eyephone

AG: Property Tax Gone

Postby eyephone » February 25th, 2011, 5:14 pm

http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,136372.html

AG: PROPERTY TAX GONE

By Clint Chan Tack Friday, February 25 2011
click on pic to zoom in

THE DREADED property tax which the former People’s National Movement (PNM) government intended to introduce prior to last May’s General Election is gone forever from the landscape of Trinidad and Tobago.

This was the assurance yesterday from Attorney General (AG) Anand Ramlogan as he responded to statements by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley that the People’s Partnership Government planned to reintroduce property tax through the Land and Building Taxes Bill 2011 which has been tabled in the Parliament. This Bill is expected to be laid in the House of Representatives today prior to resumption of debate on a private member’s motion by Rowley on the handling of information held by the Security Intelligence Agency (SIA).

Addressing the post-Cabinet news conference at the Office of the Prime Minister in St Clair, Ramlogan expanded on the views already articulated by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Legal Affairs Minister Prakash Ramadhar, the deputy leader of the Congress of the People (COP) which was at the forefront of the “Axe the Tax” campaign in 2009. COP leader Winston Dookeran is the Finance Minister in the People’s Partnership Government.

Ramlogan told reporters at yesterday’s briefing the plan is not to bring back the tax but to get rid of it.

“The Government’s position with respect to this is, and has always been, that property tax was never a good thing for the country. We do not intend to implement any legislative measure that will lead to the reintroduction of the property tax,” he said.

The removal of the property tax was one of main campaign promises outlined in the People’s Partnership’s 2010 general election manifesto.

“Our position was that the people will revert to the old system that was in place prior to the property tax. That old system is precisely what we intend to revert to,” said Ramlogan. Claiming the source of Rowley’s information might be liable to misinterpretation or misrepresentation, Ramlogan said, “Permit me to clarify for the record and to the nation, is that we axed the tax and that has not changed one bit.”

Asked whether the valuation system of the Land and Buildings Taxes Bill would be the same as the one used in the drafting of the 2009 Property Tax Bill, Ramlogan said, “The objective is to collapse back into the old system. To my mind that would mean that whatever people would have had to pay before the introduction of the property tax, they would continue to pay the same rate.” The AG did not give examples of the quantum of tax which citizens would pay for their properties under the Bill.

In the 2009 Property Tax Bill, property taxes were based on percentages on the annual taxable value (ATV) of properties. Residential properties attracted an ATV of three percent. Commercial and agricultural properties had ATVs of five and one percent respectively. Industrial properties (plant and machinery inside the building) and industrial properties (plant and machinery not inside a building) had ATVs of six and three percent respectively.

At a news conference on Wednesday, Rowley said Government was going to impose a seven and a half percent tax on properties based on the ATV ratings of the Property Tax Act, compared to the three percent proposed under the PNM.

In addition, Rowley said the Bill also gives the Finance Minister the power by order to raise the tax to a maximum of ten percent of the ATVs of residential properties.

However, the Land and Building Taxes Bill 2011 does not give a definition of properties but states that taxes will be imposed on lands and buildings. The Bill for example refers to ten acres of land having a tax of $10 per acre. With respect to buildings, the Bill states that there will be an annual tax of 96 cents on every building whose ATV does not exceed $24 while there will be an annual tax of seven and half percent on every building with an ATV over $24.

The Bill also states at Clause 8(2) that “the assessment roll that was in existence under the repealed Land and Building Taxes Act Chap 76:04 and was in use prior to December 31, 2009 is reinstated and shall be used for the purpose of the Act.”

It also states the Finance Minister can raise the tax on buildings to a maximum of ten percent of ATV, which under the Bill is a minimum of $24

Re: AG: Property Tax Gone

Postby brams112 » February 25th, 2011, 6:47 pm

who is he?ravi ji brother

Humes

Postby Humes » February 26th, 2011, 7:54 am

I surprised it doh have a rappin chutney pundit named Ravi G.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 26th, 2011, 9:05 am

red sheep won't be pleased by this revelation.....

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 26th, 2011, 9:15 am

but wait ...ent there is men on this forum who claim they have INSIDE info that PTAX is alive and well??

BUAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Aribabs

Postby Aribabs » February 26th, 2011, 11:56 am

This PP think they can fool everybody. We will still have to pay property tax aka LAND AND BUILDING TAX. They gave us ther impression that it will be gone forever but they just got rid of the name 'proprty tax' reintroducing land and building taxes. I would like the AG to state what is the difference between the 2 taxes....NONE! And to top it off its not 3.5% like the PNM proposed but 7.5%. Blasted con men this government is! Ambiguity is a hell of a thing.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 26th, 2011, 11:58 am

^^^intriguing indeed....awaits other informed persons to continue the debate.

