Any Tuners Suffering With Sinus

Re: Any Tuners Suffering With Sinus

Postby rspann » May 7th, 2019, 7:35 pm

aaron17 wrote:I think I have dry sinus probs. I does be in ac whole day in work and night ac too and i figure that is the problem. I does wake up stuffy. Lips does be bleeding ..skin itching.. nose like i breathing with a sandpaper. You know a descent air humidifier around locally? Superpharm does be xpensive.

Take a q tip and put vaseline up your nostrils and then pinch and rub it around from the outside. Helps me a lot with the dryness. Try to use unscented though, the scented ones make me sniffle more.

Postby aaron17 » May 7th, 2019, 9:09 pm

rspann wrote:
aaron17 wrote:I think I have dry sinus probs. I does be in ac whole day in work and night ac too and i figure that is the problem. I does wake up stuffy. Lips does be bleeding ..skin itching.. nose like i breathing with a sandpaper. You know a descent air humidifier around locally? Superpharm does be xpensive.

Take a q tip and put vaseline up your nostrils and then pinch and rub it around from the outside. Helps me a lot with the dryness. Try to use unscented though, the scented ones make me sniffle more.
I hear vasaline is bad for the lungs?

Postby maj. tom » May 8th, 2019, 6:29 am

Aaron the symptoms you're describing is dehydration. Drink a liter of water within the hour before you go to sleep.
It would help if you stop sleeping with the ac/fan directly in your face too. Raise the ac temperature to 24°C for sleep and use less clothes/sheets. Use the vaseline trick above. It not going in your lungs. Use a wet cloth over your nose and mouth when the symptoms get bad. Use the nasal rinse. Drink more water! Do you have a marked water bottle? Do you drink 4 liters a day using that metric? Or do you guess how much water you drink?

I mentioned to you before that ac removes moisture from the air and the humidifier puts moisture in the air. Running them together is the same room is counteractive and you will waste a lot of electricity and prematurely burn out your units because of how much harder they will have to work. In the tropics the humidity is always over 60%. Open your bedroom window and let the moisture circulate a bit.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 8th, 2019, 8:45 am

There is some OTC nasal spray to help keep the nasal passages moist. I gotta go get back one today as I had 2 nosebleeds in the last couple days because of the dryness. One when I was asleep and didn't even know it...blood all over :| Never tried the vaseline but I know me, I'll be uncomfortable with that.

My water intake has been very low so, trying to fix that. Make sure and hydrate properly and if you smoke, STOP. I never slept with AC, it's easier to fall asleep without it, breathing wise but I hate mosquitoes even more...so sometimes I have to put it below the usual 24-25 and pull my shield over me lol

Postby The_Honourable » May 8th, 2019, 9:24 am

The_Honourable wrote:Good thread. Outside of nasal sprays, how tuners deal with rhinitis?

Saline rinse
works wonders

I'll try it, thanks!

Anybody did laser surgery for the condition?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 8th, 2019, 9:34 am

The_Honourable wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Good thread. Outside of nasal sprays, how tuners deal with rhinitis?

Saline rinse
works wonders

I'll try it, thanks!

Most pharmacies have nasal rinse kits that include the squirt bottle and packets of crystals to dissolve in water to make the saline. It’s a little awkward doing it the first time but once you realize it will go in one nostril and out the other. Warm the water just a little ~30°C or warmer for comfort.

Postby aaron17 » May 8th, 2019, 9:38 am

maj. tom wrote:Aaron the symptoms you're describing is dehydration. Drink a liter of water within the hour before you go to sleep.
It would help if you stop sleeping with the ac/fan directly in your face too. Raise the ac temperature to 24°C for sleep and use less clothes/sheets. Use the vaseline trick above. It not going in your lungs. Use a wet cloth over your nose and mouth when the symptoms get bad. Use the nasal rinse. Drink more water! Do you have a marked water bottle? Do you drink 4 liters a day using that metric? Or do you guess how much water you drink?

I mentioned to you before that ac removes moisture from the air and the humidifier puts moisture in the air. Running them together is the same room is counteractive and you will waste a lot of electricity and prematurely burn out your units because of how much harder they will have to work. In the tropics the humidity is always over 60%. Open your bedroom window and let the moisture circulate a bit.
Noted thanks.. ps i read all the comments

Postby Dizzy28 » May 8th, 2019, 9:39 am

The_Honourable wrote:

Saline rinse
works wonders

I'll try it, thanks!

Most pharmacies have nasal rinse kits that include the squirt bottle and packets of crystals to dissolve in water to make the saline. It’s a little awkward doing it the first time but once you realize it will go in one nostril and out the other. Warm the water just a little ~30°C or warmer for comfort.

Good thing for this thread
I visited a doctor for sinus in Feb and one of his recommendations which I haven't followed as yet has been the nasal saline rinses.
Will try to start that later.

airuma

Postby airuma » May 8th, 2019, 9:40 am

The_Honourable wrote:

Saline rinse
works wonders

I'll try it, thanks!

