Attention Animal Rights Activists!

security

Attention Animal Rights Activists!

Postby security » June 8th, 2011, 10:02 pm

I am writing this message in order to request help to release my pet which has been held since 29th April in the Quarantine Station facility located in Havelock Street, Curepe in very unsafe and unsanitary conditions.

Animals enter this Quarantine Station, healthy, only to have their lives shortened by abuse or illness — at the hands of our Government. The Quarantine Station is a depressing place. You can feel the dark energy, the sadness and pain. It is a mystery as to why the Government objects to changing the Quarantine system. The leaders only need to study the rabies vaccination statistics to see quarantine, as operated in Trinidad and Tobago, is completely unnecessary. Today, we can fly from the mainland to the United Kingdom with a “pet passport” (eligible pets have rabies vaccinations, blood tests and microchips). But we cannot fly to Trinidad without “jailing” our pets.
Spending 30 to 120 days exposed to the elements, sleeping in the same confined quarters without exercise, extreme heat, fleas, ticks, wounds, skin rashes is cruel, inhumane punishment. Yet our innocent, vaccinated animal companions are imprisoned at the state Quarantine, guilty only of being in Trinidad.
I ask the Animal Rights Activist to request to our lawmakers to please eliminate unnecessary incarceration of qualified pets.

I also wanted to forward the following article from September 2007: http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,296062,00.html ,which confirms that dogs coming from USA are very healthy and it is not necessary to incarcerate them...

These are just “some” of the conditions of the Quarantine Station:

(1) The facilities are not in good condition. The space, utilities and facilities in the quarantine station are not thoroughly sterilized using specified chemicals, methods and procedures to keep animals and the internal environment clean. The dogs have cuts in paws and tails from the rusted metal doors and the fences.

(2) There are not fire prevention, antitheft, poison, and rat, mosquito and fly prevention measures. The animals in the compound have numerous bite marks and ticks, they also have skin rash.

(3) They fail to feed and attend animals according to a regular feeding time. There have been numerous times I have visited my pet and I have found the bowls without fresh water.

(4) The quarantine station is not well cleaned, and animal excrement, contaminant, sewage and refuse is not disposed conforming to epidemic prevention and environmental requirements.

(5) The staff of the quarantine stations is not trained to handle animals, there are not related regulations, quarantine station management systems, animal feeding and epidemic prevention during quarantine and other professional knowledge, and are not tested for qualification before working on in the facility. There is not a Veterinarian in the compound and they do not allow our personal veterinary to enter the compound to inspect the dog.

(7) There is not a proper laboratory equipped with personnel, technology, instruments and equipment satisfying the need of inspection work.

(8) There is not ventilation system, especially in these weather conditions (32 Celsius Degrees). I placed a fan in the kennel for the dog to be able to beat the heat but it is not enough. Dogs can have brain damage or death from heatstroke in just 15 minutes.

(9) There are not green areas where pets can exercise. Pets are not allowed to leave the kennel. My dog has gained a few pounds due to the lack of exercise. If we did not provide the food, I am certain the dog would be starving.

(10) There are not sewage treatment facilities to ensure the sewage emission conforms to epidemic prevention and environmental requirements and to prevent any disease agent from entering or escaping the facility

(11) The Facilities do not provide safety. Gates and fences are never locked to prevent quarantine animals from escaping.
IMG_9145.JPG
Old Metal kennel doors in extremely bad condition.
IMG_9182.JPG
Previous laceration due to the poor maintenance of the facility that was treated by the owner
IMG_9153.jpg
Cuts due to old metal kennel doors in bad condition. There is no Vet in the Station to attend the animal. The cuts are left to be taken care by the owners as another Veterinarians are not allowed in the Compound.
IMG_9190.JPG
"Medicine Fridge"
IMG_9115.JPG
Animal Incinerator
IMG_9110.JPG
"Animal Autopsy Room"
IMG_9120.JPG
"Animal Lab"
IMG_9138.JPG
This is the entrance of the Quarantine Station, please note the sign: "Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory" and please note the lack of security.
Last edited by security on June 29th, 2011, 4:36 am, edited 12 times in total.

Re: Help! Animal Cruelty in Quarantine Station

Postby nervewrecker » June 8th, 2011, 10:18 pm

Section 79 of the Summary Offences Act states that: “Any person who cruelly beats, ill-treats, starves, over- drives, overrides, overloads, abuses, tortures, or otherwise maltreats any animal is liable to a fine of $400 or to imprisonment for two months

how much for tint?

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2011, 10:24 pm

lawyer up, maybe even consumer affairs division

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 8th, 2011, 10:24 pm

So why didn't you do your research before importing a dog, if you had done checks you would know that it would have been better off to leave the animal where it was because quarantine is a sheithole

security

Postby security » June 8th, 2011, 10:45 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:So why didn't you do your research before importing a dog, if you had done checks you would know that it would have been better off to leave the animal where it was because quarantine is a sheithole

That dog is like my son, the dog was living with me, I was not going to abandon him in USA. There was not another option.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 8th, 2011, 10:48 pm

Well pal welcome back to Trinidad, where animals have no rights.

