plant?
If you are then you do know you going to have to wait for more than a year or more to cover an area depends on how close you plant the plugs. Be prepared to fight weeds every day.
I tried it by seed= fail
I tried it by plugs= fail, the weeds will grow faster than the grass and is a constant fight to get the weeds out.
Finally success with covering the whole area with fully grown sod.

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » June 14th, 2011, 8:58 am

[quote="Chemical"]I used zoysia but seeing real hell with weeds. Any suggestions ?

Here is what you need to do: remove each weed by hand by pulling it out with the root. It will eventually grow back but you have to keep pulling it out. Meanwhile let your grass grow to about 2/1/2" , this will create a thick mat and drown out all other weeds from germinating.
Your grass is too short to compete with the fast growing weeds. Don't allow the weeds to get mature because it will produce seeds.
2 problems with my solution: manual labour at first to get the weeds out and longer you keep the grass the less it looks pretty.
Shorter the grass the more the weeds will thrive and more more often you have to cut the grass

Postby pugboy » June 14th, 2011, 7:33 pm

24D chemical will get rid of the regular broadleaf weeds
pull the grassy weeds, esp nutgrass
and use a pre-emergent chemical which will not allow any new weed seeds blown in to hatch

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 14th, 2011, 8:16 pm

Thanx all however I don't know if the initial top soil used had weed seeds in it. It was my wife's brain storm & it costed alot of money.Another note is this turf has to literally be cared for like a child.

Time is what I don't have as I get home from work really late every day.

Postby pugboy » June 14th, 2011, 8:31 pm

start with the pre-emergent herbicide, check Caribbean Chemicals for one called Herbadox
or any other one and use that, it has to be soaked in the soil so any seeds landing on the soil and making contact will not hatch

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 15th, 2011, 6:00 am

Thank you pugboy, will call CC for the information.Also the patches on the turf, I was told there is a "grass cricket" that eats the lawn ?

mazdamaniac

Postby mazdamaniac » June 15th, 2011, 6:31 am

I was told to use "mould seed" which is a chemical pillet for mould crickets.

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2011, 7:07 am

any regular insecticide like Diazinon will work for the underground insects

Chemical wrote:Thank you pugboy, will call CC for the information.Also the patches on the turf, I was told there is a "grass cricket" that eats the lawn ?