rdeonarine

Beetham people sorry

Postby rdeonarine » June 2nd, 2011, 7:20 am

No more crime
Beetham residents say sorry:
By Akile Simon

Story Created: Jun 1, 2011 at 11:53 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Jun 1, 2011 at 11:53 PM ECT )

NO MORE!

This was the chant from Beetham, Port of Spain residents last night signalling the end to a spate of robberies, road blockades and vandalism.

The residents also apologised to members of the public for the distress caused over the years and promised to stop committing crimes.

For the first time the residents openly confessed to being involved in robberies in maxi-taxis and taxis, while motorists are stuck in traffic on the Beetham Highway and even the staging of robberies in taxis along the highway.

At a meeting held with executive officers of Police Service at Phase Three, Beetham, the residents, were also critical of the treatment meted out to them by police officers.

The meeting was organised by Insp Gordon Walcott of the Inter-Agency Task Force, a man the residents said they respected, following protest action by residents on May 20 over the shooting of "community leader" Cassius "Cass" Williams.

Williams, 26, was shot in the upper thigh by officers from the Besson Street Police Station. After he was shot, a mob of angry villagers dragged the injured man away from the custody of the police officers. This shooting triggered a fiery demonstration in which the villagers blocked the highway and the Priority Bus Route, and stoned passing motorists.

According to Sherma Wilson, a resident and radio talk show host at Power 102 FM, the residents are truly sorry for their actions but also want to police to treat them with respect and dignity.

She said while the police had their job to do, the residents also have their responsibilities in "cleaning up our acts and putting our house in order."

Wilson admitted that Beetham residents have ill-treated motorists and passengers by launching missiles at passing cars on Beetham Highway and the PBR.

Wilson added: "So we condemn the inhumane and unlawful actions by police officers, but we must recognise that is also inhumane and unlawful when motorists finds themselves in vehicular problems on the highway to be meted out by actions of violence and robberies."

"As a radio talk show host, I am bombarded by complaints of people being beaten and robbed, including women and frightened children, who are dragged and kidnapped, fearing for their lives."

"To the travelling public, we say, we are very sorry. Sorry for the harm and pain that we have brought to you. To the police officers we are sorry too, we love you. All that we ask of you is respect. People is people wherever you go, and in Beetham Gardens, we are people too," Wilson said.

Fellow resident, Anderson Wilson, no relation to Sherma, who is well-known in the Beetham community for his role in leading protest actions and voicing concerns over alleged police brutality, also admitted that he once was a notorious chain-snatcher but has since changed his life. He too apologised for the pain and hurt villagers brought on innocent civilians, promising that such actions would cease to exist from last night.

"It ain't have nobody ain't snatch more chains than me. We assure you all that there will be no more, no more after this hour," Wilson said.

Deputy Commissioner in charge of Anti-Crime Operations, Mervyn Richardson, apologised for the absence of Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs who had promised the residents just over one week ago, that he would be present to hear their complaints.

Richardson promised the residents the appropriate action will be taken in relation to all their complaints and suggestions, but asked them to partner with the police in order to make their lives and community safer. He assured them that their concerns have not fallen on deaf ears.

Also in attendance at the meeting were ACPs Margaret Sampson-Brown, head of Community Relations; Harold Phillip, Anti-Crime Operations; David Nedd, Homicide Bureau of Investigations; Supt Carlton Alleyne and ASP Kenny Mc Intyre both of the IATF; and ASP Radcliffe Boxhill, of the Criminal Investigations Unit (CIU

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/No_ ... 96253.html

rdeonarine

Re: Beetham people sorry

Postby rdeonarine » June 2nd, 2011, 7:21 am

is this a genuine attempt to rehabilitate or another ploy?

