HOW TO BUILD A KITE

Postby toyolink » March 28th, 2011, 2:12 pm

Many years now i have been trying to get information on the art of building kites.
My particular interest is in the local kites not the foreign high tech stuff.
Things i need to understand are the compass,the tail requirements etc.
Really is a kite building made simple solution i will be grateful for.
Would really like to surprise the kids for easter.

Last edited by toyolink on April 6th, 2011, 3:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Can any tuners share info. on kite building

Postby TRAE » March 28th, 2011, 2:18 pm

kinda hard to describe that yes----what kinda kite you interested in making, what material?

Postby UML » March 28th, 2011, 2:18 pm

u want to surprise d kids?!!...buy ah kite that can actually fly!!

Postby UML » March 28th, 2011, 2:19 pm

i cud teach u to make ah chicky-chong...at the right price :wink:

Postby Rainman » March 28th, 2011, 2:36 pm

I cud teach yuh how to make a mad bull :|

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » March 28th, 2011, 2:41 pm

What bout the 'Coffin Kite'........?

Postby gastly369 » March 28th, 2011, 2:58 pm

i remember we make ah mad bull long time ago went on ah hill over some houses in siparia and flying de ting.. well it decide to make ah dive and buss in ah man house roof yes :S

and just last week make ah kite for meh friend lil bro school project... (didnt have to pass flying test)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 28th, 2011, 4:07 pm

all you need is the center page from a copy book to make a chicky chong

I remembered reading this some time ago

GKSammy wrote:I wanted to make a real kite. The bigger boys in school made real kites and would show off on the weekend how high they could fly, and how pretty they were. We little ones had to be content with a page pulled out of our copy-books, folded and torn to make a little "chicky-chong". Then we would run up and down the playground, with the chicky-chong flying just a foot behind our shoulder. You couldn't be really proud of that. And if Miss found out that you had pulled a page out of our copy-book, it was licks for sure.

I told my father that I wanted to make a kite. He offered to buy one for me.

"They does sell them on the highway," he said. "I will buy one when I coming home."

"No," I said. "I want to make a kite. I want it to be mine."

My father kept offering the bought kite, but I refused. Then I gave up.

*** +++ *** +++ ***

But one Friday, he surprised me. He came home with a bag from a stationery store in Port of Spain, and announced that we would visit Ajah that weekend. With a grin, he asked what I thought was in the bag. I didn't know.

"Kite paper, boy. And string. And some glue in a bottle."

I knew then that I would get to make my kite. So I didn't complain when I had to sit and listen to the talk about how in the old days we would have had to boil gum arabic or starch to make the glue, and how easy things was these days, and how I should be glad to live in modern times. Then my mother said that gum arabic woulda really stink up the house, so I was glad for that.

*** +++ *** +++ ***

Ajah was happy to see us, and happier still when my father told him what we were there for.

"Make a kite? You couldn't make it for the boy? You couldn't make it?"

I hadn't thought of that, but when I looked at my fathers face, I knew it was true.

"The thing is'" said my father "people does make a anyhow kite, and then vex with the kite when that kite wouldn't fly good."

But Ajah could make a good kite, I was sure. Otherwise, why did my father bring us here?

*** +++ *** +++ ***

First, Ajah sent me for the cocoyea broom. I was confused. The open space below the house had already been swept clean. And you mustn't sweep and raise dust when people came to visit. Even I knew that. But I got the broom, and Ajah pulled out three-four cocoyea from it. Then I watched in fascination as he took a length of thread and made a bow. But this cocoyea bow would never shoot tiny arrows. Ajah's old, stiff fingers carefully tied a length of cocoyea across the bow, and then he had the frame of the kite.

Now, I could help.

"Tie a knot here, boy. Tie it tight."

"Put your finger here and hold this down. I will fold the paper".

"Put a drop of glue here. Look, you get glue on your finger! Don't mind - but don't get it in your hair. That go be trouble."

*** +++ *** +++ ***

The kite had form now, but it was not yet ready to fly. I had seen enough kites fly twisted ... or spin around in the air ... or not fly at all ... to know that the technical part was still to come. Ajah tied a length of fine twine from one side corner of the kite to the other, cutting the length so that it hung loose. Carefully, he found the centre of the twine, so that the kite hung perfectly balanced from it.

"This is the thing, boy. If you don't balance your kite it will fly twist one-side."

More twine, more balancing, and the kite was finally attached to the main ball of twine from which it would fly. Before he attached the twine, Ajah unrolled an arms length and pulled on it to test it.

