Income Tax Arrears?????

newto4x4

Income Tax Arrears?????

Postby newto4x4 » April 19th, 2011, 11:02 am

So I got a letter in the mail yesterday saying I oweing $141.08 since 1994. They say if I am not in agreement of the liability I must provide documentary evidence to support my clain. ???1994, I have no records. Should I pay???

Lucian-2nr

Re: Income Tax Arrears?????

Postby Lucian-2nr » April 19th, 2011, 11:06 am

$141.08 and you complaining... man pay di damn ting and forget about it before you get stress worth more than that....

If you query it you might end up spending more money through the time you waste..

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 19th, 2011, 11:13 am

Isnt there a tax compounded daily on that amount?

Or is it nis Im thinking of?

konartis

Postby konartis » April 19th, 2011, 11:21 am

pay it before the 31st of may and you will not have to pay interest and penalties...if you complaining about 141$ then you will be sorry that you didnt pay it!

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » April 19th, 2011, 11:22 am

$141.08 ???? Chups....I owing $2000 for 2009

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 19th, 2011, 11:31 am

pay de damn ting!!!!!

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » April 19th, 2011, 11:41 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:pay de damn ting!!!!!

X2.

If u have no records, wuh u go do then? just pay it.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 19th, 2011, 11:42 am

newto4x4 wrote:So I got a letter in the mail yesterday saying I oweing $141.08 since 1994. They say if I am not in agreement of the liability I must provide documentary evidence to support my clain. ???1994, I have no records. Should I pay???

hey are you self employed or do u earn a salary?

Did u actually file your income tax and found that you were owing this amt?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » April 19th, 2011, 11:59 am

Dude, you should definitely pay that, even more so as you say you don't have any documentation to support your claim that you do not owe anything.

That $141.08 sounds like just the principal amount you owe BIR (i.e. the amount exclusive of any penalty and interest). If so, then there's a $100 penalty fee for every 6 months or part thereof that the balance has been outstanding. Also, they charge you interest at the rate of 20% per annum (compounded at that too) on any cumulative balance outstanding each year.

It is quite possible that the amount you owe is much more than $141.08.

Either way, BIR has an amnesty on any penalty and taxes owing prior to December 31, 2009, and it's in effect until May 31, 2011. If you pay your arrears before then, you would be waived from paying the penalty and taxes.

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » April 19th, 2011, 12:12 pm

i owing 2900 since 1998

newto4x4

Postby newto4x4 » April 19th, 2011, 1:47 pm

Nigson wrote:
newto4x4 wrote:So I got a letter in the mail yesterday saying I oweing $141.08 since 1994. They say if I am not in agreement of the liability I must provide documentary evidence to support my clain. ???1994, I have no records. Should I pay???

hey are you self employed or do u earn a salary?

Did u actually file your income tax and found that you were owing this amt?

I'm not self employed. I did file and as far as I remember I never owed and always get a refund. Probably in 1994 they might have rejected a tax credit that I claimed and never informed me.

Postby RASC » April 19th, 2011, 2:48 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:$141.08 and you complaining... man pay di damn ting and forget about it before you get stress worth more than that....

If you query it you might end up spending more money through the time you waste..

This

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 19th, 2011, 2:56 pm

hmm well since 1994 they now reviewing your file....thats crazy.....

well since u did file and stuff.....its best u pay it and avoid all the headache......

Postby Bizzare » April 19th, 2011, 3:17 pm

And you vex..... :|
My dad got a letter in the mail the other day, a bit over $100,000 owed in taxes. But he sorted things out with a lawyer and only has to pay a lil over $60,000.
The Next week which was about three weeks ago, My mom got one. $14,000. So she's currently trying to sort out her issues with the same lawyer.
So I wouldn't be complaining over $150 :?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 19th, 2011, 3:49 pm

r u serious bizarre..???

How the hell yur pops owing $100 000

The only way he could owe so much id if he did file and he did not pay...cause as far as i know it is not compulsory for a salaried individual to file an income tax return....

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 19th, 2011, 8:18 pm

Owed $767 in 2007 after filing (no interest etc), got the letter last week and it says $563 and i not arguing.

Postby sMASH » April 19th, 2011, 11:34 pm

Nigson wrote:hmm well since 1994 they now reviewing your file....thats crazy.....

well since u did file and stuff.....its best u pay it and avoid all the headache......

it simple to go and pay, but there should be a statute of limitations on how far back they can tax u.
it was their onus to follow up on taxes and make sure they inform people in a reasonable time.
if they did not seek out the money before, they did not want it.

