device to lift /move heavy half barrel planters

jsr

device to lift /move heavy half barrel planters

Postby jsr » May 31st, 2011, 7:11 pm

Is there any way i can move some plastic barrel planters as shown below. I tried those hand trucks but the base is too short and weak
lisa's pics 054.jpg
lisa's pics 053.jpg

Re: device to lift /move heavy half barrel planters

Postby Rainman » May 31st, 2011, 7:15 pm

Empty the dirt and the plant, move the barrel and replant.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 31st, 2011, 8:09 pm

but you have to get someone to help you push the planter towards the trolley as you tilt it backwards

jsr

Postby jsr » May 31st, 2011, 8:25 pm

i have one just like the one above it suppose to lift 400 lbs

i was trying to do it by myself, perhaps thats where the fault lied

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2011, 9:39 pm

you need to use that cart the other way around and with a piece of wood extending it for leverage
if you ever look at the fellas who transport stuff in the market and on charlotte st you will
see them used more efficiently than the manufacturer intended

Postby rfari » May 31st, 2011, 9:42 pm

Wha u need is a piper jed

jsr

Postby jsr » May 31st, 2011, 9:54 pm

pugboy wrote:you need to use that cart the other way around and with a piece of wood extending it for leverage
if you ever look at the fellas who transport stuff in the market and on charlotte st you will
see them used more efficiently than the manufacturer intended

are you saying that the piece of wood be placed on the flat base essentially extending the length of the flat base
Last edited by jsr on May 31st, 2011, 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jsr

Postby jsr » May 31st, 2011, 10:12 pm

i bought a hand truck like the onepictured above already

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2011, 10:17 pm

its hard to explain but the pipers in town use them all the same way
the way they use them is the handle part is on the ground
and they use wood to extend bothways

jsr

Postby jsr » May 31st, 2011, 10:18 pm

dont see what difference it would make with the convertible ones as it is a lifting issue

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 31st, 2011, 11:45 pm

jsr wrote:dont see what difference it would make with the convertible ones as it is a lifting issue

Hire pioneer to help u lift it

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 1st, 2011, 1:13 am

pricemart has like that too pioneer....

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » June 1st, 2011, 2:52 am

jsr

Postby jsr » June 1st, 2011, 10:14 am

i wonder if those hydraulic trolleys would work?

perhaps i can rent one

Postby Rainman » June 1st, 2011, 10:26 am

How far will you be moving it?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 1st, 2011, 10:29 am

rfari wrote:Wha u need is a piper jed

Ditto.
They move half a barrel, load ah sand, load ah bricks and anythign else all for a $5. Cyar go wrong.

jsr

Postby jsr » June 1st, 2011, 10:33 am

rainman wrote:How far will you be moving it?

not too far..its more or less shufting a few inches to the left or right

althought i was looking at relocating one of them to the other side of the house

brainchild

Postby brainchild » June 1st, 2011, 10:40 am

TobagoAK

Postby TobagoAK » June 1st, 2011, 10:51 am

LMFAO !!

jsr

Postby jsr » June 1st, 2011, 10:58 am

may not like the idea of a piper coming to my house

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » June 1st, 2011, 2:26 pm

Use a few pieces of metal conduit, galvanise pipe is best. Stick each one under and roll.
Try a broom handle or mop handle if it could take the weight. A few pieces of 5/8" steel could work too.

Postby Rainman » June 1st, 2011, 4:42 pm

pioneer wrote:you would be amazed how many pipers been in and around your house and you don't know!

Call name nah

:lilangel:

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 1st, 2011, 6:17 pm

rainman wrote:
pioneer wrote:you would be amazed how many pipers been in and around your house and you don't know!

Call name nah

:lilangel:

jsr

Postby jsr » June 1st, 2011, 7:53 pm

i went by bhagwansingh today and purchased a u shaped metal with two screws on either end .This essentially made a sort of handle on the barrel as i drilled 2 holes in the barrel to insert it.
When secured i inserted a rope into it and pulled it shifted the barrel

i dolike the idea of inserting the galvanise pipes under the barrel and rolling it

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 9th, 2011, 10:57 pm

jsr wrote:i went by bhagwansingh today and purchased a u shaped metal with two screws on either end .This essentially made a sort of handle on the barrel as i drilled 2 holes in the barrel to insert it.
When secured i inserted a rope into it and pulled it shifted the barrel

i dolike the idea of inserting the galvanise pipes under the barrel and rolling it

yuh doh even need any metal thing with screws...hoss dat real easy

jus drill the holes in the side of the barrel insert the rope and make ah knot!!...so that it cant come back through the hole.

ppl have been doing this for years....esp fisher men...

<<yuh might still need the pipers if yuh moving it far!!..>>

also..if u can just strip piece of a hose and place it around the rope...to make it more comfortable to hold.