Which car is the better choice.

kaylomilo

Which car is the better choice.

Postby kaylomilo » February 15th, 2011, 11:45 pm

Hey tuners just want to knw which car is better. The 2011 Toyota Yaris Sedan or The 2011 Nissan Bluebird Sylphy? Which one would you buy?

kaylomilo

Which car is the better buy?

Postby kaylomilo » February 16th, 2011, 12:01 am

Hey tuners want to knw which car is the better buy a- Toyota Yaris Sedan basic (1.3) or the Nissan Bluebird Sylphy basic. (1.5)?

Re: Which car is the better buy?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 16th, 2011, 12:07 am

^ the Yaris costs around $140 and the Sylphy around $170
The Yaris is smaller than the Sylphy, any reason you are comparing them?

better depends on what needs you have.

Postby sharkman121 » February 16th, 2011, 12:12 am

Sylphy - bigger, a bit executive and more luxurious (for a vehicle in its class that is)

Yaris - More compact, more fuel efficient, more cost effective partswise and maintenance wise.

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » February 16th, 2011, 12:13 am

Yeah thinkin of buying either one.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 16th, 2011, 12:20 am

Why not compare the Sylphy to a mod spec Corolla or a 1.5 GLS Lancer or a Mazda 3 or even an Elantra

the Yaris just doesn't seem to be in the same size category as the Sylphy

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » February 16th, 2011, 12:32 am

Yeah true....the real thing is that I can afford the Yaris brand new and I can afford the Sylphy RORO.

Both cars are my favorites.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 16th, 2011, 12:32 am

buh dem Yaris rel fass up dan 0X

chubrock10

Re: Which car is the better choice.

Postby chubrock10 » February 16th, 2011, 12:42 am

horse yaris is rel failure

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 16th, 2011, 12:54 am

one dat uses cng according to the govt --- wait on this year's budget to make a decision...i feel diesel fuel going to hit the roof...as well as gas...

metalhead

Postby metalhead » February 16th, 2011, 1:07 am

jus expanding ur options, the new corolla is great daily drivin car and the tiida/latio..since u considering nissan and toyota

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » February 16th, 2011, 1:41 am

K cool....what about the toyota altis?

kaylomilo

Postby kaylomilo » February 16th, 2011, 1:42 am

K cool....what about the toyota altis?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » February 16th, 2011, 5:34 am

The bluebird sylphy is pretty heavy - the 1.5L won't do well in terms of fuel-economy. It's too heavy for that small engine. The 2.0L will definitely suit the Sylphy better - it's a matter of power:weight ratio. Even though the 2.0L is bigger, it'll need less fuel when pulling off and building momentum - the 1.5L will struggle and use more fuel to build up speed (even at regular highway speeds).

The 1.3L engine in the Yaris is much better suited for the size of that car - i.e. a better power:weight ratio. The yaris is much lighter than the sylphy and with the 1.3 engine you'll get much better fuel economy and even performance.

Bottom line - don't be fooled by the size of the engines, the 1.5L vs. 2.0L in the Sylphy will surprise you.

Humes

Postby Humes » February 16th, 2011, 6:10 am

swift

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » February 16th, 2011, 6:58 am

vios - yaris body with a corolla engine (1.5l - 1nzfe)

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » February 16th, 2011, 8:32 am

lighthammer wrote:The bluebird sylphy is pretty heavy - the 1.5L won't do well in terms of fuel-economy. It's too heavy for that small engine. The 2.0L will definitely suit the Sylphy better - it's a matter of power:weight ratio. Even though the 2.0L is bigger, it'll need less fuel when pulling off and building momentum - the 1.5L will struggle and use more fuel to build up speed (even at regular highway speeds).

The 1.3L engine in the Yaris is much better suited for the size of that car - i.e. a better power:weight ratio. The yaris is much lighter than the sylphy and with the 1.3 engine you'll get much better fuel economy and even performance.

Bottom line - don't be fooled by the size of the engines, the 1.5L vs. 2.0L in the Sylphy will surprise you.

I have to disagree with you here meng. I own a 1.5 sylphy and $110 super gives me close to 500km stop and go driving. Highway speed is no different from any econobox.

If I had to chose I would choose the Yaris simply because it is brand new. The sylphy is much larger and comfort oriented but spending that much on a used car when you can get a brand new toyota at the same price is not worth it imho.