"You have to make sure it strong, to hold the kite," he explained. People does sell rotten twine, and then when you send up the kite it buss and the kite fly away."

Such a tragedy would make me cry. I could hardly believe that people would sell rotten twine, for us to use on something as important as our kite. But Ajah had tested this twine, so we knew it wasn't rotten.

*** +++ *** +++ ***

The bright yellow kite-paper made an eye-catching kite, but I wanted more. I wanted to decorate it with shapes and frills. I wanted to be really proud of this kite. Ajah seemed to read my mind. He reached into the bag and took out some red kite-paper.

"What you want to put on the kite?" he asked.

"I want to put on a moon, and some stars, and plenty frills around the outside, and ..." I dried up.

"Boy, you think the kite will fly with all that? You can't hang all kinda sheit on the kite and expect it to fly good!"

Ajah could use words that would get me a clout. But he showed me how to put on just a few decorations to make the kite prettier, and how to cut out and attach a small fringe around the outside. And he told me that a kite can't look good if it don't fly good.

"What missing now?" Ajah asked.

I looked carefully at the kite. Something important was missing. What was it?

"The tail," I shouted.

Ajah sent me for a piece of cloth from upstairs. He bit a notch on one side, and tore off a thin strip. Then he tore off another, and another. He knotted some of these together, end to end, and then put a few more in his pocket.

"You must have a good tail to keep the kite from spinning," he said. "That go do for now. We could tie on more when we test out the kite."

*** +++ *** +++ ***

The last was a cue. We would now walk down the road to the savannah, and launch my kite on her maiden flight. I picked up my kite in awe, with pride shining in my eyes. If I had looked, I would have seen that my father was looking at me with the same pride in his eyes. He had not said a word the entire time, but now he spoke.

"Son, I could see you proud of your kite. Is a nice kite. But your Ajah teach you plenty things this afternoon. He teach you how to make the good kite, and how to balance it so it wouldn't fly twist one-side. He teach you how to test the string to make sure it strong enough to hold the kite. He teach you not to decorate the kite too much, because a kite can't look good if it don't fly good. And he teach you how to put on a good tail so it wouldn't spin when it flying."

Ajah's face got serious. He looked straight at my father, as if he could see right through him.

"Is the same thing with children," he said in a quiet voice.

taken from http://georgieboy53.tripod.com/id10.html

Postby K74T » March 28th, 2011, 4:16 pm

Is Ajah a rasta? :lol: :?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 28th, 2011, 4:20 pm

^ yeah , yuh know him? He married to Ajee :|

Postby K74T » March 28th, 2011, 4:23 pm

whoagarddd

Postby stev » March 28th, 2011, 4:23 pm

paper + (flour+water) + thread + old tear up jersey for a tail + broom stick = kite

or you can just Google 'how to make a kite'. lol, u wud get rel tutorials and videos.

Postby K74T » March 28th, 2011, 4:25 pm

do they still sell kites on the highway?

Postby Bizzare » March 28th, 2011, 4:45 pm

Ohhh kites 0X ........ Waz the biggest size kite you ever see?
And no, I'm not talkin bout the kite yuh doz fly every night..... :roll:

Postby Bizzare » March 28th, 2011, 4:46 pm

Me, 8 feet across. Made with branches from a plum tree and a sorta plastic material. It flew.

Postby eliteauto » March 28th, 2011, 4:48 pm

8 feet is impressive, I've seen bigger at 103FM kite flying competition though, made with bamboo and flown with rope by 4-6 persons

markymark

Postby markymark » March 28th, 2011, 4:55 pm

Postby Bizzare » March 28th, 2011, 4:59 pm

Funny thing is the world's supposedly largest kite ever created caused the death of it's owner.

Postby toyolink » March 28th, 2011, 5:08 pm

Got caught up in days business and only just got an opportunity to check on thread.
I must admit a lot has happened since first post,but the truth is i have purchased the highway product and find the experience boring.Those kites just either keep diving uncontrollably or just sit on air doing nothing.Is one extreme or the other.
I am looking for directions using coloured kite paper,coceyea stick (spelling could be a problem here),flour based stcky etc.
When project is to be done i will like to involve the family.We will all take responsibility for success or failure.
Actually,this is how i remember the experience.
Thus far tuners have always come through for me.
-I know is a tough request but i do hope for the best-
If forced, i am willing to purchase but would like to get local well made stuff (eg a learners mad-bull)

Postby toyolink » March 28th, 2011, 5:16 pm

Markymark,your link is appreciated.
Starting to get a little worried about results.Will try and rope in someone to help when we ready to make a mess.
I really hoping to do a simple family thing away from Queens Park SAV. madness.

