best job for me?

Galvatron

best job for me?

Postby Galvatron » April 28th, 2011, 1:25 pm

need some advice, suggestions especially from the HR ppl as well as the energy sector ppl.
Last edited by Galvatron on January 22nd, 2014, 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Corollaman

Re: best job for me?

Postby Corollaman » April 28th, 2011, 1:28 pm

Did you apply to TGU? It would probably be for an operator position, however that pay is pretty good.
Last edited by Corollaman on April 28th, 2011, 1:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 28th, 2011, 1:30 pm

Yup.. TGU

Postby tr1ad » April 28th, 2011, 1:30 pm

considered E&I engineering?

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » April 28th, 2011, 1:33 pm

no didn't apply TGU, are they still looking for staff?

wrt E&I engineering, what school?

Postby crazybalhead » April 28th, 2011, 1:33 pm

What's your realistic expected salary? And do you WANT to move into IT???

Forget what degree you did.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » April 28th, 2011, 1:40 pm

well the salary is not really important, currently working for $15k so if I remain at that no problems.

like the IT stuff but not the design aspect of it like databases and programming.

I have come to resent my current job as it has become too easy for me.

I would rather put my intelligence and ability to better use.

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2011, 1:43 pm

buh ent u iz optimus arch enemy?

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » April 28th, 2011, 1:44 pm

yeah dais d sideline!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 28th, 2011, 3:07 pm

Try Damus.

Postby crazybalhead » April 28th, 2011, 3:11 pm

Galvatron wrote:well the salary is not really important, currently working for $15k so if I remain at that no problems.

like the IT stuff but not the design aspect of it like databases and programming.

I have come to resent my current job as it has become too easy for me.

I would rather put my intelligence and ability to better use.

Good answers. 8-)

Companies like TCL and RBTT, PPGPL etc. have large IT departments (except PPGPL) with Oracle databases and applications, maybe apply there or call around.

ILLUMINAT, DigiData and others also always looking for people.

Postby tr1ad » April 28th, 2011, 3:24 pm

Bareback wrote:Try Damus.

for what? small money?

you can ask UWI or UTT

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2011, 3:33 pm

memory bank always looking for people

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 28th, 2011, 3:37 pm

u eh go get 15k at memory bank

Postby black start » April 28th, 2011, 3:46 pm

man wa leave he wok cuz it too easy yes..onli in trinidad.....on another more productive note.....ever apply to the universities and see if they have any vacancies...there alots of techs that work in uwi for sure....utt i not so sure..so maybe u cud check them out...mite have a vacancy for a person with your qualifications....

Postby cinco » April 28th, 2011, 3:49 pm

Black Start wrote:man wa leave he wok cuz it too easy yes..onli in trinidad.....on another more productive note.....ever apply to the universities and see if they have any vacancies...there alots of techs that work in uwi for sure....utt i not so sure..so maybe u cud check them out...mite have a vacancy for a person with your qualifications....

no it is called ambition

bluestarz0

Postby bluestarz0 » April 28th, 2011, 4:20 pm

question how do i send resume to TGU(address) and whats the salary for lets say Technician Electrical or Operators with around 10 years experience in manufacturing industry

Postby Gladiator » April 28th, 2011, 6:10 pm

forget uwi

7k-9k max salary for it techs

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2011, 7:41 pm

what about an aviation tech? send ah resume to CAL, with ur experience and qualifications, u could do any thing.

Postby Gladiator » April 28th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Stay in your current job man... work real hard to find... if you really want a challenge and looking to make some serious money, start your own business. Contractors raking in all the cash these days.

You can inquire about entering Eng at UWI at a MSc level. You may have some pre qualification courses to do but you will be allowed to do them part time.

Another option is to go into IT management, this pays well...

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 28th, 2011, 7:57 pm

so how much the TGU operators getting ? anybody knows? .... I had an interview there today :)

Postby Bizzare » April 28th, 2011, 8:04 pm

$5,263.92 after taxes. :|
Sorry phreakazoid, but it seems like she'll be finding a new phreak soon. :(

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » April 28th, 2011, 8:06 pm

There are companies like Methanex, BGtt, BP, Atlantic who pay well ovr $20k for senior operator tech positions and trust me u won't be bored

Postby sMASH » April 28th, 2011, 8:08 pm

that is for the lower positions, galvatron would not go for so low

but i have a feelin that the gas nearly done, and is just time to get what u can for the next 10 years and may be open up a business that not petro dependent

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 28th, 2011, 8:47 pm

Bizzare wrote:$5,263.92 after taxes. :|

I wasn't interviewed for the operator position :wink:

Postby black start » April 28th, 2011, 8:51 pm

Gladiator wrote:forget uwi

7k -9k 8-) no wonder they does already be protesting by eng wid dey drums and horns and shiet....and doh forget the owtu jersey...lol....i wuda facking protest too.....

Postby Gladiator » April 28th, 2011, 9:05 pm

Black Start wrote:
Gladiator wrote:forget uwi

7k -9k 8-) no wonder they does already be protesting by eng wid dey drums and horns and shiet....and doh forget the owtu jersey...lol....i wuda facking protest too.....

Padna it have some fellas working UWI for $2500 a month (electricians, plumbers, drivers etc) I cant even imagine how they manage on that.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » April 29th, 2011, 8:28 am

phreakazoid wrote:
Bizzare wrote:$5,263.92 after taxes. :|

I wasn't interviewed for the operator position :wink:

I down on site here at TGU, Phreakazoid, What position wrer you interviewed for.

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » April 29th, 2011, 9:03 am

Galvatron, i seek advice from u or anyone who could help,

i have a 6 o levels one being mechanical eng., a diplome in CS(UTT), a BSC in CS(UH), 2 years offshore experince, 4 years in the industry total and a bunch of safety training(Falck), I want to get into plant operations, what courses should i do?

I knw this your thread so forgive me if come across as inposing but this is some info i trying to get for the longest while....

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » April 29th, 2011, 9:06 am

thanks for the repsonses ppl, surprised to see there weren't any 'tuner' replies!

best bet looks like a business venture.