need some options for internet service in my area

speedaholic

need some options for internet service in my area

Postby speedaholic » February 25th, 2011, 11:09 pm

welll i recently moved to the st.helena/caroni area... and i am out of options as to getting an ISP to provide me with internet service... i been here since november last year.. and up to now.. i am still without a connection... i does teef d nighbour wireless! :D :D...
anyways... so blink tell me that thier servers are maxed out to cappacity and they cannot acomodate anymore customers.... why they adverstising a service they cant provide??? :S
and flow didnt switch to their digital transmission in the area as yet.... was considering greendot.. but i am a bit sceptical.. and their installation fees are thru the roof! sigh... soo anyone cud help me out here??

Re: need some options for internet service in my area

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 25th, 2011, 11:18 pm

keep teefin wireless

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 25th, 2011, 11:26 pm

it too effin sloww! and i cya even download torrents.. or use P2P clients..

jackkle

Postby jackkle » February 25th, 2011, 11:49 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:keep teefin wireless

Either that or go blink on the go

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 26th, 2011, 12:26 am

blink on the go i think is a waste... any1 has any idea as to when flow may be switching to digital in the area??

zcarz

Postby zcarz » February 26th, 2011, 12:51 am

move to civilisation

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 26th, 2011, 1:11 am

wimax started to roll out as yet? last I heard it was in testing phase

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 26th, 2011, 1:56 am

who are wimax???

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 26th, 2011, 9:17 am

Yes Wimax should be available , Err From TSTT : Wimax = Blink all of the regular Broadband Packages should be available in WiMax go to a Blink Office tell them where you live they will pull up a Map and check for a Signal in your area if it's strong you are on your Way .

Dragist EX TSTT Employee .

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 26th, 2011, 9:33 am

speedaholic wrote:anyways... so blink tell me that thier servers are maxed out to cappacity and they cannot acomodate anymore customers.... why they adverstising a service they cant provide??? :S

wait, wut? they really said this? :|

well doh worry, i might be giving up their shitty service soon so u can take my spot on their 'maxed out servers' :lol:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 26th, 2011, 1:27 pm

hahaha!! ^^ please do... i really didnt want to go blink... but i have no choice.. i had a flow connection @ my previous residence... but my dad decide to build a house! so i here now and it sucks!! and yea they really said that... @ 1st i was like alyuh serious... wah kinda bull$hie+ is that! and then i realised... is tstt.... so it was understandable.. :S

Dragist... thanks will chk them on monday...

Postby M_2NR » February 26th, 2011, 1:50 pm

Blink on the go is your best option. Speeds are good on the 4G network. Be sure to know your password. I know of at least two person who has the service but when time to use 4G... "ah fihget meh password" :|
If you want to use it for gaming, forget it.

ohh see here for more info
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=299737&hilit=TSTT+WiMAX

Postby foss » February 26th, 2011, 1:56 pm

zcarz wrote:move to civilisation

This.

Postby K74T » February 26th, 2011, 4:14 pm

foss wrote:
zcarz wrote:move to civilisation

This.

That.

link

Postby link » February 26th, 2011, 6:31 pm

Wimax...OR
talk to yr neighbour & offer to pay the diff for a higher pkg & continue to share his facility. :idea:
neighbours are helpful, u kno :wink:
rgds

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 26th, 2011, 6:37 pm

moving is not an option!! wtf!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 26th, 2011, 6:45 pm

link wrote:Wimax...OR
talk to yr neighbour & offer to pay the diff for a higher pkg & continue to share his facility. :idea:
neighbours are helpful, u kno :wink:
rgds

was condidering talkin to d nieghbour inno.. lets see how this WiMax ting workin out...
thx guys....

jsr

Postby jsr » February 27th, 2011, 8:58 am

i have the same dlemma too...... live in the las lomas #2 area... settled wih using a datasim card till ether flow or tstt has broadband in my area
anyone from flow or tstt in this forum can pm me to give me an idea when service would be available in my area. Hope not to hear the usual " before the end of the year" reply

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 27th, 2011, 10:38 pm

^^^ that Wimax ting... idk nah.. it kinda pricey... i cya aford that..! so i guess i hadda wait to.. the nighbour say he eh want to up he speed cuz he doh want he chirren usin the the net too much! so i was like okay then.. :S

Postby Trini Hookah » February 27th, 2011, 10:46 pm

Cup & string = Magicjack?

Ball in a Cup = Gaming :|

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » February 28th, 2011, 7:33 am

searchingone

Postby searchingone » February 28th, 2011, 7:52 am

I used Greendot for a couple years in that same area. I had little to no problems with the service. Sometimes I got double the speed I was paying for.

Ry an

Postby Ry an » February 28th, 2011, 9:28 am

The wimax not really that expensive as i have a 3yr contract and 2mbs its around $200/month.
And it working rel good downloads movies in about 1-1.5hrs.

Postby Team Loco » February 28th, 2011, 9:53 am

i had greendot. now i have wimax as of two weeks ago. cost comparison:

greendot 256: $191/mth
tstt wimax 2mb: $150/mth

wimax is the best. its so ridiculously fast. downloaded a bluray quality torrent movie last night in like 1/2 hr. with regular internet, it took 1 week

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 28th, 2011, 9:14 pm

TL... you payin $150 a month for a 2mb Wimax connection???? u sure that correct?? cuz blink's 2mb package is $225 a month...

Postby Team Loco » February 28th, 2011, 9:28 pm

nope, i am right. i am paying $150/mth

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 28th, 2011, 9:57 pm

hmmmm! okay then koolz! i will look into this! :) thanks!

Postby M_2NR » February 28th, 2011, 10:06 pm

unless on TL on some 2 year contract... that price best. from the last thread, 1mbit was 150$ and the 2mbit was ~200$. I still say its your best bet. you can even share your net with the neighbor lol.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 28th, 2011, 11:38 pm

hahah! nah none for he!! he have he own slow ting..

Postby Team Loco » February 28th, 2011, 11:58 pm

correction, its $161.00
on;y have it 2 weeks now. its stupendously fast