Ipad 2 CDMA and Blink on the Go

paparazzi

Ipad 2 CDMA and Blink on the Go

Postby paparazzi » April 19th, 2011, 7:54 am

Does anyone know how or point me to someone who knows how to set up the Ipad 2 CDMA on Blink on the Go (which is Rev A) so its compatible with the Ipad 2 CDMA.

Their foreign tech support is useless, guys keeps telling my to "connect the Blink on the Go to the USB port on Ipad 2"....

christopherwilliams2

Re: Ipad 2 CDMA and Blink on the Go

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 19th, 2011, 9:05 am

CDMA does not work in Trinidad....we use GSM...
You may have to use wifi....
wait..

douglaking

Postby douglaking » April 19th, 2011, 9:15 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:CDMA does not work in Trinidad....we use GSM...
wait..

AHAHAHA

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » April 19th, 2011, 9:19 am

wait..

GSM is the mainstream but TSTT also has CDMA.

Blink on the Go uses CDMA Rev A. Ipad 2 ought to be compatible.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » April 19th, 2011, 9:32 am

douglaking wrote:
wait..

AHAHAHA

dat is why meh put de 'WAIT'

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 19th, 2011, 9:57 am

Called them about this already and remember unlike the GSM ipad 2 the CDMA one is only flashed to work with Verizon, the verizon ipad2 is compatible here while roaming so technically it should be possible for it to work but you need all the codes to flash it and a compatible plan from the carrier (Blink) to make it work, I'm not sure if anyone has flashed an cdma iPad 2 with another carrier yet I haven't read about it anywhere.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 19th, 2011, 10:07 am

paparazzi wrote:Does anyone know how or point me to someone who knows how to set up the Ipad 2 CDMA on Blink on the Go (which is Rev A) so its compatible with the Ipad 2 CDMA.

Their foreign tech support is useless, guys keeps telling my to "connect the Blink on the Go to the USB port on Ipad 2"....

benko

Postby benko » April 19th, 2011, 10:37 am

perhaps you can try to find a compatible portable USB CDMA Evdo rev a. -> wifi router (like the MiFi or Cradlepoint devices)
http://www.cradlepoint.com/products/phs ... tspot-3g4g
of course finding out if it works with that particular adapter/firmware is the fun part, the $180usd is the not so fun part, there are other though

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 19th, 2011, 11:28 am

paparazzi wrote:
wait..

so basically,could still use a CDMA phone and clone someone else's # , then run up their bill :|

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 19th, 2011, 11:45 am

NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
wait..

so basically,could still use a CDMA phone and clone someone else's # , then run up their bill :|

not exactly, each cdma phone has an esn number attached to it and the user account, the CDMA network here is data only for residents although if you are a Verizon customer roaming with a CDMA device you will be able to use the data and voice capabilities of the network.

So it is not possible to clone someone's ESN as it would register on the system as bad and even if you did it wouldn't have anyone's to clone that has a phone number attached to the ESN

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 19th, 2011, 11:49 am

benko wrote:perhaps you can try to find a compatible portable USB CDMA Evdo rev a. -> wifi router (like the MiFi or Cradlepoint devices)
of course finding out if it works with that particular adapter/firmware is the fun part, the $180usd is the not so fun part, there are other though

this looks like a pretty practical work around since Blink doesn't offer personal hotspot devices, do you know if any of their usb modems are compatible with this?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » April 19th, 2011, 12:06 pm

mojosodope wrote:
NiTrOuS RaCeR wrote:
paparazzi wrote:
wait..

not exactly, each cdma phone has an esn number attached to it and the user account, the CDMA network here is data only for residents although if you are a Verizon customer roaming with a CDMA device you will be able to use the data and voice capabilities of the network.

So it is not possible to clone someone's ESN as it would register on the system as bad and even if you did it wouldn't have anyone's to clone that has a phone number attached to the ESN

i understand ..oo well i wonder if the iPad2 can work with Bmobile EDGE?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » April 19th, 2011, 12:12 pm

mojosodope wrote:
benko wrote:perhaps you can try to find a compatible portable USB CDMA Evdo rev a. -> wifi router (like the MiFi or Cradlepoint devices)

this looks like a pretty practical work around since Blink doesn't offer personal hotspot devices, do you know if any of their usb modems are compatible with this?

Thanks, nice find there! This could be a fall back option.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 19th, 2011, 1:00 pm

paparazzi wrote:
wait..

You are partially right. TSTT has a Voice CDMA Network (Roamers only) and a EVDO Rev A Network.

You may need to take into TSTT to get them to try to provision it. However, I doubt this will work.....CDMA/EVDO devices are usually locked to a Network. TSTT or Apple will have to try to unlock it.

Postby M_2NR » April 19th, 2011, 1:36 pm

They "unlocked" the veriPhone (unlock not released to public i think) to work on another network. However the iPad 2 CDMA one, never read of it yet.

I just wish we could get iDevices here, legit with an apple store etc :oops:

benko

Postby benko » April 20th, 2011, 9:17 am

the new "My Spot" service that is being launched may address this very soon, asfik the CDMA ipad2 is not network locked however CDMA services tend to be network provisioned to a device so workarounds in that would typically involve alot of hacking and spoofing plus actually knowing the configuration to bind it eg via some sort of firmware emulation, in short it is highly unlikely to work without some assistance from the network provider

Postby Sky » April 20th, 2011, 10:59 am

paparazzi wrote:Does anyone know how or point me to someone who knows how to set up the Ipad 2 CDMA on Blink on the Go (which is Rev A) so its compatible with the Ipad 2 CDMA.