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2011, 6:59 pm

things bad when one has to come on trinituner to ask how to make a kite yes.

Postby toyolink » March 28th, 2011, 7:04 pm

I take it nervewrecker,either you know how to build a kite or know who to ask,if so i pray you will share.
I await your feed back governor!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 28th, 2011, 7:29 pm

toyolink wrote:Got caught up in days business and only just got an opportunity to check on thread.
I must admit a lot has happened since first post,but the truth is i have purchased the highway product and find the experience boring.Those kites just either keep diving uncontrollably or just sit on air doing nothing.Is one extreme or the other.
I am looking for directions using coloured kite paper,coceyea stick (spelling could be a problem here),flour based stcky etc.
When project is to be done i will like to involve the family.We will all take responsibility for success or failure.
Actually,this is how i remember the experience.
Thus far tuners have always come through for me.
-I know is a tough request but i do hope for the best-
If forced, i am willing to purchase but would like to get local well made stuff (eg a learners mad-bull)

sounds like a nice family project for the kids to remember...

I rather take my kid to toymart and but a kite there...he will remember that also and less headache for me.......

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2011, 7:33 pm

man I aint no expert, my mom is though.

I remember the days of making kite with copy book page, cokeya broom stick, thread, flour & water paste & either cloth or paper for tail.
you hadda make a frame (usually a bow from broom stick & thread & a next piece of broom stick vertically down the center)
then attach the frame to the paper (some paper squares pasted with the flour & water paste was the shizznet to attach the frame to the paper).
I not too sure how to describe how to make the compass to you nah but if it one sided the kite will 'dock' I think or that may be if tail to short.
if tail too short, add tail, if tail too long kite will give some trouble to go up so remove some. its trail & error as far as I know.
probably one of those link can give more info on making the compass.
you guys know bout flapper to make noise & razor blade in your kite tail to try & iyo other man kite to sprang it?
my uncle made a mad bull already, effin thing drag me half way across the savannah in ralph narine trace south oropouche.

I just wondering what most of you guys did for fun when you were kids? you know about blocking drain to heap up water with yuh champion sneakers so yuh could race paper boat?
sad to say the current generation aint know squat bout making kite either, it too easy to buy one ready made side the road.

GoS

Postby GoS » March 28th, 2011, 7:37 pm

is years now i eh fly ah kite aye idea what about ah trinituner kite flying competition

Postby toyolink » March 28th, 2011, 7:42 pm

Nigson,you hit the nail on the head when you observed-nice family project.
The fun in the exercise may look like this:
-mom says,look at you father making a fool of himself
-daughter mumbles,why daddy don't just buy a kite
-i look at everybody cut eye an say, allyuh go see.
-suddenly glue tips over and everybody lol.
-I STILL PERSIST AND BUILD MY KITE, ONLY THING IS IT FLIES SIDE WAYS AND THEN AYO!
Nonetheless,i will enjoy myself and everbody will have something to laugh at and maybe remember.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 28th, 2011, 7:50 pm

toyolink wrote:Nigson,you hit the nail on the head when you observed-nice family project.
The fun in the exercise may look like this:
-mom says,look at you father making a fool of himself
-daughter mumbles,why daddy don't just buy a kite
-i look at everybody cut eye an say, allyuh go see.
-suddenly glue tips over and everybody lol.
-I STILL PERSIST AND BUILD MY KITE, ONLY THING IS IT FLIES SIDE WAYS AND THEN AYO!
Nonetheless,i will enjoy myself and everbody will have something to laugh at and maybe remember.

I admire your family values bro....!!!

Go For it!!!!!!!

hope you fly this for the kite flying competition in the savannah......

Postby toyolink » March 28th, 2011, 7:51 pm

People,i truly like the idea of a tuner kite flying session.However as you could well see with my knowledge i will clearly make a fool of myself in public.
The little i have come to know about my fellow tuners tells me that the risk is too great.
I may be willing to make some small contribution to something of this nature (my only wish maybe that it's a family thing).

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2011, 7:54 pm

ok, momz say to make the compass you tie / sew the thread a lil way from the top & bottom of the edges of the vertical pole but you leaving enough slack on it to reach almost same distance away from the horizontal edges (like a sideways v or a < or > sign).
when you attaching your thread you shift the pointy edge of the v so that its approx 1/4 way down from the top or average to suit nah.

the sideways flying may mean that you need more tail.

Postby nervewrecker » March 28th, 2011, 7:56 pm

oh, & nowdays you have paper glue & kite paper, paper glue pwns flour & water paste & copy book page.