I'll try it too.

@aaron17, you may want to read up about Sjogren's syndrome and hypothyroidism just to rule them out. I use the "chap stick" brand (original medicated with black label) lip balm before I go to sleep and it helps alot with chapped lips, other brands don't work well for me.

Postby aaron17 » May 8th, 2019, 9:46 am

airuma wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Saline rinse
works wonders

I'll try it, thanks!

I'll try it too.

@aaron17, you may want to read up about Sjogren's syndrome and hypothyroidism just to rule them out. I use the "chap stick" brand (original medicated with black label) lip balm before I go to sleep and it helps alot with chapped lips, other brands don't work well for me.
Oh ok cool..i made my own nasal spray solution but that aint helping.....only steam with/without peppermint oil helping . Its a dull pain behind my upper jaw where the wisdoms were. Only after I took them out, it started happening..

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 8th, 2019, 3:47 pm

Burning some of those essential oils help make the room a bit more comfortable to be in. Used to mix lavender and peppermint and use the lil tea candle thing to get the vapour. I mean, it may not help with the dryness problem, but give it a try maybe.

airuma

Postby airuma » May 8th, 2019, 7:14 pm

aaron17 wrote:
airuma wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Saline rinse
works wonders

I'll try it, thanks!

I'll try it too.

Oh ok cool..i made my own nasal spray solution but that aint helping.....only steam with/without peppermint oil helping . Its a dull pain behind my upper jaw where the wisdoms were. Only after I took them out, it started happening..

Could be that your sinuses are inflamed and putting pressure on the neck muscles or something to that effect. Best bet is to see a GOOD ENT specialist, you may need antibiotics. Steve Medford is excellent IMHO.

Postby rspann » May 8th, 2019, 7:45 pm

You want to make the man spend unecessary money on doctors? What happen, you don't think we doing a good job?

airuma

Postby airuma » May 8th, 2019, 8:47 pm

rspann wrote:You want to make the man spend unecessary money on doctors? What happen, you don't think we doing a good job?

Excellent actually! But the prescription for the antibiotics might be a problem unless someone has a pharmacy.
@aaron17, did you go to the correct person to have your wisdom teeth removed? some may require maxillofacial doctors.

Postby aaron17 » May 9th, 2019, 4:05 am

airuma wrote:
rspann wrote:You want to make the man spend unecessary money on doctors? What happen, you don't think we doing a good job?

Excellent actually! But the prescription for the antibiotics might be a problem unless someone has a pharmacy.
@aaron17, did you go to the correct person to have your wisdom teeth removed? some may require maxillofacial doctors.
When I complained to him the upper jaw and deferred pain ..he did a complete xray for it ...nothing showed up but he said I could have sinus issues.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » May 9th, 2019, 4:11 pm

Dr. Medford and Dr. Solaiman Juman are good ENT specialists. You should get a proper check out instead of using random stuff.

btw, Pmart has the vicks vaporizer for $140

airuma

Postby airuma » May 9th, 2019, 6:12 pm

aaron17 wrote:
airuma wrote:

When I complained to him the upper jaw and deferred pain ..he did a complete xray for it ...nothing showed up but he said I could have sinus issues.

Have you considered getting an opinion of another dentist? Christopher Mawer in St. Augustine is excellent IMHO.

Postby RedVEVO » May 10th, 2019, 3:59 am

r3iXmann wrote:allegra d is the best..but i was told that there's a shortage :(

Where you living shorty ?

Superpharm have a tonne or is it ton.

Postby Slartibartfast » January 28th, 2020, 11:57 am

DFC wrote:dude, there is a yogic practice called "jal neti" it cures your permanently of sinus and respiratory problems.

when i was a kid, i suffered with sinus, bronchitis, asthma,and allergies, and i met this yoga teacher who told me a 5 min exercise in the morning everyday will cure me.

so i tried it, and it worked, i have been asthma free, sinus free, allergy free for more than 15 years now. i'm healthy as a a horse and can hold my breath in excess of 4 mins.

Try "jal neti" and pranayam.

Is there anywhere locally that sells neti pots? Preferably in Sando...

.... he asked 9 years later :lol:

Seriously though. Interested in trying it out.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 28th, 2020, 1:05 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
DFC wrote:dude, there is a yogic practice called "jal neti" it cures your permanently of sinus and respiratory problems.

when i was a kid, i suffered with sinus, bronchitis, asthma,and allergies, and i met this yoga teacher who told me a 5 min exercise in the morning everyday will cure me.

so i tried it, and it worked, i have been asthma free, sinus free, allergy free for more than 15 years now. i'm healthy as a a horse and can hold my breath in excess of 4 mins.