Well plug de dongle into the ipad usb port!!

Seriously though, are you trying to get the ipad on the cdma network and use the dongle's account, essentially tossing the dongle out of the picture?

If so, then no dice. I had a cisco router with adsl capability and wanted to take the blink modem out of the picuture. I setup everything correct and kept getting an auth failure.
When I called blink and ask them whats up, they said that my router won't work because they only allow blink modems to "dial in". They do it by macs. This was weird because I know their 1st gen dsl allowed anything to connect with the right creds. I ask him if he could put my router mac on there and let me use it, he said no. I asked why and got a " I dunno nah, the answer is no" :lol: I said fk it and kept the modem with it's crappy firewall.

So if that's what you wanna do i'm guessing the same goes for blink on the go.

Smokey

Postby Smokey » April 20th, 2011, 11:02 am

Well the only other option is to use the new Blink on the go WIMAX to WIFI Hotspot.

It's sort of a hack unelagent solution as:
1. It's a separate device you need to remember to bring
2. You need to remember to charge it
3. Coverage is still pretty limited

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 11:03 am

Sky wrote:

Well plug de dongle into the ipad usb port!!

Seriously though, are you trying to get the ipad on the cdma network and use the dongle's account, essentially tossing the dongle out of the picture?

If so, then no dice. I had a cisco router with adsl capability and wanted to take the blink modem out of the picuture. I setup everything correct and kept getting an auth failure.
When I called blink and ask them whats up, they said that my router won't work because they only allow blink modems to "dial in". They do it by macs. This was weird because I know their 1st gen dsl allowed anything to connect with the right creds. I ask him if he could put my router mac on there and let me use it, he said no. I asked why and got a " I dunno nah, the answer is no" :lol: I said fk it and kept the modem with it's crappy firewall.

So if that's what you wanna do i'm guessing the same goes for blink on the go.

time for blink on the go to go and at least give us something worth the money and with the speed

323fsport

Postby 323fsport » April 20th, 2011, 11:32 am

regarding the CDMA embedded iPad device, i don't believe it should be a problem... You just need someone in TSTT who know what they doing to provision the device.

About 2 years ago i acquired a Lenovo laptop which had an embedded EVDO chipset... TSTT's personnel were contacted, and were successful in provisioning the laptop on their evdo system.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 1:25 pm

323fsport wrote:regarding the CDMA embedded iPad device, i don't believe it should be a problem... You just need someone in TSTT who know what they doing to provision the device.

About 2 years ago i acquired a Lenovo laptop which had an embedded EVDO chipset... TSTT's personnel were contacted, and were successful in provisioning the laptop on their evdo system.

you're lucky but I somehow think that they would not provision and officially spoof their codes onto an iPad 2. I'm sure there is some contract somewhere that would hamper them from doing so because Verizon is the only authorized carrier of the CDMA iPad 2 yet.

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2011, 3:05 pm

mojosodope wrote:
time for blink on the go to go and at least give us something worth the money and with the speed

blink on the go TURBO? it supposed to give up to 2mb/s and its unlimited data- uses both wimax (4g) and cdma (3g)

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 3:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:
mojosodope wrote:

blink on the go TURBO? it supposed to give up to 2mb/s and its unlimited data- uses both wimax (4g) and cdma (3g)

that's a disgrace to the idea of 4G, it's unlimited data while used accordingly to the Fair Usage policy, which basically says your speeds are ridiculously throttled down after you use more than 4 GB in a day and you are throttled down for 3 days afterwards too, it's all on the blink site but where they have it it's not really out in front for everyone to see

3G TALK here : viewtopic.php?f=4&t=340930&start=60.

Postby M_2NR » April 20th, 2011, 3:35 pm

mojosodope wrote:3G TALK here : viewtopic.php?f=4&t=340930&start=60.

can u stop posting this on EVERY thread? we know of its existence. You linked it before. thanks

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 4:15 pm

M_2NR wrote:
mojosodope wrote:3G TALK here : viewtopic.php?f=4&t=340930&start=60.

can u stop posting this on EVERY thread? we know of its existence. You linked it before. thanks

I posted this on 3 threads that were relevant to the topic and I FORGOT I had posted it here before. SORRY.

Postby Bizzare » April 20th, 2011, 4:19 pm

Dat thread is yuh website awa?? :lol: :lol:

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2011, 4:28 pm

mojosodope wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
mojosodope wrote:

that's a disgrace to the idea of 4G, it's unlimited data while used accordingly to the Fair Usage policy, which basically says your speeds are ridiculously throttled down after you use more than 4 GB in a day and you are throttled down for 3 days afterwards too, it's all on the blink site but where they have it it's not really out in front for everyone to see

from what i understand that 4gb limit only applies to peak hrs- like say 6-11pm-so u are limited to dl 4gb during that time, outside of peak hrs its unlimited- but its no different from wired blink which has the same policy

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 20th, 2011, 4:36 pm

redmanjp wrote:
mojosodope wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
mojosodope wrote:

from what i understand that 4gb limit only applies to peak hrs- like say 6-11pm-so u are limited to dl 4gb during that time, outside of peak hrs its unlimited- but its no different from wired blink which has the same policy

When I called they said that they throttled it down regardless of the time because they didn't want you hogging the bandwidth, seems like a fair policy to me but they should make it more known and I know they probably save money by doing so, but do they really have to outsource their tech support now? come on they barely understand our accents smh

fishalraa

Postby fishalraa » April 26th, 2011, 3:31 am

Can you use CDMA boost mobile phones on a sprint contract? Boost mobile now sells a CDMA series of phones. I was wondering if these would work on my sprint contract.