Postby hydroep » February 16th, 2011, 8:44 am

I had a brand new 2.0 Sylphy on rental for a week. That thing drinks gas.

Postby bushwakka » February 16th, 2011, 11:28 am

lighthammer wrote:The bluebird sylphy is pretty heavy - the 1.5L won't do well in terms of fuel-economy. It's too heavy for that small engine. The 2.0L will definitely suit the Sylphy better - it's a matter of power:weight ratio. Even though the 2.0L is bigger, it'll need less fuel when pulling off and building momentum - the 1.5L will struggle and use more fuel to build up speed (even at regular highway speeds).

flawed logic....ur 'argument' makes no sense engineering wise

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » February 16th, 2011, 12:35 pm

maybe some people are better at cutting and pasting info from the internet but when they have to offer heir own opinion their lack of knowledge show up?

chubrock10

Postby chubrock10 » February 16th, 2011, 1:20 pm

d altis is good but it comes from singapore whereas the corolla comes from japan

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 16th, 2011, 4:16 pm

rdeonarine wrote:vios - yaris body with a corolla engine (1.5l - 1nzfe)

Best engine.

:evilbat: :evilbat: :evilbat:

Postby sMASH » February 16th, 2011, 4:58 pm

a girl i knew had a 3liter turbo diesel prado and went from arima to gasparillo and all kinda small runs, for a weekend and only dropped quarter tank, which was like 25 dollars.

we have a 2.7 turbo diesel in a heavy land rover, and what was like 40 dollars and 60 dollars in gas is now like 10 and 20 in diesel, and this a lot more powerful.

we makin a switch, slowly as finances allow to diesel vehicles, for the fuel bill.

if i have to get a gas car again, it may be a civic, cause a co worker has a 1.6 and makes a longer run than i and drives at higher speeds tops up $80 where as i with a 1.3 advan tops up $100 weekly

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2011, 5:08 pm

trinidad roads are bad,
go to a machine shop and ask which brand of car they change most bushings on

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 16th, 2011, 5:31 pm

Hey buy the NEW car dude.......forget the Sylphy FU..........

The yaris would be trouble free for at least 5 - 10 years..........FU can go bad at anytime....

besides the yaris----u can go liming with that all over ....the Sylphy would not- cause these cars are highly sought after by thieves...

Man get the NEW car - enjoy the NEW smell, the plastic on the seats and the new smoothe ride..

toyota always better than a nissan anyday......

No comparison and no need to think hard about this decision bro....

Postby A172 » February 16th, 2011, 6:04 pm

sleepertercel wrote:bushwakka

maybe some people are better at cutting and pasting info from the internet but when they have to offer heir own opinion their lack of knowledge show up?

lmao :lol: :lol: ent!

textbook "experience" FTL

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » February 16th, 2011, 7:28 pm

again vios - I fill up $125 in premium and this lasts a week, from San-do to POS, parts aint no problem as its interchangeable with the yaris/corolla .......I may have mine up for sale shortly.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 17th, 2011, 1:24 am

that $170k for the sylphy is new car price?

zando

Postby zando » February 17th, 2011, 6:57 am

Actually...here is weight comparisons of both cars and HP nos.

2563 - 118 - Sylphy - 1.5
2293 - 106 - Yaris - 1.5...

couldn\t find specs for the 1.3 so lets assume the 1.3 is about 98 HP, the Sylphy is only about 300 pounds heavier than a yaris with atleast 20 more HP which should be enough to move it along at a decent pace for our highways n roads, also the Sylphy has almost as much space as a Camry or Teanna, plus it's safer than a Yaris and rides better, plus has more features and a much much MUCH better interior, also you can get a foreighn used slyphy with the 2.0 for the price of a brand new Yaris.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 17th, 2011, 7:04 am

^^I can vouch for the fact that the Sylphyrides better than the Yaris.

Test drove both.....and jeez....that Sylphy has some REALLY comfy seats IMHO.

In fact, that and the Tiida have the most comfortable seats, and ride quality in their class...my 2c.

I personally find the Yaris and Corolla have very bland interiors....dominated by one colour with little eye relief. PLus the plastics feel cheap(er) than that in the Tiida/Sylphy.

To that end, I find Toyota's offerings are overpriced......bringing in customers on "rep" rather than a truly good offering (awaits Fanboi flames now)