Re: Quarantine Station in poor condition

Postby S_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 12:16 am

yu shudda stay in USA..seriously..trinidad is a dump.. :|

Postby TRAE » June 9th, 2011, 10:46 am

S_2NR wrote:yu shudda stay in USA..seriously..trinidad is a dump.. :|

then move... I like it here

Re: Attention Animal Rights Activists!

Postby Bizzare » June 9th, 2011, 10:53 am

Ent....go to the forking USA.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 9th, 2011, 10:58 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:So why didn't you do your research before importing a dog, if you had done checks you would know that it would have been better off to leave the animal where it was because quarantine is a sheithole

Clearly you don't understand the relationship some people have with their animals.

security,

Did you contact anyone from TTSPCA for advice on what to do?
Try getting in touch with Sara or Sita. (North Branch).

11 Mucurapo Lands,
Mucurapo Road,
St. James.
Trinidad and Tobago

Tel: (868) 622-1367
Tel/Fax: (868) 628-1615
Email: info@ttspca.org

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 9th, 2011, 11:09 am

Captainzaak wrote:

Clearly you don't understand the relationship some people have with their animals.

security,

Did you contact anyone from TTSPCA for advice on what to do?
Try getting in touch with Sara or Sita. (North Branch).

11 Mucurapo Lands,
Mucurapo Road,
St. James.
Trinidad and Tobago

Tel: (868) 622-1367
Tel/Fax: (868) 628-1615
Email: info@ttspca.org

Yeah but what is the sense of bringing an animal if it is going to be left in a facility to suffer and probably die

Postby SUPAstarr » June 9th, 2011, 12:05 pm

TTSPCA has already received a report of this today and will be discussing how best they can assist.

Postby S_2NR » June 9th, 2011, 1:33 pm

TRAE wrote:

to each his own..doh beat up :drinking:

Postby Stephon. » June 9th, 2011, 1:38 pm

TRAE wrote:

:lol: :lol: So much potential.

@OP sorry to hear what happened to your pet, lawyer up. I know I would if I was in your situation.

security

Postby security » June 9th, 2011, 9:06 pm

First Set of Photos of the Quarantine Station has been uploaded

security

Attention Animal Rights Activists! Part 2

Postby security » June 9th, 2011, 9:18 pm

This is a continuation of the topic: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=377470

Please see below more photos of the Quarantine Station
IMG_9184.jpg
Infected paw of one of the dogs in the Station
IMG_9185.JPG
Skin rashes and infections are common in this Station
IMG_9163.JPG
One of the sad dogs stuck in this Quarantine Station
IMG_9197.JPG
Cat roaming free in the Quarantine Station...
IMG_9206.JPG
Rusty roof/fence of the kennel
IMG_9173.JPG
Walls of the Kennel
IMG_9171.JPG
Mold and Fungus...
IMG_9129.JPG
Animal excrement, contaminant, sewage and refuse is not disposed conforming to epidemic prevention and environmental requirements
Last edited by security on June 9th, 2011, 9:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

security

Postby security » June 9th, 2011, 9:20 pm

Any help will be greatly appreciated
Last edited by security on June 9th, 2011, 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kiro_lee

Re: Attention Animal Rights Activists! Part 2

Postby Kiro_lee » June 9th, 2011, 9:22 pm

U can just put them in one thread. A merge will be in order.

Postby DFC » June 9th, 2011, 9:32 pm

Bro I say u go @ midnight and take your dog and go home.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 10th, 2011, 7:14 am

DFC wrote:Bro I say u go @ midnight and take your dog and go home.

Postby Stephon. » June 10th, 2011, 7:57 am

Them pictures hard to watch, your dog still there?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » June 10th, 2011, 11:35 am

DFC wrote:Bro I say u go @ midnight and take your dog and go home.

x3 ... it doh even look like it would have any1 watching the compound ...go thru daddy!

security

Postby security » June 10th, 2011, 11:51 am

Stephon. wrote:Them pictures hard to watch, your dog still there?

Yes, they want to keep it there until August, that is why I am trying to get help for them to release it

security

Postby security » June 10th, 2011, 12:11 pm

I just was told that Dogs are left unattended from 4:00 PM to the next day? The bowl of water will be empty by the afternoon and nobody is there to refill it ...
Last edited by security on June 13th, 2011, 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » June 10th, 2011, 12:17 pm

security wrote:-Dogs are left unattended from 4:00 PM to the next day

There's your chance to
DFC wrote:go @ midnight and take your dog and go home.

security

Postby security » June 10th, 2011, 12:21 pm

Stephon. wrote:

There's your chance to

I will just be risking his life, because they will come to my home to pick him up and they will put them to sleep because he left the Quarantine Station before time...

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » June 10th, 2011, 12:21 pm

Get ur dog out of there man.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » June 10th, 2011, 12:23 pm

That place really in ah sad state yes.
Last edited by Sheriff on June 13th, 2011, 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

security

Postby security » June 10th, 2011, 12:32 pm

It is not only the place, it is the fact that the entire Quarantine process does not make any sense and they are risking the health of the citizens also, as they are cats roaming free in the compound and they enter in the dog kennels all the time. If a dog comes with a disease, it will spread very easily as the basic controls are not there!

Postby nemisis » June 10th, 2011, 5:40 pm

Stephon. wrote:

There's your chance to

Your dog in a bad situation yes but look for a legal solution and not this betham behavior suggested above