Aribabs

Postby Aribabs » February 26th, 2011, 11:58 am

BlueIce wrote:but wait ...ent there is men on this forum who claim they have INSIDE info that PTAX is alive and well??

BUAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Everybody in this country know by now that the Newsday is a UNC paper, notice they never print anything bad about the PP....EVER! That is why PNMpeople does boycott that paper. And we will see if you still laughing when you have to pay your property tax.....errrr I mean land and building tax. :lol:

Aribabs

Postby Aribabs » February 26th, 2011, 12:06 pm

It was originally 'land and building tax' then PNM named it 'property tax' to earn revenue for the country and made it3.5%. PP say they will abolish the 'property tax', but the smart buggers never said anything about abolishing land and building tax eh which is the same thing? That way they could come back and drop the same l&b tax on we ass and call it by another name. As long as it aint name property tax they think they fooling the people, but they will only fool people who want to be fooled! So for those who don't know property tax = land and building tax ie there is no difference except by name.

Postby A172 » February 26th, 2011, 12:36 pm

Ravi B fcukin up eh

Postby Rainman » February 26th, 2011, 12:56 pm

that white woman have a fat rootoonx

Postby A172 » February 26th, 2011, 12:57 pm

ent

9lick for sure

El nino

Postby El nino » February 26th, 2011, 3:30 pm

GOOD !

Postby zoom rader » February 26th, 2011, 6:08 pm

Aribabs wrote:This PP think they can fool everybody. We will still have to pay property tax aka LAND AND BUILDING TAX. They gave us ther impression that it will be gone forever but they just got rid of the name 'proprty tax' reintroducing land and building taxes. I would like the AG to state what is the difference between the 2 taxes....NONE! And to top it off its not 3.5% like the PNM proposed but 7.5%. Blasted con men this government is! Ambiguity is a hell of a thing.

I hope you not going the way as the PNM clowns here that continue to spread propaganda.Only time will tell if you belong to the PNM cult clowns.

link

Postby link » February 26th, 2011, 6:21 pm

Aribabs wrote:It was originally 'land and building tax' then PNM named it 'property tax' to earn revenue for the country and made it3.5%. PP say they will abolish the 'property tax', but the smart buggers never said anything about abolishing land and building tax eh which is the same thing? That way they could come back and drop the same l&b tax on we ass and call it by another name. As long as it aint name property tax they think they fooling the people, but they will only fool people who want to be fooled! So for those who don't know property tax = land and building tax ie there is no difference except by name.

but we were always paying these taxes. Wassamatter ??? don't you want any responsibility to this country ???
no wonder the slogan 'GIMMIE GIMMIE ' was coined.
I feel if u can't think country then migrate outa here...sheesh..
:idea:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 26th, 2011, 11:43 pm

BUAHAHAHA @ Aribabs

land and building tax IS NOT the same as propery tax! ....the pnm removed the already exisiting L&B tax which was EXTREMELY LOW and replaced it with PTAX which was in some cases over a 100% increase in taxation.
The PP is bring back the L&B tax in its orignial form! no tax increase

cant get it through you skull?? then come see me in my office , EWFC building Min of Finance.

but i guess you are yet another self proclaimed know it all who claims insider information right??

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 27th, 2011, 12:18 am

Aribaaaaaaabs......???

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 27th, 2011, 8:11 am

Come clean on LAND TAX—Tesheira
Published: Sun, 2011-02-27 23:53

Karen Tesheira
The property of tax defaulters will be forfeited in one year if the new Land and Building Taxes Act being put forward by the Government is implemented. Old age pensioners, the vulnerable and earners of fixed incomes will also be hard hit in addition. Citizens will pay “significantly more” land and building taxes if the new rate—7.5 per cent—on the annual rental value is applied.

In an interview with the Sunday Guardian yesterday, former finance minister, Karen Tesheira said the People’s Partnership must tell the nation if the assessment is to be based on the 2008 rate or current updated valuation of 7.5 per cent. Tesheira said if the 2008 valuation was to be applied, citizens would have to pay the rate that obtained then. If they are going to use the updated valuations—which they have provided for in the Valuations Act and also in the Lands and Building Taxes Act—however, people are going to be paying significantly more taxes.

Giving an example, Tesheira said the tax paid on a $20,000 property under the 2008 valuation would have been just over $100, while the owner of the same property now valued at $300,000 would have to pay an estimated $2,800 in taxes, at the updated rated. “The Government has to tell the nation about the effect of the legislation,” Tesheira added. The Lands and Building Taxes Act, to be presented for debate by Finance Minister Winston Dookeran, she noted, removes the exemption granted to old age pensioners and earners of fixed income. “So there is no provision for exemption of taxes for categories of persons who are in certain financial situations,” she added. Under the PNM’s Property Tax, this group of people were exempted from the taxes.

Tesheira revealed that in the former Property Tax Act, the property of citizens in default of paying the tax would have been forfeited within a period of five years. In the PP Bill, defaulters would lose their property in 12 months. While the Government is claiming the Bill was the same as what existed before the Property Tax was passed in 2009, Tesheira said if the new Bill would lead to increase taxes, then it would not be the same. “It cannot be the same if I am not paying the same thing,” she stressed. She said the new legislation also gives Dookeran the authority to increase the rate for residential property by Order to ten per cent. Last week, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar denying this, said: “No, no, not true. In fact, we have approved a Bill that will repeal the Act that was passed by the last administration. So that is totally false, totally false.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2011/02/ ... x-tesheira

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 27th, 2011, 8:39 am

wait nah she eh face no charges yet from that clico insider trading thing?

Aribabs

Postby Aribabs » February 27th, 2011, 11:15 am

BlueIce wrote:BUAHAHAHA @ Aribabs

land and building tax IS NOT the same as propery tax! ....the pnm removed the already exisiting L&B tax which was EXTREMELY LOW and replaced it with PTAX which was in some cases over a 100% increase in taxation.

cant get it through you skull?? then come see me in my office , EWFC building Min of Finance.

but i guess you are yet another self proclaimed know it all who claims insider information right??

Ummm that's what I said, it was originally L&B tax, then the PNM changed it to property tax, just a different name but does the same thing....which is tax your property, land and building!! The PP has reverted back to L&B but the tax is much more than what the PNM proposed in their PT. The PP so damn deceiving they say they getting rid of property tax, they made the population think they will never have to pay for their property ever again, they didn't say you will have to pay the same tax just under a different name....and more money to boot.
In the former Property Tax Act, the property of citizens in default of paying the tax would have been forfeited within a period of five years. In the PP Bill, defaulters would lose their property in 12 months.

Postby De Dragon » February 27th, 2011, 12:41 pm

Like Vega, I await proper information,like when I actually go to pay land/building taxes, and not the biased rantings of an EX MP who if she had a modicum of shame/decency, should shut she kant FOREVER.Tiefsheira real bussing up she mout' since PP take over. I wonder who arse she trying to get into?

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 27th, 2011, 6:57 pm

Aribabs wrote:
BlueIce wrote:BUAHAHAHA @ Aribabs

Ummm that's what I said, it was originally L&B tax, then the PNM changed it to property tax, just a different name but does the same thing....which is tax your property, land and building!! The PP has reverted back to L&B but the tax is much more than what the PNM proposed in their PT. The PP so damn deceiving they say they getting rid of property tax, they made the population think they will never have to pay for their property ever again, they didn't say you will have to pay the same tax just under a different name....and more money to boot.
In the former Property Tax Act, the property of citizens in default of paying the tax would have been forfeited within a period of five years. In the PP Bill, defaulters would lose their property in 12 months.

ok it seems that you need help , so AGAIN

PTAX is not equal (=) to L&B tax, again L&B tax was not a name change. The previous administration SHELVED L&B and introduced a NEW tax called PTAX. Get it? it was NOT a name change. It was essentially a completely NEW tax.

L&B is by far LESS than PTAX , how do i know? well i worked on both projects. Again let me spell it out for you.

LAND AND BUILDING TAX IS BY FARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR (BY DONKEY MILES) LESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS THAN PTAX.

IF YOU NEED CLARIFICATION PLEASE CALL 627-9700 , EXT 2810 , this is the # for the comuniccation unit of the Min of Finance. They will be able to supply you with leaflets and other useful factual info, etc etc etc

and to address your other "point" the last administration only implemented the exemption of tax because it was so bloody high they knew the low level class would not be able to pay it, for example ppl who used to pay $100-300 L&B tax would have had to around $1000-1500 in tax. The pp will not exempt a defaulter who has to pay 1-300 in tax, i dont give them wrong...thats free loading to a new level

kthxbai

Postby De Dragon » February 28th, 2011, 12:17 pm

He prolly one ah dem who living in de Plannings in ah $9 ah month apartment that he owing 20 years rent on.

Postby TRAE » February 28th, 2011, 4:11 pm

so we talking bout ravi b or wha

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 28th, 2011, 6:01 pm

can i use my donkey picture now :?:

1brey?