concrete mixing ratio

UltimateCustomizing

concrete mixing ratio

Postby UltimateCustomizing » May 30th, 2011, 8:30 am

Could anyone inform me as to what is the correct mixing ratio for concrete .
Most builders told me 3:1 but is it ;

3 part gravel to 1 part cement

or

3 part gravel to 1 bag cement

Re: concrete mixing ratio

Postby janfar » May 30th, 2011, 9:08 am

Most builders use the ratio of 3 wheel barrows to 1 bag of cement... this seems to be a common thing and gives you a standard finish WRT houses etc...

Postby X_Factor » May 30th, 2011, 9:09 am

depends on what ur casting
if its for foundations or structural work( posts, ring beam decking etc, some ppl go a bit stronger at 5 barrows of gravel to 2 bags of cement

if its for flat driveways or not as important things they use the 3 to 1 or may even push it a bit more

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2011, 9:57 am

what is most important is the water
too many people make it soupy and couple years later want to know why the concrete wearing away and weak

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 30th, 2011, 12:01 pm

UltimateCustomizing wrote:Could anyone inform me as to what is the correct mixing ratio for concrete .

or

What 28 day concrete compressive strength (cube or cylinder) do you need? That will determine the appropriate proportions. Trinidad Cement Limited has a small brochure with different mix designs depending on the concrete strength you require.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 30th, 2011, 12:16 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
UltimateCustomizing wrote:Could anyone inform me as to what is the correct mixing ratio for concrete .

or

What 28 day concrete compressive strength (cube or cylinder) do you need? That will determine the appropriate proportions. Trinidad Cement Limited has a small brochure with different mix designs depending on the concrete strength you require.

See here for part of brochure:

http://www.tcl.co.tt/resources/resource.asp?id=7772

zcarz

Postby zcarz » May 30th, 2011, 12:25 pm

preheat at 350F and bake for 30 mins

Postby SMc » May 30th, 2011, 12:46 pm

how big is a part of gravel?

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » May 30th, 2011, 12:54 pm

janfar wrote:Most builders use the ratio of 3 wheel barrows to 1 bag of cement... this seems to be a common thing and gives you a standard finish WRT houses etc...

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » May 30th, 2011, 4:48 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

or

This we know, but I dont think he is building something that costing a mil or over,,,otherwise he would've gone with premixed concrete and get all the details and documentation.

Pal, I would say use the mixture everyone here is saying 3:1 which is normally 3 barrows of gravel to a bag of cement, and you can always throw in a few bags depending on how the texture/color is. If you are casting a deck or some structural element,,dont use the 3:1,,more like 5 barrows to 2 bags cement,,are you using any hardener?

If this is who I think it is,,,call me nah,,I would pass and check yuh,,

ssaroop

Postby ssaroop » May 30th, 2011, 7:14 pm

There are several grades of mixes; A to E. (These ratios are for hand mixed). For exposed/coastal concrete we use (2:3:4) grade A, i.e. 2 bags cement, 1.5 w/barrow sand, 2 w/barrow gravel, 2 buckets water. For beams or columns we use (1:2:2) grade B, i.e. 1 bag cement, 1 w/barrow each of sand and gravel, 2 buckets water. For Slab and protected concrete we use (1:2:3) grade C, i.e. 1 bag cement, 1 w/barrow sand, 1.5 w/barrow gravel, 2 buckets water. For Foundations we use (1:2:4) grade D, i.e. 1 bag cement, 1 w/barrow sand, 2 w/barrow gravel, 3 buckets of water. For backfilling or blinding concrete we use (1:3:6) grade E, i.e. 1 bag cement, 1.5 w/barrow sand, 3 w/barrow gravel, 5 buckets water. The strengths in N/mm squared are grade A - 30, grade B - 28, grade C - 26, grade D - 21 and grade E would be rated nstr (non-structural concrete). Please note also that the volume and quality (clean) of water is very important to achieve the strengths. The sand I refer to is sharp sand and the gravel is basically washed gravel either 3/8" or 1/2" or 3/4" (depends on use). Please review the Small Building Guide recently published by the TTBS for all information regarding construction of small residential and commercial buildings available at the government printery. Also beware of some 1/2 and 1/2 gravel being sold that are rated non concrete gravel because it does not cure and bind, you have to trust the source/pit where your driver brings it from.

Postby MG Man » May 30th, 2011, 7:43 pm

ssaroop wrote:There are several grades of mixes; A to E. (These ratios are for hand mixed).
For exposed/coastal concrete we use (2:3:4) grade A, i.e. 2 bags cement, 1.5 w/barrow sand, 2 w/barrow gravel, 2 buckets water.

For beams or columns we use (1:2:2) grade B, i.e. 1 bag cement, 1 w/barrow each of sand and gravel, 2 buckets water.

For Slab and protected concrete we use (1:2:3) grade C, i.e. 1 bag cement, 1 w/barrow sand, 1.5 w/barrow gravel, 2 buckets water.

For Foundations we use (1:2:4) grade D, i.e. 1 bag cement, 1 w/barrow sand, 2 w/barrow gravel, 3 buckets of water.

For backfilling or blinding concrete we use (1:3:6) grade E, i.e. 1 bag cement, 1.5 w/barrow sand, 3 w/barrow gravel, 5 buckets water.

The strengths in N/mm squared are grade A - 30, grade B - 28, grade C - 26, grade D - 21 and grade E would be rated nstr (non-structural concrete).

Please note also that the volume and quality (clean) of water is very important to achieve the strengths.

The sand I refer to is sharp sand and the gravel is basically washed gravel either 3/8" or 1/2" or 3/4" (depends on use).

Please review the Small Building Guide recently published by the TTBS for all information regarding construction of small residential and commercial buildings available at the government printery. Also beware of some 1/2 and 1/2 gravel being sold that are rated non concrete gravel because it does not cure and bind, you have to trust the source/pit where your driver brings it from.

Postby Bizzare » May 30th, 2011, 7:56 pm

pugboy wrote:what is most important is the water
too many people make it soupy and couple years later want to know why the concrete wearing away and weak

who removed my reply to this.

Postby MG Man » May 31st, 2011, 12:45 am

somebody piss on it

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » May 31st, 2011, 8:37 am

The 1/2 and 1/2 being sold are generally smooth pebbles. Ready mix uses crushed stone that has an irregular shape. Because of this, the compression strength is much more with the crushed stone.
Try to get crushed stone instead.

UltimateCustomizing

Postby UltimateCustomizing » May 31st, 2011, 9:48 am

[quote="Nighttroll"]The 1/2 and 1/2 being sold are generally smooth pebbles.

This is an important factor i was looking at .

Postby X_Factor » May 31st, 2011, 4:19 pm

^ ru building a house or something else?