Postby sMASH » April 19th, 2011, 11:57 pm

this is bull. people who get this should find some unc lawyer, not a pnm one, they go be too dumb and mess it up... a lawyer and put the bir in court for not following up on their tax recovery..

5 years is a reasonable time to assess and recover. any thing past is them fault

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » April 20th, 2011, 12:01 am

Nigson wrote:r u serious bizarre..???

The only way he could owe so much id if he did file and he did not pay...cause as far as i know it is not compulsory for a salaried individual to file an income tax return....

Ok I definitely need some clarification
I changed jobs in 2009 an got under-taxed thereby owing $2000...wen I went in 2010 to file taxes the woman at the BIR office said don't bother to file cause of how much I owed....yet everyone said da woman had to be mad to tel me that

Postby De Dragon » April 20th, 2011, 12:03 am

sMASH wrote:this is bull. people who get this should find some unc lawyer, not a pnm one, they go be too dumb and mess it up... a lawyer and put the bir in court for not following up on their tax recovery..

5 years is a reasonable time to assess and recover. any thing past is them fault

With close to $13B owing, I doubt it. The collection drive will only intensify. It's actually a sweet deal, I was owing, close to $2K since 1998 or summin, and with interest it totalled close to $7K. I pay meh $2K las' year and now I good.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » April 20th, 2011, 12:21 am

Interesting............I got my TD4 in 2001 and i never filed before. After doing the calculation i had to pay 6000 dollars.

Thing is i never filed and didn't have a BIR number at the time, i left it so.

Started to pay from 2002 with getting BIR number and i didn't get any notice to date about owing. I got a return in 2008 for 8k due to not working the whole year in 2007 but i still worried i might get some letter in the future about owing the 6k or 60k inc interest.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 20th, 2011, 1:34 am

mitsuboi wrote:

I changed jobs in 2009 an got under-taxed thereby owing $2000...wen I went in 2010 to file taxes the woman at the BIR office said don't bother to file cause of how much I owed....yet everyone said da woman had to be mad to tel me that

nope the woman was correct......once you are salaried, in that your employer is the one responsible for deducting taxes then you are not required to file tax returns.....however it does not hurt to work it out and if you are owed money then by all means file....but if you owe the money then there is no need for you to file.......thanks to Qui Teung (sp) for that.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 20th, 2011, 2:12 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:
mitsuboi wrote:

nope the woman was correct......once you are salaried, in that your employer is the one responsible for deducting taxes then you are not required to file tax returns.....however it does not hurt to work it out and if you are owed money then by all means file....but if you owe the money then there is no need for you to file.......thanks to Qui Teung (sp) for that.

thats correct vega.......Nice lil loophole there.......thing is not much ppl know this .......so lets keep it this way before everyone start taking advantage of it and next thing they pass a law stating its compulsory to file.......

Postby sMASH » April 20th, 2011, 8:26 am

probably let them the govt have it this rounds, but to tax u since ur grand father's days is wrong.

we should demand a statute of limitations put for it...

Postby Stephon. » April 20th, 2011, 8:29 am

newto4x4 wrote:So I got a letter in the mail yesterday saying I oweing $141.08 since 1994.

Postby cinco » April 20th, 2011, 1:14 pm

Nigson wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:
mitsuboi wrote:

thats correct vega.......Nice lil loophole there.......thing is not much ppl know this .......so lets keep it this way before everyone start taking advantage of it and next thing they pass a law stating its compulsory to file.......

it used to be compulsory to file and they were swamped with paperwork so they changed circa 96 i believe

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » April 20th, 2011, 1:27 pm

^^ thx fellas....I could breathe a sigh of relief

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » April 21st, 2011, 2:00 am

i en file since i wuking 8 years now, but if they tell me i owe them they mad cus i paying more than
10 grand a year in tax

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » April 21st, 2011, 8:20 am

So ahem.... hypothetically speaking, ..... If I have a buddy who has hypothetically never filed taxes ever and my buddy has been working since 2001, what is my buddy's best recourse at this point in time? Also, (hypothetically of course) if my buddy owes money in some years and is owed money in others, how does that work? Thanks.....hypothetically

Postby cinco » April 21st, 2011, 9:04 am

work out the taxes and file them
if you are owed and owe then you just pay the difference or they refund u the difference