Superpharm or Valini’s may have

Postby Slartibartfast » January 29th, 2020, 9:49 am

Slartibartfast wrote:

Superpharm or Valini’s may have

Thanks Duane, I'll check it out.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 4th, 2020, 9:47 am

Had some good and bad days with the past Saharan dust :( But i survived.Had to stock up on the Poy-Sian Mark ii Inhaler

Postby gastly369 » June 3rd, 2021, 7:19 pm

Yeh fellas what allyuh taking for this sinus... I may have to see a doc as its been to long about 2 months ago had a sinus issue just right side nose would be clear mornings and after lunch I can't function headache, eye ache and sinus pressure etc

Saw my doc and was given a steroids nasil spray and a 5 day course antibiotics... Didn't seem to do anything but in that time it gradually went... Now up to speed this same issue is back since last week... Would get up with both nose clear as day and by lunchtime is issues....been using neti pot flush and a natural nasil spray xclear.. But nothing seems to be easing it up would get clear phlegm sometimes and then other times would get a piece of thick rubbery phlegm and then clear again...only right side nose this happening to any ideas?

Postby redmanjp » June 3rd, 2021, 8:57 pm

If it not easing up u sure is not a mild case of covid?

Where did u get the xclear?

reynold1

Postby reynold1 » June 3rd, 2021, 9:09 pm

This is what I have been using for sinus rinse, my ENT Doctor gave me this formula
250 Ml warm water
I teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
10 drops candid B mouth paint
10 drops baby shampoo
I use a plastic squirt bottle or a neti pot

Postby gastly369 » June 3rd, 2021, 9:36 pm

redmanjp wrote:If it not easing up u sure is not a mild case of covid?

Where did u get the xclear?
No other symptoms and nothing got worst etc it's same thing since and also as said been going on for over 3 months haven't left my front gate in month and half so doubt

Got xlear on amazon...

Now if I do a neti pot rinse and use some xlear... Everything clears up 100% and feels like everything is gone. And then it gradually comes back in about 3-4 hrs clogged nose etc... I have been and I think over blowing nose and read that could worsen stuff if constantly doing so I'm trying as of today to kinda let it flow on its own after flush etc... Making appointment by doc tmrw.. I'm avoiding gone into that facility so hoping he can give prescription as he already saw me previously for the issue and nothing changed other than it when on its own after a while that time and now only show back up last week...

Postby gastly369 » June 3rd, 2021, 9:37 pm

reynold1 wrote:This is what I have been using for sinus rinse, my ENT Doctor gave me this formula
250 Ml warm water
I teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
10 drops candid B mouth paint
10 drops baby shampoo
I use a plastic squirt bottle or a neti pot
I'm using distilled water salt and baking soda... Not in that strong concentration like yours tho but ill try it and see

Postby gastly369 » June 5th, 2021, 12:16 pm

So little update got some nasonex (first time using) and everything is 80% better in 2 days

Also got some antibiotics for sinus infection so should be good...

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » June 6th, 2021, 1:27 pm

gastly369 wrote:Yeh fellas what allyuh taking for this sinus... I may have to see a doc as its been to long about 2 months ago had a sinus issue just right side nose would be clear mornings and after lunch I can't function headache, eye ache and sinus pressure etc

Saw my doc and was given a steroids nasil spray and a 5 day course antibiotics... Didn't seem to do anything but in that time it gradually went... Now up to speed this same issue is back since last week... Would get up with both nose clear as day and by lunchtime is issues....been using neti pot flush and a natural nasil spray xclear.. But nothing seems to be easing it up would get clear phlegm sometimes and then other times would get a piece of thick rubbery phlegm and then clear again...only right side nose this happening to any ideas?
I've been battling sinus in excess of 2 decades and tried a lot of different remedies. I had a similar problem as above and tried various over the counter medications to no avail. My doctor prescribed various medications as well and none seem to work. Got tested for covid recently and it was negative. Someone told me of a cheap, non prescription pill which I tried and got results. It's called Triz or something like that.

Very inexpensive (like $12 / card) but I don't like to use a lot of sinus medications as they sometimes make you drowsy and you tend to rely more on them in the long term. But this was the only thing that gave me relief.

Something to consider.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 6th, 2021, 3:36 pm

^ Triz is an antihistamine used for treating allergies

When you are allergic to something you come in contact with, your body produces histamines to help get rid of it by producing mucus to flush it out or make you sneeze or cough. Other times it can make you itch or make the area swollen. Antihistamines block the histamines and so you don't sneeze or cough or your nose doesnt run or itch or swell.

Rhinitis is inflammation and swelling of the mucous membrane of the nose, characterized by a runny nose and stuffiness and usually caused by a seasonal allergy. Many people think their nose is blocked or stuffy because of mucus but it's actually the membrane inside their nostril that's swollen causing the blockage, usually in one nostril at a time. No amount of blowing your nose will make it unstuffy if you have rhinitis. Many people locally have rhinitis and refer to it as "sinus".

Triz is made of the drug cetirizine.
Triz is a "generic" brand of this drug that's why it's so cheap as you mentioned.
The more popular brand of cetirizine is called ZYRTEC and while it's the same drug ZYRTEC much more expensive.
Some people don't like generic drugs as they claim they do not work as well.

Ask your doctor which will work best for you.