Do I need a mechanic or electrician? car wont start.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 25th, 2011, 10:13 pm

Started the car today ran fine for a few seconds, soon as I turn on the AC there was a strong burning smell coming from the AC vents.

Car shut off. Refuses to start after that even with the AC off still won't start.

But it tumbles and everything healthy, radiator fan comes on, lights come on but will not start.

I eh know what to say about this, a little while now the cd deck was removed and the wires that connected to the deck for power has been exposed, could this have had anything to do with it?

The compressor makes a loud sound when you turn on the AC, but today the noise was extra loud. And kept making that sound 3 times like its cutting off and coming back on and thats when the strong burning smell started to come out.

This is the best info i can give I didnt see any smoke or anything to my knowledge.

Anyone with experience in cars or ever had this problem any info is appreciated.

its a 1994 EG8 civic.

Re: Do I need a mechanic or electrician? car wont start.

Postby SR » May 25th, 2011, 10:18 pm

sounds electrical with possible fried ecu

Postby K74T » May 25th, 2011, 10:20 pm

VTEC kicked out yo :|

Postby sMASH » May 25th, 2011, 10:21 pm

^^ wha chinee restaurant does sell dat now...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 25th, 2011, 10:53 pm

hmm I should mention all the lights on dash comes on normal. blower comes on normal.

could it still be the ecu?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 25th, 2011, 10:57 pm

ac compressor failure it seems like...made many a man change engine.

Postby black start » May 25th, 2011, 11:18 pm

sound like ac bearing lock up and the belt holding engine....try to by past belt on compressor and see if that helps...

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 25th, 2011, 11:22 pm

look for the main fuse...most likely blown

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 25th, 2011, 11:49 pm

Hmm ok I go check my mechanic tomorrow.

I hope is nothing serious. I mean yuh won't have to change an entire engine for something like this right?

According to this site here once the Engine check light comes on once before you start the car that means the ECU is good.

http://www.samarins.com/diagnose/index. ... rmal_crank

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 25th, 2011, 11:58 pm

Yuh know to come to think of it.

I went down the road and everything was normal. Is only later when I put on the AC then it stall and cut off. The burning smell only came when the AC was turned on and I could hear the compressor coming on and cutting off.

So it could really be the bearing thing you was talking about they black start.

Well once is nothing electrical I happy. Even if its a blown fuse or ac belt atleast that can be fixed at a moderate price. But things like ECU and sensors and stuff is headache.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » May 26th, 2011, 12:25 am

you need a mechtrician...

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 26th, 2011, 12:27 am

:popcorn:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 26th, 2011, 1:15 am

Black Start wrote:sound like ac bearing lock up and the belt holding engine....try to by past belt on compressor and see if that helps...

agreed....

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » May 26th, 2011, 4:50 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
Black Start wrote:sound like ac bearing lock up and the belt holding engine....try to by past belt on compressor and see if that helps...

agreed....

But the guy said that it was tumbling, so it can't be the belt holding the engine...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 26th, 2011, 4:53 am

I should mention for some weeks now when I turn on the AC the car tends to shut off. RPM would die down a lot. And then give problems to start.

Real stuttering in with the Engine anytime the AC is on. Unless you running the AC for a long while it then starts to work normal.

I would literally drive without AC simply because when you try to pull off from a dead stop the car would cut off. You does have to turn off the AC till you pick up some speed.

Postby turbosingh » May 26th, 2011, 7:03 am

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=372789&start=60&hilit=honda+men

Thats why yuh have to get a Nissan :lol:

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » May 26th, 2011, 7:31 am

if engine not cranking at a fast enough speed it won't start.

Jack the Ripper wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:

agreed....

But the guy said that it was tumbling, so it can't be the belt holding the engine...

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » May 26th, 2011, 7:56 am

Wen u tek off d ac belt try turning d pulley wit ur hand den u go no if d compressor bearings gone

Postby RBphoto » May 26th, 2011, 8:20 am

You need Jesus.

Postby S_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 8:22 am

not sure about whats not causing d car to start.

but last year i had that same problem with my AC.

after alot of brainstorming and headache...it turned out the a/c fan wasn't staying on causing the compressor to overheat and give those problems.

changed the fan to realise it wasn d fan and that it was the fuse.. tried a new fuse..still didn work. something was wrong with d fusebox connections. just cut my losses and buy a new fusebox.

bought a new fusebox in bamboo and nw everything normal again..havent had the problem since and i run a/c all d time.

jackkle

Postby jackkle » May 26th, 2011, 8:28 am

Ah will give you $15000.00 for it as is. Leh me "deal" with it for you!

rossi

Postby rossi » May 26th, 2011, 8:28 am

check all your belts and see if one isn't broken.

Postby black start » May 26th, 2011, 9:04 am

chindian88 wrote:if engine not cranking at a fast enough speed it won't start.

Jack the Ripper wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:

agreed....

that is very correct....

sleeper

Postby sleeper » May 26th, 2011, 9:06 am

is not no change engine business.
pull out the ac relay or the fuse for the ac and try to start. if that don't work listen to hear if the fuel pump comin on when the ignition on, and if you gettin spark while tumblin.
u did say it was tumbling normal right?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 26th, 2011, 12:41 pm

^ Yes it is tumblin normal.

I should also mention my mechanic had told me like months ago that something was wrong with the fuel pump. Cause its not the first time the car has problems starting.

But even if it had problems starting it would still start eventually. Now it refuses to start atall.

I going by the mechanic tomorrow.

Postby skylinechild » May 26th, 2011, 6:17 pm

should he walk by past the belt or drive by past it.....??? :?

enigma

Postby enigma » May 26th, 2011, 6:29 pm

skylinechild wrote:

Postby black start » May 26th, 2011, 8:51 pm

skylinechild wrote:

ah mean is the old talk but yuh aint have to be such a noob :?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 23rd, 2011, 11:06 am

OK UPDATE

Mechanic finally come home and check it for me.

The spark plugs not getting current he said. So he said it needs a new distributor.

So to the tuner experts here, I heard you can simply buy a new distributor coil? Is this true?
Well I might have to pay $250 labor to install it so might aswell buy a new distributor?

Where sells this now for a D15B Engine?

Postby r3iXmann » June 23rd, 2011, 12:42 pm

yuh phone book mash up too? :roll: