Foreign Used Tyres?

TrinbagoMan

Foreign Used Tyres?

Postby TrinbagoMan » June 2nd, 2011, 2:57 pm

Any of you ever bought foreign used tyres? I thinking of buying such as I need two tyres and i dont feel like to spend 1600 on them as i will only be using them for less than 6 months.

Any place you would recommend?

Re: Foreign Used Tyres?

Postby DFC » June 2nd, 2011, 3:01 pm

i using foreign abused tyres long time...i cant afford new ones!
it works good.

All over south have tyre shops.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 2nd, 2011, 3:01 pm

try singh and sons on couva main rd

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2011, 3:05 pm

i prefer foreign used rubbers

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » June 2nd, 2011, 4:29 pm

Alyuh brave yes..

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » June 2nd, 2011, 4:29 pm

It would help if u say wey u from

And doh say Trinbago eh (1clout)

Postby SUPAstarr » June 2nd, 2011, 5:24 pm

I used foreign used tyre for 2 years on my hatch which I solodexed, I went through 2 pairs in the back and 4 pairs in front, mostly goodyear eagle F1s, they are the freakin bomb. Never had a blowout, an the tyres performed excellently on an off the course. Bought most of them from that place jus off couva flyover, can't remember the name. I always check manufacture date an for any cracks or embedded screws or previous repairs.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » June 2nd, 2011, 5:29 pm

foreign used tyres good cheaper and well nuttin really wrong wit dem..have a friend in warren wit a tyre shop they have some bess price on foreign used tyres

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 2nd, 2011, 6:47 pm

Just make sure you give the tyres a really good examination. As many good stories there are here there are probably hundreds of bad ones.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 2nd, 2011, 9:19 pm

was like wtf at a tyre shop when a maxi man roll in, gone in the back of the place, found a "foreign used" michelin tyre which looked practically new, paid a $150, install and roll out....leaving me putting on a pair of sumitomo's @ $775 each....I was amazed at the quantity of "bead" on that michelin tyre as it compared well with that of my new sumitomos....grrr....

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2011, 9:22 pm

tyres are the only part of your vehicle that makes contact with the road
think about that when buyin used tyres

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » June 2nd, 2011, 9:31 pm

Never tried foreign used yet, but I know plenty people who does and they have no problems. If you from south their is a guy on the Naparima Mayaro Rd a little way past Reform Rd. There is a landslip in front. He has some good prices but had no more 14's.

Postby nervewrecker » June 2nd, 2011, 9:39 pm

pm pioneer bout the landslip.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » June 2nd, 2011, 9:56 pm

nervewrecker wrote:pm pioneer bout the landslip.

Postby rollingstock » June 2nd, 2011, 10:08 pm

cinco wrote:tyres are the only part of your vehicle that makes contact with the road
think about that when buyin used tyres

I used to think the same and still do to an extent, but when i bought my 17 rims for daily use to replace the 20's due to the distance i drive and price of new tyre and suspension parts the tyre shop where i bought the tyres didn't have 225/45/17 profile new so he offered 4 used pirelli euforia run flats at no extra cost because i buy all my rims and new tyres there, 7 months later i still have those same tyres on my car with no issues, they even have a good amount of beads still.

Postby sMASH » June 2nd, 2011, 10:13 pm

what is the effective difference between new and used tires? ware. eventually the beads on the new tires goin to ware down and reach the same depth as the foreign used.

xtech

Postby xtech » June 2nd, 2011, 10:43 pm

^^^ent
paid $250 for brand new f-used 18 inch bridgestone runflat tires......ask me when last i buy a new tire

who remember dunlop qualifier with the big threads.........thats how long :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » June 2nd, 2011, 10:49 pm

xtech wrote:^^^ent
paid $250 for brand new f-used 18 inch bridgestone runflat tires......ask me when last i buy a new tire

who remember dunlop qualifier with the big threads.........thats how long :lol:

yea.....yuh see dem brand new almera by de forrin used car dealer?

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » June 2nd, 2011, 10:52 pm

Just take note that just because you see "bead" on a used tyre does not mean it is good. Many used tyres are eroded on the inside walls because the previous owners use the tyres under inflated which basically means that they drive it when the tyre was near to flat. If you pass your hand inside a tyre and plenty black dust come out in your hand you will know. I see handfuls of that come out of tyres already and the tyre shop will still sell it to you.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 2nd, 2011, 11:02 pm

plus one is unsure whether the tyre is bent... or has a "hop"

srnoth

Postby srnoth » June 3rd, 2011, 12:06 am

I guess ppl have good and bad experiences... mine were all bad lol. Was looking for some unusual high profile tyres... couldn't get new so decided to try used...
1) First set developed 'humps' very quickly. The store changed them out for free though...
2) Second set... the outer skin of the rear tyre peeled off (sounded like an explosion) while doing about 150kph heading south (yes I know that's speeding but it shows the tire had a fault). Ripped of my rear bumper but fortunately didn't loose control... could have been a lot worse if the inner skin had exploded too...

Anyway after that I didn't bother try my luck again lol. New tyres and decent brands all the way.

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 3rd, 2011, 12:19 am

i neverbought a new tyre cept for offroading 2500$ for one....my car always on fu tyres...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 3rd, 2011, 12:47 am

Well a lot of guys vouching for foreign used tyres.....

Personally I dont mind spending the extra to get new tyres knowing that my family and I would be safer with the new tyres......

Then again my tyres usually last for about 4 - 5 years on my car so its a good investment.....

Fellas - maxi men who change tyres often would try to get the cheapest way out to cut back on cost.....

Foreign used tyres business around for a long time now.....so i guess they doing good business.......

D404by4

Postby D404by4 » June 3rd, 2011, 12:58 am

If alyuh dont value your families go ahead and buy fu tyres.
Obviously they have been changed for some reason or the other. In the long run it costs cheaper to purchase new tyres.

p.s i doh mind consoling alyuh gyul. jus forward their numbers

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » June 3rd, 2011, 1:03 am

That's ur first post d404by4? You would fit right in! But somehow I feel that's somebody second account.

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » June 3rd, 2011, 3:29 am

sometimes it all depends on what kind of driver you are when buyin tyres

Postby cinco » June 3rd, 2011, 6:37 am

if you are buying the tyres for an event like dex or your second set of wheels i say go right ahead but to me if you can afford to buy big rims you should be able to afford the tyres
cant ball on a budget dan

Postby turbosingh » June 3rd, 2011, 6:45 am

Try John's tyre shop in Couva he has a wide variety an you could choose what you want.Went last week an picked out myself 2 Toyo Proxes an 2 Dunlop Sp Sport 9000 like brand an rolled out only paying $800.Rather than paying $800 for one 8-)

Postby sMASH » June 3rd, 2011, 7:08 am

and tires have speed ratings and new ones can have manufacturer's defects.

my father has had some poor experiences with foreign used for the disco. but those big sizes probably aren't bought that much so they don't sell, so probably dry rot.
me, never get a bad deal yet, and always check it as much as possible to see what defects might be there, as well as the speed rating.

Postby turbosingh » June 3rd, 2011, 7:23 am

^^ I had Brand new Firestone tyres on mi B12 an at 160km one of it blow out on the Highway the car spin about three times before it stop so they do come defected as well as their are fakes!