Now de PNM want Army pay to raise

Postby TRAE » February 25th, 2011, 12:42 pm

Members of the Defence Force also need an increase in salary, says Opposition MP Donna Cox.
She raised the point in her contribution to the Constitution Amendment Bill at the Parliament sitting on Wednesday.
That same day, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar directed the Defence Force reserves be called out to assist in maintaining law and order in the country.
"Let them now try to overwork the members of the Defence Force who are not entitled to overtime. They need a pay increase too!" said Cox.
She reiterated that it was the People's National Movement's intention to increase the salaries of the police officers before general election was called.
Cox said the police are aware of an enhanced package which was forwarded to the Commissioner of Police and which was signed off by the Ministry of National Security as well as the Police Second Division Association in April last year.
She said elections were called in May and the process was stopped. Cox urged Government to compensate officers.
Labour Minister Errol McLeod took Cox to task saying that if the former PNM Cabinet had agreed to enhanced proposals for the police, it was against the convention supported by the International Labour Organisation.
He said these officers do not fall under the purview of the Salaries Review Commission.
McLeod said given his background, he will advocate for better terms and conditions for every worker, including Members of Parliament.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/_Gi ... 90628.html

mitsuboi

Re: Now de PNM want Army pay to raise

Postby mitsuboi » February 25th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Yea an she nah ..oh d pnm d plan to do it....ent dey did plan other tings too...y dey din do it so dey mighta stil be in power

rossi

Postby rossi » February 25th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Let Calder Hart pay them.

Postby SR » February 25th, 2011, 1:05 pm

y d firetruck the pnm didnt give any of them salary increases while they were in power spending all the money

what was the reason they didnt get the increases?

are they the same now?

Postby Sky » February 25th, 2011, 1:09 pm

Ent allyuh want the police to prove themselves before they get a raise?
Well good, lets go invade Grenada and the TTDF will get a raise. They need to prove themselves.
Actually scratch that....Let's invade Barbados. Euro car for everyone.

Postby TRAE » February 25th, 2011, 1:12 pm

i in dat

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 25th, 2011, 5:19 pm

TTDF is suppose to received a pay raise automatically once police has and theirs is supposed to be 5% more, so say that police has gotten 20% increase, TTDF is entitled to 25%. I don't have a problem with it because for the past couple of years they have been doing both military and police work without compensation and if I remember correctly the last time the received a raise in pay was 2006.

Postby brams112 » February 25th, 2011, 6:34 pm

pee on them only on stinkness, they so bad mind it ent funny,they have nothing to say,she take over from leader for fame and cameras

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 25th, 2011, 10:57 pm

SR wrote:y d firetruck the pnm didnt give any of them salary increases while they were in power spending all the money

what was the reason they didnt get the increases?

are they the same now?

DITTO THIS!!!!!!!!!

jackkle

Postby jackkle » February 25th, 2011, 11:56 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:TTDF is suppose to received a pay raise automatically once police has and theirs is supposed to be 5% more, so say that police has gotten 20% increase, TTDF is entitled to 25%. I don't have a problem with it because for the past couple of years they have been doing both military and police work without compensation and if I remember correctly the last time the received a raise in pay was 2006.

Dude where u get that info from?
Doh believe everything yuh hear rudeboy...That is reaaaaal SH1T!!!

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » February 26th, 2011, 1:12 am

Shux man ah shoulda take that goverment wuk, i woulda get a increase too

Postby rollingstock » February 26th, 2011, 1:42 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:TTDF is suppose to received a pay raise automatically once police has and theirs is supposed to be 5% more, so say that police has gotten 20% increase, TTDF is entitled to 25%. I don't have a problem with it because for the past couple of years they have been doing both military and police work without compensation and if I remember correctly the last time the received a raise in pay was 2006.

WHAT!!!

Where de fack u get that from? I ah know where to start with that statement, every 4kin thing posted wrong yes :lol:

mitsuboi

Postby mitsuboi » February 26th, 2011, 7:27 pm

WHAT!!!

Where de fack u get that from? I ah know where to start with that statement, every 4kin thing posted wrong yes :lol:

x2 .........the ttdf salary wayyy lower!!!!!!!

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » February 26th, 2011, 11:22 pm

mitsuboi wrote:

WHAT!!!

x2 .........the ttdf salary wayyy lower!!!!!!!

ok guys.... for get what that arse kg494EJ-1 said, he clearly does not know how the military "stipend" structures works...

First of all, every person that joins the DF supposed to be single with no dependents during the first 3yrs of your service contract (3,6,10 yrs) .....the reasons for this are, they provide free housing, clothing(sox to underwear), meals, medical, transport and toilet paper, And for Commissioned officers they get all of the above plus a personal driver/orderly and start at a higher pay grade.

Secondly, the "stipend" AKA "salary" is based on a rank and classification system also the battalion you belong too . So lets say, you start at the bottom like a recruit... you will only receive minimum wage $2500, when you are confirmed after your BRT you become a Private 2nd class and you will get a small bump up in your "stipend", now during this time you will have some other skills you must learn and will be tested on yearly, depending on the out come of this, your classification will change to private 1st class and the stipend will increase and so on till you reach the highest NCO rank which is RSM.

As a private(combat battalion) your stipend will be between $3000-$4200...... so lets say you are a private 2nd class and your stipend 3k with no courses and within 6yrs you do the maximum courses allowed to a private your classification will change to 1st class and your stipend will be $4200. In an Engineering battalion a private stipend will be higher because he will have a trade/craft of some sort.

this is tax free money, all a solider who is smart needs to do is work the system...and bank your money

the most you will have to buy monthly is shoe polish, starch, toiletries, multivitamins and a good pair of running shoes every 4months.

I did it till I reached the rank of corporal....

so their is no need for a salary increase......you are basically taken care of!!!

Postby rollingstock » February 27th, 2011, 3:41 am

Thanks for clearing that up bluespeed, mitsuboi, in may appear that Police salary is better than a Soldier but there is a large difference, the remuneration structure and allowances vary greatly and cannot be compared.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » February 27th, 2011, 11:40 am

Spoken like a true dunce!......

since when the army does the police work?....they charging criminals?, doing investigations?, Directing traffic?...tell us?

Let me educate you a little...the active roll which the army plays in the JAP's is strictly a tactical support (fire/ maneuver team)!....do you know what that means?.....
they are there for backup!...nothing more!!!!....they are governed by different rules of engagement to that of a police officer....

and the reason why they got an increase in their "stipend" in 2006 is be cause they reached a brigade status.