nintendo new nex gen console wii U

mediahouse

nintendo new nex gen console wii U

Postby mediahouse » June 7th, 2011, 8:58 pm

LOS ANGELES--After teasing it for months, Nintendo finally took the wraps off of its new console this morning. Dubbed the Wii U, the new device will bring a host of innovative new features to home console gaming, thanks to its revolutionary controller. The controller is centered on a 6.2-inch touchscreen and will also boast twin circle pads, D-pad, two shoulder buttons, twin triggers, face buttons, microphones, and an accelerometer, camera, and gyroscope.

These features, as well as the ability to use the controller's screen as a second display, have attracted a bevy of third-party development talent to the Wii U. THQ is readying Darksiders II as a launch title for the system, and is also bringing Metro: Last Light to the platform. Namco Bandai's Tekken, Codemasters' Dirt, Ubisoft's Ghost Recon Online, Warner Bros.' Batman: Arkham City, and Tecmo Koei's Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor's Edge are also in development for the system, while Sega's Aliens: Colonial Marines is "being prototyped and considered" for the console
However, other than a Super Smash Bros. title, Nintendo has been cagey about first-party support for the new console. During the Wii U section of its presentation, the game giant hinted at a Wii Sports-type game with some baseball and golf tech demos, as well as a Zelda title with a brief video clip showing a battle from Twilight Princess re-envisioned on the console. Another "conceptual idea" was called New Super Mario Bros. Mii, which saw players' Miis play alongside Mario.

rodfarva

Re: nintendo new nex gen console wii U

Postby rodfarva » June 7th, 2011, 9:17 pm

well, no big suprise. an Icon is dead.

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » June 7th, 2011, 9:18 pm

wow Wii U. we u. hmmm.

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » June 7th, 2011, 9:31 pm

Video sold it though. I need one.

Postby Stephon. » June 7th, 2011, 9:51 pm

Awkward device.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » June 7th, 2011, 10:37 pm

noice!

todd61

Postby todd61 » June 7th, 2011, 10:49 pm

Stephon. wrote:Awkward device.

That's just the controller

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 7th, 2011, 10:59 pm

hmmm, if they package good graphics capabilities, then this could be a big hit, seems like it might be extra pricey though...

Postby Bizzare » June 7th, 2011, 11:03 pm

Ent! Lady Gaga go endorse this.
0:58 to 1:02 made me laugh. Don't know why.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 8th, 2011, 12:22 am

so its all about the controller

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 8th, 2011, 2:32 am

yay technology!!!!

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » June 8th, 2011, 4:08 am

nintendo has gone back to the hardcore market with this new console and even will produced M rated games,it was something nintendo always lacked since they always cater for a family oriented market looks interesting tho, say what finally a tekken game comes to nintendo hahaha

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 8th, 2011, 4:19 am

that thing looks so uncomfortable to hold

Also I read the graphics is on par with 360 and PS3 it can do 1080p. Not that this is bad hopefully it will stop sony and ms from releasing another console till 2015 cause there is no competition really

I tired of graphics and more graphics. I want gameplay. I love them indie games like dead nation and stuff that you get off PSN for like $10 and can play with friends online CO OP.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » June 8th, 2011, 4:54 am

hitler isnt pleased with the new console

you can see more on the console here

http://e3.nintendo.com/videos/#/all/HW_DI_Sizzle

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 8th, 2011, 5:46 am

I won't lie but Hitler looks like he more popular now than he was in the last century yes LOL

If anyone watched that movie downfall you would see how amazing that show was. I don't think I ever seen anything as amazing as that in my life. Such brilliant acting hollywood does not have.

Of all the movies about Hitler and the War that were created. Nobody did it as brilliant as Germany.

Downfall is one of a kind jed.

Postby Stephon. » June 8th, 2011, 6:29 am

Bizzare wrote:

Ent! Lady Gaga go endorse this.
0:58 to 1:02 made me laugh. Don't know why.

Sad thing is if she does, I will most likely order one.

Postby honda hoe » June 8th, 2011, 7:22 am

rodfarva wrote:well, no big suprise. an Icon is dead.

Nintendo has stopped appealing to hardcore gamer since the super nes

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » June 8th, 2011, 7:25 am

honda hoe wrote:

yea true but this new console will put them back in the hardcore market, there are already titles in the making for it

Postby honda hoe » June 8th, 2011, 7:47 am

No it won't

That controller isn't suitable for long gaming sessions. Its huge and not at all ergonomic. Plus I'm sure the bulk of top 3rd party developers won't be bothered .. just like the wii. Expect it to collect dust between Mario Zelda and metroid titles after the novelty wears off

Postby noshownogo » June 8th, 2011, 8:01 am

Hadda agree with hoe for a change, I see some nice innovation in peripherals from Nintendo but third party developers will look to Sony and Microsoft as lead consoles next gen. Nintendo's willingness to go so niche means they stand almost alone in new titles utilizing the tech.

Who spends millions to develop a game for Wii U and then ports it to PS4 and X720?

Postby Bizzare » June 8th, 2011, 8:03 am

A hardcore gamer is one who has become one with the controller. :D
He/she comfortably controls the controller subconsciously, while consciously focusing only on the game.
This isn't possible with the wii.
Wii is sh!t and most likely will always be. :fist:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » June 8th, 2011, 9:26 am

mediahouse wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

yea true but this new console will put them back in the hardcore market, there are already titles in the making for it

No.

brickman

Postby brickman » June 8th, 2011, 10:00 am

Should have been a stand alone console,would consider going back to nintendo if it was.Not buying a wii so not buying this,PS VITA FTW!!!! 0X

Postby honda hoe » June 8th, 2011, 10:11 am

Nintendo's 'Bizarre' Wii U will be a Hard Sell to Gamers

http://www.pcworld.com/article/229719/n ... amers.html

Postby Sky » June 8th, 2011, 10:49 am

Nintendo need to stop looking for new innovations and create a monster console that you need to put a Lasko fan on 24/7.

Personally I'm not impressed with the PS3 and 360 gfx. There's more to video games than polygons, but that's what's selling. Sooner or later Pokemon will get stale and Nintendo won't be able to fool around.

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » June 9th, 2011, 12:36 am

talking about the Wii U and PS tv

Postby Stephon. » June 9th, 2011, 1:33 am

Might buy it for my parents, I gave them my wii. Don't know if they would actually use it though, all my mom plays is pacman and all my dad plays is super mario bros :lol: But at least that's one Christmas gift out of the way.

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » June 9th, 2011, 7:06 am

blah i hope they can revive the killer instinct series lol,
but other controllers are compatible so hardcore people can use those

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » June 9th, 2011, 9:58 am

http://youtu.be/0JElywbkSbY

i not even bothering with the tags for this one