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2011, 7:29 am

shoot some more of dem animal

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 2nd, 2011, 7:30 am

Postby Bizzare » June 2nd, 2011, 7:32 am

Beetham residents have now realized that police officers can brutalize them and get away with it. They can shoot / beat any guy who LOOKS like a criminal and get away with it. Its almost as if they're the one in fear now, cuz lately officers have been shooting to kill / using extreme force, no questions asked. Even "innocent" residents may feel the wrath of the police service at times. OP, can't you see this is a ploy to rid the community of any kind of police presence? The guy who claimed to snatch gold chains should be brutalized and arrested.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » June 2nd, 2011, 7:34 am

1ploy

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 2nd, 2011, 7:36 am

Lets hope it last longer than the "peace treatys" they used to sign.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 2nd, 2011, 7:39 am

Bizzare wrote:Beetham residents have now realized that police officers can brutalize them and get away with it. They can shoot / beat any guy who LOOKS like a criminal and get away with it. Its almost as if they're the one in fear now, cuz lately officers have been shooting to kill / using extreme force, no questions asked. Even "innocent" residents may feel the wrath of the police service at times. OP, can't you see this is a ploy to rid the community of any kind of police presence? The guy who claimed to snatch gold chains should be brutalized and arrested.

x2 think of the depression he may have caused numerous innocent law abiding citizens.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » June 2nd, 2011, 7:45 am

where pios, the beethamites infringing on his intellectual property, they're living life 1ploy at a time...

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » June 2nd, 2011, 8:04 am

wonders y a mass nuke out doh occur in laventille!

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2011, 8:06 am

cinco wrote:shoot some more of dem animal

You cant do that, where would PNM get support?

neoise

Postby neoise » June 2nd, 2011, 8:11 am

I still think napalm is the answer

Postby r3iXmann » June 2nd, 2011, 8:11 am

rdeonarine wrote:People is people wherever you go, and in Beetham Gardens, we are people too," Wilson said.

lol. :|

beetham is as close to africa as it gets

and i don't mean the people :|

Postby TRAE » June 2nd, 2011, 8:17 am

dont believe---1 in support of mass extinction of beethamites

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2011, 8:27 am

r3iXmann wrote:
rdeonarine wrote:People is people wherever you go, and in Beetham Gardens, we are people too," Wilson said.

thats racist

Postby r3iXmann » June 2nd, 2011, 8:30 am

cinco wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

thats racist

beethamites are not people, so it's cool 8-)

Postby cinco » June 2nd, 2011, 8:31 am

r3iXmann wrote:
cinco wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

thats racist

cinco wrote:shoot some more of dem animal

Postby Bizzare » June 2nd, 2011, 8:35 am

I hear police does refer to Beetham raids as hunting season?
RS confirm?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 2nd, 2011, 8:36 am

I say we should all party in Hell Yard/ Garrison this here coming summer!

Postby RBphoto » June 2nd, 2011, 8:41 am

I believe them..... then again I voted UNCA hoping for change also :|

Postby Stephon. » June 2nd, 2011, 8:43 am

Kinda late for a fking apology now a$$holes!

Postby foss » June 2nd, 2011, 8:45 am

Beethamites. wrote:big bram dis friday, fall eeeen tuners

Postby rfari » June 2nd, 2011, 8:47 am

for a second i tort it was april 1 yes.

Postby AllTrac » June 2nd, 2011, 8:49 am

i think its BS.

anyone wanna try? stop of on the beetham and pop yuh bonnet

Postby Stephon. » June 2nd, 2011, 8:49 am

r3iXmann wrote:
cinco wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:

thats racist

Postby Bizzare » June 2nd, 2011, 9:00 am

I'm jus waiting for part two of this. I see lots of gullible people being robbed in the Beetham in the near future.

Postby K74T » June 2nd, 2011, 9:02 am

haha what a joke

Postby TRAE » June 2nd, 2011, 9:21 am

AllTrac wrote:i think its BS.

anyone wanna try? stop of on the beetham and pop yuh bonnet

dem might rob yuh your anal virginity too yes