Re: BBQ question to coal or not to coal

Postby Dave » June 21st, 2020, 9:27 am

Very little an air fryer can't do.

Postby maj. tom » June 21st, 2020, 9:57 am

It charred like that in the air fryer? How it tasted? Like the authentic charcoal smoke flavor?

Postby SR » June 21st, 2020, 10:40 am

Duane reeeeeel lazy boy

Man use an air fryer like a crock pot

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2020, 11:14 am

i frying chicken in mine now

i guess u can dial the temps to get the bbq char accurately and not carbonize

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » June 21st, 2020, 11:48 am

Dave wrote:Very little an air fryer can't do.

Agree

I prefer chicken bake or air fried in the unit vs oven now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 21st, 2020, 1:07 pm

maj. tom wrote:It charred like that in the air fryer? How it tasted? Like the authentic charcoal smoke flavor?

Added liquid smoke for the charred smoke flavor

SPK1983

Postby SPK1983 » June 21st, 2020, 5:07 pm

maj. tom wrote:It charred like that in the air fryer? How it tasted? Like the authentic charcoal smoke flavor?

:sick: :sick: :sick:

Postby gastly369 » June 21st, 2020, 6:33 pm

Wanted to try that liquid smoke... And have so many mixed reviews online about it idk...

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » September 5th, 2020, 3:46 pm

Looking to refurbish an old charcoal grill for my dad(he believes in nothing but charcoal). Need to get 2 circular grills; one to hold the coals and the other for the foodstuff (this was the initial design which he wanted). The latter is 20 inches and the one for the coals is just shy of 16 inches..let's say 15 inches in diameter. Any suggestions as to where I can get them and average pricing?

Postby *KRONIK* » September 5th, 2020, 8:06 pm

Boi
Yuh may need to order them online
Doubt you getting good stainless steel grates locally
Jerry84 wrote:Looking to refurbish an old charcoal grill for my dad(he believes in nothing but charcoal). Need to get 2 circular grills; one to hold the coals and the other for the foodstuff (this was the initial design which he wanted). The latter is 20 inches and the one for the coals is just shy of 16 inches..let's say 15 inches in diameter. Any suggestions as to where I can get them and average pricing?

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2020, 8:38 pm

peakes gave replacement weber grates

carluva

Postby carluva » September 6th, 2020, 9:54 am

If you know a good welder, you can buy some welding rods which have the stainless steel core, knock the flux off the rods and then tack rods together to make the grates. It's a lil time consuming, but you'll get something pretty decent. That's how my cooking grates are on the pit I had made a few years ago.

Alternatively, you can buy expanded metal. That is the "mesh" looking metal sheet. I saw it available at Idrees Marketing in Freeport and it's sold by the sheet. Maybe you could get a piece but you'll have to call them to find out. If you get a heavy gauge expanded metal, that's perfect for the charcoal and cooking grates. Just cut them to the required diameter using a grinder and cutting disc. In fact, when you look at custom pits online, that's what they use.
Jerry84 wrote:Looking to refurbish an old charcoal grill for my dad(he believes in nothing but charcoal). Need to get 2 circular grills; one to hold the coals and the other for the foodstuff (this was the initial design which he wanted). The latter is 20 inches and the one for the coals is just shy of 16 inches..let's say 15 inches in diameter. Any suggestions as to where I can get them and average pricing?

carluva

Postby carluva » September 6th, 2020, 9:55 am

Like this, found off the web.
911791013bf523c711a54d32444cfa23.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » September 6th, 2020, 10:13 am

I like this
carluva wrote:Like this, found off the web.
911791013bf523c711a54d32444cfa23.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » September 6th, 2020, 10:29 am

Peakes has the replacement grills for Weber like this https://www.lowes.com/pd/Weber-13-7-in- ... 1000343173

They also had porcelain coated grates in rectangle size last time i checked them.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » September 6th, 2020, 10:41 am

Anyone in the group has a gas or electric smoker and have a direct comparison against charcoal smoker

Also looking for reviews for a gas smoker

Postby SR » September 6th, 2020, 6:41 pm

I have a gas

:)

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2020, 6:59 pm

how is the temp control accuracy on those lpg smokers ?

Postby SR » September 6th, 2020, 8:51 pm

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rE9x4XgK_vE

This is the one i have been using for the last couple of years

Works really well

Converted to 20lb instead of propane

fozzy2010

Postby fozzy2010 » December 31st, 2020, 1:43 pm

Afternoon all,

So I recently won a gas grill and have a question. I I am a complete novice when it comes to gas grills, below is the regulator that it came with and on the door it says it can use Butane, Propane or LPG Gas Mixtures. Does this mean that I can just connect a regular lpg tank and start using it?
WhatsApp Image 2020-12-30 at 3.15.15 PM.jpeg

Postby matr1x » December 31st, 2020, 2:00 pm

Coal obviously

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 31st, 2020, 5:16 pm

fozzy2010 wrote:Afternoon all,

So I recently won a gas grill and have a question. I I am a complete novice when it comes to gas grills, below is the regulator that it came with and on the door it says it can use Butane, Propane or LPG Gas Mixtures. Does this mean that I can just connect a regular lpg tank and start using it?

lpg go burn up the meat and get it black before it cook. jus like how it does black up the pot. use the propane or use the prokleen with propane from ramco (100lb tank) it burns cleaner.

Postby aaron17 » December 31st, 2020, 6:34 pm

Late bump ah coal.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » January 2nd, 2021, 2:09 am

daring dragoon wrote:
fozzy2010 wrote:Afternoon all,

lpg go burn up the meat and get it black before it cook. jus like how it does black up the pot. use the propane or use the prokleen with propane from ramco (100lb tank) it burns cleaner.

Is it confirmed that np fills the tank with propane. . I always wanted to investigate and never got the time

P.s. if lpg is blackening your pots that is a sign of incomplete combustion and your stove needs to be serviced. If lpg is being properly no soot should be formed.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 4th, 2021, 7:38 am

i switched to prokleen with no change to the stove and the blackening of pots etc stopped. the flame lights blue not orangeish now.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 4th, 2021, 7:41 am

daring dragoon wrote:i switched to prokleen with no change to the stove and the blackening of pots etc stopped. the flame lights blue not orangeish now.

blue is usually a sign of clean combustion

Postby De Dragon » January 4th, 2021, 7:49 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:i switched to prokleen with no change to the stove and the blackening of pots etc stopped. the flame lights blue not orangeish now.

blue is usually a sign of clean combustion

Yellow,smoky flame is incomplete combustion due to excess gas/insufficient air. This leads to carbon/soot formation on the bottom of cookware. It also causes lower cooking temps.